Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1089 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (3) Steering (226) Unknown Or Other (33)
Electrical System (107) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Seats (7) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (110)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (107) Suspension (8) Visibility (49)
Engine (353) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (52)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (259) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/29/2017 - PRINCETON JUNCTION, NJ
STEERING UNEXPECTEDLY BECOMES STIFF AND VEHICLE IS HARD TO CONTROL. THIS OCCURS AT LOW SPEED ,HIGH SPEED. WHEN TURNING I HAVE TO MUSCLE THE STEERING WHEEL INTO A TURN AND THEN BACK OUT OF A TURN. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE STEERING MAY COMPLETELY LOCK UP OR CEASE AT ANY TIME WHICH COULD RESULT IN A DEVASTATING EVENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2017 - PAWLEYS ISLAND, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR FROM FIFTH AND SIXTH GEAR WHILE BEING OPERATED AT 65 MPH. ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN UNKNOWN LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH FORD VEHICLES. A REMEDY WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY UNTIL IT WAS REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE DEALERS WERE INDEPENDENTLY OWNED AND NOTHING COULD BE DONE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 88,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
DRIVING 2011 FORD F150 ECOBOOST ON THE HIGHWAY ON A 8 HR TRIP TO RENO FROM LAS VEGAS. WENT TO PASS A LARGE TRUCK AND EXPERIENCED SHAKING AND STUDDERING. HAD TO BACK OFF AS ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS APPROACHING. HAD TO BACK OFF AND ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT IN RAINY CONDITIONS BECAUSE ANOTHER VEHICLE WAS BEHIND ME ATTEMPTING TO PASS ALONG WITH ME. THIS CAUSED SWERVING AND HARD BRAKING BY MANY VEHICLES BEHIND THAT VEHICLE. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED BUT DID NOT REMAIN ON. I LATER REPLICATED THIS BY DOING A HARD ACCELERATION ON A CLEAR STRETCH OF ROAD SAME STUDDERING AND FLASHING LIGHT. DROVE CONSERVATIVELY THE REST OF THE WAY. IN RENO, I HAD THE TRUCK SCANNED AT AN AUTO PARTS STORE. NO CODES SHOWED. HAVE NOT HAD AN ISSUE SINCE. THIS COULD HAVE KILLED PEOPLE. THE INTERNET SAYS THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE TO FORD ON THE EARLY ECOBOOST ENGINES HAVING TO DO WITH FAULTY INTERCOOLER DESIGN WHICH GATHERS MOISTURE THEN BLOWS IT INTO THE CYLINDERS WHEN ACCELERATING. I LIVE IN THE DESERT AND SO HAVE NOT HAD THIS PROBLEM UNTIL THAT TRIP. THEY (FORD) HAVE NEVER NOTIFIED ME THAT THIS IS A POTENTIAL PROBLEM. THERE IS A TSB FOR IT BUT THAT WON'T HELP THE LARGE BILL FOR THE FIX OR THE SAFETY HAZARD THIS CONDITION CREATES. THIS NEEDS ATTENTION. AT THE LEAST, FORD SHOULD NOTIFY OWNERS THAT THE PROBLEM EXISTS, THAT IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND FIX AT NO COST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/23/2017 - BROOKINGS, SD
VEHICLE WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE CORRECT GEAR WHEN INSERTING KEY INTO THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE STARTED. AFTER WAITING 10 MINUTES, THE P WAS ILLUMINATED IN THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER AND THE VEHICLE STARTED AS NORMAL. SOON AFTER, THE P WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE SHIFTED INTO DRIVE TO MOVE. THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING AND THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED TO FIRST GEAR. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY FIRST INFORM ME THAT THE SHIFTER MUST BE REPLACED. AFTER GIVING THE GO AHEAD, THEY INFORM ME THAT THE SHIFTER IS FINE. THEY NEED TO REPLACE THE LEAD FRAME IN THE TRANSMISSION AND THE PRICE IS $750. MY VEHICLE FALLS INTO THE TIMEFRAME OF FORD RECALL 16S19 BUT THEY HAVE TOLD ME THE VIN DOES NOT MATCH. AFTER INFORMING THEM THAT THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND WORKING WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND FORD SERVICE, THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO FOR ME. I AM ON MY OWN TO PAY FOR THESE REPAIRS AND HOPE THAT IT ACTUALLY FIXES THE PROBLEM. FORD HAS LOST A LIFE LONG CUSTOMER.

View Details

ENGINE

5/22/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
RECOGNIZED PATTERN FAILURE. EXCESSIVE TIMING CHAIN STRETCH ON 2011 FORD F-150 XLT WITH 3.5L ECOBOOST MOTOR. TAPPING AND RATTLING NOISE FROM THE TOP FRONT OF THE ENGINE WHEN FIRST STARTED, LASTING FOR APPROXIMATELY 3 SECONDS. VEHICLE WELL MAINTAINED AND DRIVEN IN NORMAL FASHION ON PAVED HIGHWAYS. ODOMOTER ~86K MILES. THE OWNER CONTENDS TIMING CHAINS IN PROPERLY-MAINTAINED AND NORMALLY-DRIVEN VEHICLES SHOULD TYPICALLY LAST THE LIFETIME OF THE VEHICLE (OR THEREABOUTS) UNLESS A DEFECT EXISTS. THE CUSTOMER HAS DISCOVERED (UNVERIFIED) THAT FORD MOTOR COMPANY HAS REVISED THE SPECIFICATIONS FOR THE TIMING CHAIN MECHANISM ON THIS MOTOR IN MORE RECENT MODEL YEARS, WITH REDESIGNED CHAIN AND GUIDES AND UPDATED PART NUMBERS. THERE IS A RISK OF CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS LEADING TO A SUBSTANTIAL SAFETY HAZARD WITH THE VEHICLE NO LONGER DRIVABLE. FORD HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THE PROBLEM THREE TIMES WITH TSB 14-0194, TSB 15-0131, AND TSB 16-0027, BUT HAS FAILED TO INITIATE A VOLUNTARY REMEDY OUTSIDE OF WARRANTY COVERAGE. PREMATURE TIMING CHAIN WEAR APPEARS TO BE AN INCREASING AND ONGOING PROBLEM ON LATER MODEL GASOLINE TURBOCHARGED DIRECT INJECTION (GTDI) ENGINES. THE CUSTOMER RAISED THE ISSUE WITH BOTH A LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND WITH FORD MOTOR COMPANY HEADQUARTERS TO NO AVAIL. REPAIR COST $2634.44 AT FORD DEALERSHIP. THIS APPARENT DEFECT YIELDS CONTINUING AND SUBSTANTIAL PROFITS FOR THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

STEERING

5/18/2017 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE STEERING SEIZED AND REQUIRED EXCESSIVE FORCE IN ORDER TO BE MOVED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/16/2017 - FORT WORTH, TX
WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX 65-70 MPH ON THE ENTRANCE RAMP TO ROUTE 114 EAST BOUND FROM ROUTE 287 SOUTH BOUND (RHOME, TX.) THE BRAKE LIGHT WARNING ANNOUNCED IN THE TRUCK. I THEN WENT TO TEST THE BRAKES AS THEY WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR, I WAS SLOWING DOWN BUT NOT MUCH. I THEN HAD TO USE THE MANUAL TRANSMISSION AND DOWNSHIFT. FINALLY COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP APPROX 3/4 TO A MILE DOWN THE ROAD. THANKFUL NO TRAFFIC AT THIS TIME 615 PM (APPROX). THE SERVICE REPORT IS ATTACHED THE REAR SEAL IN THE MASTER CYLINDER FAILED, CAUSE THE BOOSTER TO DRAWN IN AIR AND FAIL AS WELL. AS A NOT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STOP I OPENED THE HOOD AND CHECKED THE BRAKE RESERVOIR WAS EMPTY AND YOU COULD HEAR AIR BEING SUCKED IN. I HAD MY 13 YR OLD DAUGHTER IN THE TRUCK WITH ME, AS WE WERE RETURNING FROM HER HORSE RIDING LESSONS. I DON'T IMAGE THIS "JUST FAILS" ALSO AS A NOTE THE VEHICLE WAS CHECKED TO INCLUDE THE BRAKES 04/01/2017 AT THAT TIME THE BRAKE SYSTEM WAS FLUSHED - AND ANOTHER SERVICE (SPARK PLUGS) 04/10/2017 - IN THE LOOKED AT BRAKE FLUIDS AND PADS AND ROTORS. NO ISSUES FOUND, I ALSO HAD CHECKED MY FLUIDS ON THE WEEKEND OF MAY 6TH, AGAIN NO ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2017 - GERMANTOWN, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-I50. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE PEDALS WERE DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE JERKED AND ACCELERATED. THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS PROPERLY AND THE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS AND DID NOT OFFER ANY FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 165,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
THROTTLE BODY KEEPS GOING OUT, CAUSING VEHICLE TO STOP NO MATTER WHAT SPEED YOU ARE GOING.

View Details

STEERING

5/3/2017 - FRISCO, TX
WHEN TRAVELING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WILL LOCK UP AND I WILL BE UNABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL FOR 1-2 SECONDS. FORTUNATELY, I HAVE NOT HIT ANYONE WHEN THIS HAPPENS, BUT IT MIGHT BE ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THIS WILL CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 117
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds