Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1028 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (194) Unknown Or Other (33)
Electrical System (97) Fuel Propulsion System (53) Seats (7) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (108)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (105) Suspension (8) Visibility (48)
Engine (347) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (52)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (242) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 111
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/21/2017 - TROY, MO
NGINE WAS RACING WIDE OPEN WITH TACHOMETER PEGGED WAY BEYOND THE HIGHEST NUMBER LISTED. NO WARNING, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NOTHING. I WAS ABLE TO EXIT AND STOP IN A PARK AND RIDE LOT AND CALL MY WIFE. I WAS EXTREMELY SHAKEN AND AFRAID TO CONTINUE DRIVE. SHE AGREED TO PICK ME UP. I WAS ABLE TO LIMP BACK TO MY OFFICE AT 15 MPH BUT WAS SCARED TO DEATH. THIS HAD NEVER HAPPENED BEFORE AND ONLY AFTER A FIX THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING. I BELIEVE DAMAGE MAY HAVE BEEN DONE TO THE REAR-END, TRANSMISSION AND ENGINE NOT TO MENTION MY HIP AND SHOULDER ARE SORE AND PAINFUL FROM THE SEAT BEAT LOCKING. IT HONESTLY FELT LIKE I HAD BEEN REARENDED! I WILL NOT RETURN TO THAT DEALER AS I FEEL THEY WILL COVER THEIR MISTAKE AND NOT BE HONEST ABOUT WHAT DAMAGE WAS DONE TO MY VEHICLE BASED ON THEIR MISTAKE. A COMPLAINT WILL BE FLED WITH FORD MOTOR AND THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRANSPORTATION SAFETY ADMINISRATATION AS WELL AS THE CONSUMER PROTECTION AGENCY. I HAVE LOST ALL CONFIDENCE THE TRUCK AND HONESTLY FEEL I CAN NEVER DRIVE IT AGAIN. I WON'T EVEN DRIVE IT TO A SHOP AT THIS POINT. THE RECALL FIX CAUSED THIS ACCIDENT TO HAPPEN AND HAS CAUSED DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE. IF THE COMPUTER LOGS DATA I WELCOME AN INVESTIGATION TO SEE WHAT THE COMPUTER SAYS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2017 - NELSONVILLE, OH
I WAS DRIVEING MY FORD F-150 & WAS ACCELERATING & THE TRANSMISSION WAS IN 4TH GEAR & IT DROP STRAIGHT DOWN TO 1ST GEAR THROWING ME & MY PASSENGERS FORWARD. I PULLED OFF THE ROAD AS QUICK AS I COULD TO SHUT THE MOTOR OFF , THE ENGINES RPMS WAS REALLY HIGH UNTIL I COULD SHUT THE ENGINE DOWN. MY TRUCK WAS JUST REPROGRAM FOR THIS IN SEPTEMBER 2016 .BECAUSE FORD RECALLED THEM FOR THIS VERY REASON.

View Details

ENGINE

2/18/2017 - PINE GROVE, CA
I ALMOST LOST MY LIFE JUST LEAVING WORK. MADE A RIGHT ONTO HWY & ALMOST GOT SMASHED, NO POWER IN THE PEDDLE, WITH A SEMI COMING AT ME FULL SPEED I'M SITTING THERE TRYING TO GO, HE BLEW HIS HORN PASSING ME IN LEFT LANE... CRAZY!!!!!!! THIS REALLY SHOULD BE A RECALL, NOT JUST CUZ OF ME BUT FOR THE SAFETY OF EVERYONE!!! NOT COOL!!! WITHOUT A DOUBT THIS IS A SAFETY DEFECT! REDUCED POWER DURING HARD ACCELERATION NHTSA PRELIMINARY EVALUATION #PE13018 STATUS: CLOSED DATE OPENED: MAY 22, 2013 DATE CLOSED: APRIL 07, 2014 RECALL: NO RECALL ISSUED COMPONENT(S): ENGINE ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING SUMMARY: ON MAY 22, 2013, THE OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION (ODI) OPENED PE13-018 TO INVESTIGATE 95 COMPLAINTS ALLEGING INCIDENTS OF REDUCED ENGINE POWER DURING HARD ACCELERATIONS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/18/2017 - PINE GROVE, CA
I ALMOST LOST MY LIFE JUST LEAVING WORK. MADE A RIGHT ONTO HWY & ALMOST GOT SMASHED, NO POWER IN THE PEDDLE, WITH A SEMI COMING AT ME FULL SPEED I'M SITTING THERE TRYING TO GO, HE BLEW HIS HORN PASSING ME IN LEFT LANE... CRAZY!!!!!!! THIS REALLY SHOULD BE A RECALL, NOT JUST CUZ OF ME BUT FOR THE SAFETY OF EVERYONE!!! NOT COOL!!! WITHOUT A DOUBT THIS IS A SAFETY DEFECT! REDUCED POWER DURING HARD ACCELERATION NHTSA PRELIMINARY EVALUATION #PE13018 STATUS: CLOSED DATE OPENED: MAY 22, 2013 DATE CLOSED: APRIL 07, 2014 RECALL: NO RECALL ISSUED COMPONENT(S): ENGINE ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING SUMMARY: ON MAY 22, 2013, THE OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION (ODI) OPENED PE13-018 TO INVESTIGATE 95 COMPLAINTS ALLEGING INCIDENTS OF REDUCED ENGINE POWER DURING HARD ACCELERATIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/18/2017 - PINE GROVE, CA
I ALMOST LOST MY LIFE JUST LEAVING WORK. MADE A RIGHT ONTO HWY & ALMOST GOT SMASHED, NO POWER IN THE PEDDLE, WITH A SEMI COMING AT ME FULL SPEED I'M SITTING THERE TRYING TO GO, HE BLEW HIS HORN PASSING ME IN LEFT LANE... CRAZY!!!!!!! THIS REALLY SHOULD BE A RECALL, NOT JUST CUZ OF ME BUT FOR THE SAFETY OF EVERYONE!!! NOT COOL!!! WITHOUT A DOUBT THIS IS A SAFETY DEFECT! REDUCED POWER DURING HARD ACCELERATION NHTSA PRELIMINARY EVALUATION #PE13018 STATUS: CLOSED DATE OPENED: MAY 22, 2013 DATE CLOSED: APRIL 07, 2014 RECALL: NO RECALL ISSUED COMPONENT(S): ENGINE ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING SUMMARY: ON MAY 22, 2013, THE OFFICE OF DEFECTS INVESTIGATION (ODI) OPENED PE13-018 TO INVESTIGATE 95 COMPLAINTS ALLEGING INCIDENTS OF REDUCED ENGINE POWER DURING HARD ACCELERATIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2017 - EL PASO, TX
IT STARTS SHUDDERING, SHAKING AND RAPIDLY LOSING POWER WHILE ACCELERATING.

View Details

TIRES

2/15/2017 - LUBBOCK, TX
2011 FORD F-150 P/U , CONTINENTAL CROSSCONTACT LX 20 275/65 R18. TIRE TREAD IS STILL DEEP BUT THERE ARE AREAS ALL AROUND TIRE TREAD THAT ARE STARTING TO PEEL OFF. I KNOW OF RECALL BUT ON DIFFERENT SIZE TIRE, BUT SAME BRAND AND STYLE. SAFETY CONCERN!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/14/2017 - RIVERTON, IL
JAN. 27, 2017 WE WERE PULLING AWAY FROM A STOP LIGHT GOT TO AROUND 40 MPH AND THE VEHICLE DOWN SHIFTED OUT OF GEAR MAKING A LOT OF NOISE AND STARTED BUCKING. WE COULD HARDLY GET IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AS IT WOULD HARDLY MOVE. WE HAD NOT HAD ANY ISSUES BEFORE THIS. IT WAS NOT DRIVABLE. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP. IN REGARD TO RECALL 16S19 AND 16N02, THE VEHICLE DID EXACTLY WHAT THE RECALL STATED IN REGARD TO THE DOWNSHIFTING HOWEVER AS PER THE MECHANIC WHO REPAIRED, THIS ISSUE COULD HAVE BEEN THE REASON THE PLANETARY GEARS WENT OUT AS WELL AND WE HAD TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION AT CONSIDERABLE COST. FORD SERVICE INDICATED IT WOULD TAKE AT LEAST A WEEK TO TWO WEEKS FOR REPAIR AS THERE WERE OTHER TRANSMISSION JOBS IN FRONT OF OURS AT BOTH DEALERSHIPS. WE MADE THE DECISION TO HAVE IT TOWED TO ANOTHER TRANSMISSION REPAIR SHOP AS WE COULD NOT BE WITHOUT OUR VEHICLE FOR UP TO TWO WEEKS. FORD IS NOW REFUSING TO HELP PAY FOR REPAIRS/REPLACEMENT SINCE REPAIRS WERE NOT DONE AT A FORD CERTIFIED REPAIR SHOP. WE EVEN KEPT THE TRANSMISSION FOR FORD TO TAKE A LOOK AT IN REGARD TO THIS RECALL...THEY WEREN'T INTERESTED. THIS VEHICLE HAS ONLY 104,000 MILES, THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2017 - BEAR, DE
I WAS STOPPED ON A SINGLE LANE STREET AT A STOP SIGN, WAITING TO ENTER A TWO LANE ROAD WITH SHOULDERS. I WAS GOING TO TURN LEFT ONTO THE HIGHWAY. ALL TRAFFIC FROM THE LEFT HAD PASSED. THERE WAS STILL ONE VEHICLE COMING FROM THE RIGHT, BUT IT WAS STILL FAR ENOUGH AWAY THAT I HAD PLENTY OF TIME TO PULL OUT AND ACCELERATE. I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE BRAKE AND I BEGAN TO GIVE THE TRUCK GAS TO PULL OUT. I ONLY TRAVELED SEVERAL FEET WHEN THE TRUCK DIED. IT JUST STOPPED RUNNING, AS IF I HAD SHUT THE KEY OFF WHILE MOVING. NO SOUNDS OF ANY KIND OR ANY WARNING. IT JUST DIED. I WAS FACING ACROSS THE ROAD IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FIRST LANE HEADING STRAIGHT TOWARDS THE OTHER SIDE. I THINK THE ROAD WAS SLIGHTLY SLOPPED BECAUSE I HAD JUST ENOUGH MOMENTUM TO GET ACROSS AS I WAS FIGHTING TO TURN THE TRUCK ONTO THE SHOULDER. IF I WASN'T ABLE TO TURN THE TRUCK I WOULD OF ENDED UP IN A SMALL GULLY ON THE OTHER SIDE. LUCKILY THE DRIVER OF THE APPROACHING CAR FROM MY RIGHT WAS ALERT, AND HAD ENOUGH TIME TO GO BEHIND ME. THIS COULD OF ENDED BADLY. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY DEALER. THEY STATED THE PROBLEM WAS WITH A FUSE (#27) FOR THE PUMP RELAY, AND THAT THERE WAS A TSB.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2017 - ALBANY, OR
CODE P0016, TIMING CHAIN TENSIONER AND TIMING CHAIN LOOSENESS ON ECOBOOST FORD F-150. 2011 W LOW MILES AT 59,000. COMMON PROBLEM SHOULD BE A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 111
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds