Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 531 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (123) Steering (77) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (48) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (83)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (19)
Engine (242) Fuel System Gasoline (37) Service Brakes (28) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/23/2014 - SHAWNEE, OK
WHILE TOWING MY CAMPER AT 60 MPH UP AN INCLINE MY 5.0L F150 BEGAN TO LOSE POWER, AS I INCREASED PRESSURE ON THE ACCELERATOR THE POWER TO THE VEHICLE DECREASED EVEN MORE. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I LIMPED UP THE HILL AT A WHOPPING 20MPH ON THE INTERSTATE. ONCE ON THE DOWNGRADE THE VEHICLE CAME BACK UP TO SPEED AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF. THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO HAVE POWER ISSUES AND A KNOCKING FROM THE MOTOR WHEN I WAS CLIMBING HILLS. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE FORD GARAGE AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WERE NO CODES TO TELL THEM WHAT WAS WRONG. THE VEHICLE STILL HAS THE APPARENT MISS AND KNOCKING SOUND AT CERTAIN RPM'S AND NOW HAS AN ISSUE STARTING FOR THE FIRST TIME OF THE DAY. I AGAIN TOOK IT TO THE FORD GARAGE WHEN THE STARTING ISSUE WAS HAPPENING AND THEY TOLD ME AGAIN THAT THE VEHICLE STILL HAD NO CODES TO EXPLAIN THIS PROBLEM. I TRIED ALL OF THE EASY FIXES BUT THE VEHICLE STILL HAS THE SAME STARTING AND POWER LOSS ISSUES AND FORD CAN NOT TELL ME WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MY VEHICLE. MY BEST GUESS IS A CATALYTIC CONVERTER ISSUE, BUT I CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT IT UNTIL I KNOW FOR SURE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2014 - LULING, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MPH AND DRIVING UP AN INCLINE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT A RETRO KIT HAD TO BE PLACED ONTO THE TURBO BOOST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2014 - LULING, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MPH AND DRIVING UP AN INCLINE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT A RETRO KIT HAD TO BE PLACED ONTO THE TURBO BOOST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/21/2014 - KILLEEN, TX
I WAS TRYING TO PASS A VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY, DOING 70 MPH, ONCE I TRIED TO ACCELERATE THE TRUCK BOGGED DOWN AND ALMOST HAD A HEAD ON COLLISION. I TRIED TO ACCELERATE ONCE MORE ABOUT 50 MILES LATER AND THE SAME ISSUE OCCURED. I RESEARCHED AND FOUND THIS IS A ONGOING ISSUE WITH ALL 2011-2013 F150 ECOBOOST.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/20/2014 - NORWAY, MI
I TURNED ON THE REAR DEFROST ON MY 2011 FORD F-150 WITH 45,000 MILES ON IT AND THE R/H SIDE OF THE SLIDING REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. IT IS STILL IN ONE PIECE BUT THERE ARE SMALL GLASS FRAGMENTS OF GLASS ALL OVER THE BACK SEAT. I AM SURE GLAD MY GIRLFRIENDS GRANDSON WAS NOT PUT IN HIS CARSEAT BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. I STOPPED AT THE LOCAL FORD DEALER THEY TOOK PICTURES AND SUBMITTED IT OFF TO FORD. I GET A RESPONSE FROM THEM ON THE SAME DAY THAT FORD WILL ONLY COVER 50% OF REPLACEMENT COST. I SEE THEY ALREADY HAVE 2 SERVICE BULLETINS ON THIS BACK WINDOW AND SINCE THEY ARE OFFERING AND COVERING 50% THEY SEEM TO BE ADMITTING THEIR IS A PROBLEM. IT IS ALL OVER THE INTERNET THAT THIS IS HAPPENING FROM THE 2010'S ALL THE WAY UP TO 2014 F-150S. ITS A PROBLEM AND FORD IS NOT DOING TO MUCH ABOUT IT. SEEMS TO ME IT THIS SHOULD GO BACK TO WHO EVER MANUFACTURED THE GLASS. OTHER THEN WHAT FORD SAYS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE SOME OF THESE BACK WINDOWS ARE BLOWING RIGHT INTO THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. RECALL OR NOT THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/20/2014 - NORWAY, MI
I TURNED ON THE REAR DEFROST ON MY 2011 FORD F-150 WITH 45,000 MILES ON IT AND THE R/H SIDE OF THE SLIDING REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. IT IS STILL IN ONE PIECE BUT THERE ARE SMALL GLASS FRAGMENTS OF GLASS ALL OVER THE BACK SEAT. I AM SURE GLAD MY GIRLFRIENDS GRANDSON WAS NOT PUT IN HIS CARSEAT BEFORE THIS HAPPENED. I STOPPED AT THE LOCAL FORD DEALER THEY TOOK PICTURES AND SUBMITTED IT OFF TO FORD. I GET A RESPONSE FROM THEM ON THE SAME DAY THAT FORD WILL ONLY COVER 50% OF REPLACEMENT COST. I SEE THEY ALREADY HAVE 2 SERVICE BULLETINS ON THIS BACK WINDOW AND SINCE THEY ARE OFFERING AND COVERING 50% THEY SEEM TO BE ADMITTING THEIR IS A PROBLEM. IT IS ALL OVER THE INTERNET THAT THIS IS HAPPENING FROM THE 2010'S ALL THE WAY UP TO 2014 F-150S. ITS A PROBLEM AND FORD IS NOT DOING TO MUCH ABOUT IT. SEEMS TO ME IT THIS SHOULD GO BACK TO WHO EVER MANUFACTURED THE GLASS. OTHER THEN WHAT FORD SAYS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE SOME OF THESE BACK WINDOWS ARE BLOWING RIGHT INTO THE INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. RECALL OR NOT THIS NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/17/2014 - OWEGO, NY
BRAKES WERE DIFFICULT TO ENGAGE DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING DUE TO HARD PEDAL. BRAKING SEEMS MORE DIFFICULT THAN PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE (LIKE HAVING NO BRAKE ASSIST). AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR KNOWN PROBLEMS, I VERIFIED A BLOWN VACUUM PUMP FUSE. THE DEALER VERIFIED THAT THE VACUUM PUMP ASSEMBLY WAS SEIZED THEREFORE BLOWING THE FUSE. I FIND IT CURIOUS WHY A MAJOR BRAKE COMPONENT CAN FAIL WHILE NOT SETTING A FAILURE CODE OR INDICATING A FAILURE ON THE FORD DISPLAY PANEL (CHECK BRAKE LIGHT, ETC.). HOW CAN THE VACUUM ASSIST FOR THE BRAKES TOTALLY FAIL ON A 2011 VEHICLE AND NOT TELL THE DRIVER THERE IS A PROBLEM? WHY DID THE VACUUM PUMP FAIL (INTERNAL PUMP BEARINGS LACKED LUBRICANT AND SEIZED DUE TO ATMOSPHERIC MOISTURE) WITH JUST OVER 20000 MILES ON THE TRUCK? WHY WON'T FORD FESS UP THAT THEY SOLD THEIR CUSTOMERS A DEFECTIVE $750.00 PUMP? I GUESS FORD ONLY KNOWS!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/17/2014 - OWEGO, NY
BRAKES WERE DIFFICULT TO ENGAGE DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING DUE TO HARD PEDAL. BRAKING SEEMS MORE DIFFICULT THAN PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE (LIKE HAVING NO BRAKE ASSIST). AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR KNOWN PROBLEMS, I VERIFIED A BLOWN VACUUM PUMP FUSE. THE DEALER VERIFIED THAT THE VACUUM PUMP ASSEMBLY WAS SEIZED THEREFORE BLOWING THE FUSE. I FIND IT CURIOUS WHY A MAJOR BRAKE COMPONENT CAN FAIL WHILE NOT SETTING A FAILURE CODE OR INDICATING A FAILURE ON THE FORD DISPLAY PANEL (CHECK BRAKE LIGHT, ETC.). HOW CAN THE VACUUM ASSIST FOR THE BRAKES TOTALLY FAIL ON A 2011 VEHICLE AND NOT TELL THE DRIVER THERE IS A PROBLEM? WHY DID THE VACUUM PUMP FAIL (INTERNAL PUMP BEARINGS LACKED LUBRICANT AND SEIZED DUE TO ATMOSPHERIC MOISTURE) WITH JUST OVER 20000 MILES ON THE TRUCK? WHY WON'T FORD FESS UP THAT THEY SOLD THEIR CUSTOMERS A DEFECTIVE $750.00 PUMP? I GUESS FORD ONLY KNOWS!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/17/2014 - OWEGO, NY
BRAKES WERE DIFFICULT TO ENGAGE DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING DUE TO HARD PEDAL. BRAKING SEEMS MORE DIFFICULT THAN PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE (LIKE HAVING NO BRAKE ASSIST). AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR KNOWN PROBLEMS, I VERIFIED A BLOWN VACUUM PUMP FUSE. THE DEALER VERIFIED THAT THE VACUUM PUMP ASSEMBLY WAS SEIZED THEREFORE BLOWING THE FUSE. I FIND IT CURIOUS WHY A MAJOR BRAKE COMPONENT CAN FAIL WHILE NOT SETTING A FAILURE CODE OR INDICATING A FAILURE ON THE FORD DISPLAY PANEL (CHECK BRAKE LIGHT, ETC.). HOW CAN THE VACUUM ASSIST FOR THE BRAKES TOTALLY FAIL ON A 2011 VEHICLE AND NOT TELL THE DRIVER THERE IS A PROBLEM? WHY DID THE VACUUM PUMP FAIL (INTERNAL PUMP BEARINGS LACKED LUBRICANT AND SEIZED DUE TO ATMOSPHERIC MOISTURE) WITH JUST OVER 20000 MILES ON THE TRUCK? WHY WON'T FORD FESS UP THAT THEY SOLD THEIR CUSTOMERS A DEFECTIVE $750.00 PUMP? I GUESS FORD ONLY KNOWS!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/17/2014 - WILLOW SPRINGS, IL
I WAS DRIVING TO THE GYM ABOUT 10 MINUTES FROM MY HOUSE. WHEN I GOT THERE, I PUT MY TRUCK IN PARK, TURNED IT OFF, GATHERED MY THINGS, AND THEN HEARD THIS CRAZY LOUD POPPING/CRACKING NOISE. THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW JUST SHATTERED!!! I HAVE A 2011 F-150 WITH A A REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER AND POWER SLIDING REAR WINDOW. THIS IS THE FIRST WINTER I HAVE LIVED SOMEWHERE COLD AND USED THAT REAR DEFROSTER, WHICH PER SEARCHING ONLINE FOR ANSWERS, APPEARS TO BE THE CULPRIT. I ALSO TALKED TO A FEW GLASS COMPANIES WHEN CALLING AROUND FOR QUOTES TO REPLACE THE WINDOW AND THEY ALL SAID I'M NOT THE FIRST F-150 OWNER WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. GRRR. THERE ARE A COUPLE DOZEN OTHER COMPLAINTS OUT THERE TOO FOR THE EXACT SAME THING FOR THE EXACT SAME WINDOW ALL BEACUSE OF A STUPID REAR DEFROSTER GLITCH. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I HAD THE WINDOW LOOKED AT TO SEE IF SOMETHING HAD HIT IT AND CAUSED IT TO SHATTER BUT THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF THIS SO I'M BLAMING THE P.O.S. DEFROSTER. THE WINDOW BLEW OUT ON MY WAY BACK HOME SO THERE WAS SHATTERED GLASS IN THE BACK OF MY BED. ONLY $600 TO GET IT FIXED. NO BIG DEAL.. NOT! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! >=[ AND THAT WAS THE CHEAPEST QUOTE. I HAD QUOTES FROM $600-$950. OY. THIS IS B.S. ALSO, THE DESIGN OF THIS REAR WINDOW IS TERRIBLE WHEN IT COMES TO REPLACING IT. AS I HAVE RECENTLY FOUND OUT, YOU CANNOT REPLACE THE LEFT OR RIGHT REAR WINDOW BY THEMSELVES. IF THE LEFT AND/OR RIGHT WINDOW SHATTERS (BECAUSE OF A CRAPPY DEFROSTER OR OTHER CRAPPY REASONS) YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE REAR WINDOW, HENCE THE $600 BILL FOR ONE BROKEN WINDOW. IT THE MIDDLE WINDOW BREAKS YOU CAN REPLACE THAT BY ITSELF BUT IF THE WINDOW ON EITHER SIDE BREAKS, YOU ARE S.O.L. I CALLED A FEW DEALERSHIPS TOO TO SEE IF THEY COULD DO ANYTHING. NOPE. NOBODY GAVE A HOOT. BOO FORD, BOO. I WAS SO HAPPY WITH MY TRUCK UNTIL THIS. ONCE AGAIN, >=[

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 62
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds