Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 431 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (104) Steering (61) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (75)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (213) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes (19) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/11/2014 - FRANKLIN, TN
I EXPERIENCED LACK OF ACCELERATION, SPUTTERING, AND SHAKING WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE ONTO THE INTERSTATE FROM A MERGE RAMP. THIS EVENT NEARLY CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. MY EXPECTATION WAS FOR VEHICLE TO PERFORM AT NORMAL STANDARDS AND GET ME SAFELY ONTO THE HIGHWAY. IT FAILED TO DO SO!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/10/2014 - SCOTIA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD 150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL AND ACCELERATOR PEDAL WERE TOO CLOSE TOGETHER. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT WAS CONSTANTLY DEPRESSING BOTH PEDALS AT THE SAME TIME AND ALMOST CAUSED A CRASH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE DEFECT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 25,439.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/5/2014 - NORTH PLATTE, NE
I WAS DRIVING DOWN MY STREET AND BRAKED TO PULL INTO MY DRIVEWAY, AFTER IN MY DRIVEWAY I TOUCHED THE ACCELERATOR (TO GET UP THE SLIGHT GRADE) AND MY TRUCK WENT WIDE OPEN THROTTLE!! I MASHED ON THE BRAKE BUT THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UNCONTROLLABLY AND CRASHED INTO MY BRICK HOME. EVEN AFTER IMPACT AND ME CONTINUING TO APPLY FULL BRAKE IT WAS STILL WIDE OPEN THROTTLE AND BURNING OUT. I FINALLY CAME TO MY SENSES AND SHUT THE IGNITION OFF AND THE STOPPED IT. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY LOCAL DEALER AS RECOMMENDED BY FORD CUSTOMER CARE REP. THE DEALERSHIP RAN A DIAGNOSTICS CHECK AND FOUND NOTHING AS WELL AS TRIED TO GET IT TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM WITH NO LUCK. I HAD A STATE TROOPER CERTIFIED IN DOWNLOADING EVENT RECORDER DATA DO SUCH TO MY TRUCK. THE DATA SHOWS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED..BUT DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN THE ACCELERATOR BEING PUSHED VS.THE ACCELERATOR POSITION AS INDICATED. HOWEVER, IT DOES SHOW SERVICE BRAKE APPLIED AND CONTINUAL ACCELERATION AT THE SAME TIME WHICH I CAN PROVE WAS NOT DONE BY ME! I HAVE PICTURES OF ABRASIONS TO MY RIGHT SHIN AND KNEE FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND DASH..MY RIGHT FOOT WAS FULLY APPLIED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL CAUSING THE ABRASIONS AT IMPACT DUE TO BEING DIRECTLY IN LINE WITH THE STEERING COLUMN. MY LEFT LEG HAD ZERO ABRASIONS...SINCE TO THE LEFT OF THE STEERING COLUMN. IF I WAS TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DATA SHOWN IN THE DOWN LOAD I WOULD OF HAD TO HAVE MY LEFT FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THUS SUSTAINING ABRASIONS TO THAT LEG. IT IS ALSO IMPOSSIBLE TO USE THE RIGHT FOOT TO BRAKE AND ACCELERATE SIMULTANEOUSLY TO ACHIEVE THE ACCELERATION INDICATED...ONES LEG HAS TO BE COCKED TO THE SIDE AND OUT OF LINE OF THE STEERING COLUMN. EVERYTHING ON MY PICKUP IS OEM....INCLUDING THE FLOOR MATS...WHICH CONTRARY TO SOME BELIEFS THAT COULD BE THE CAUSE. MY TRUCK HAS SAT AT THE DEALERSHIP UNTOUCHED SINCE THEY LOOKED AT IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2014 - NORTH PLATTE, NE
I WAS DRIVING DOWN MY STREET AND BRAKED TO PULL INTO MY DRIVEWAY, AFTER IN MY DRIVEWAY I TOUCHED THE ACCELERATOR (TO GET UP THE SLIGHT GRADE) AND MY TRUCK WENT WIDE OPEN THROTTLE!! I MASHED ON THE BRAKE BUT THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UNCONTROLLABLY AND CRASHED INTO MY BRICK HOME. EVEN AFTER IMPACT AND ME CONTINUING TO APPLY FULL BRAKE IT WAS STILL WIDE OPEN THROTTLE AND BURNING OUT. I FINALLY CAME TO MY SENSES AND SHUT THE IGNITION OFF AND THE STOPPED IT. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY LOCAL DEALER AS RECOMMENDED BY FORD CUSTOMER CARE REP. THE DEALERSHIP RAN A DIAGNOSTICS CHECK AND FOUND NOTHING AS WELL AS TRIED TO GET IT TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM WITH NO LUCK. I HAD A STATE TROOPER CERTIFIED IN DOWNLOADING EVENT RECORDER DATA DO SUCH TO MY TRUCK. THE DATA SHOWS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED..BUT DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN THE ACCELERATOR BEING PUSHED VS.THE ACCELERATOR POSITION AS INDICATED. HOWEVER, IT DOES SHOW SERVICE BRAKE APPLIED AND CONTINUAL ACCELERATION AT THE SAME TIME WHICH I CAN PROVE WAS NOT DONE BY ME! I HAVE PICTURES OF ABRASIONS TO MY RIGHT SHIN AND KNEE FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND DASH..MY RIGHT FOOT WAS FULLY APPLIED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL CAUSING THE ABRASIONS AT IMPACT DUE TO BEING DIRECTLY IN LINE WITH THE STEERING COLUMN. MY LEFT LEG HAD ZERO ABRASIONS...SINCE TO THE LEFT OF THE STEERING COLUMN. IF I WAS TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DATA SHOWN IN THE DOWN LOAD I WOULD OF HAD TO HAVE MY LEFT FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THUS SUSTAINING ABRASIONS TO THAT LEG. IT IS ALSO IMPOSSIBLE TO USE THE RIGHT FOOT TO BRAKE AND ACCELERATE SIMULTANEOUSLY TO ACHIEVE THE ACCELERATION INDICATED...ONES LEG HAS TO BE COCKED TO THE SIDE AND OUT OF LINE OF THE STEERING COLUMN. EVERYTHING ON MY PICKUP IS OEM....INCLUDING THE FLOOR MATS...WHICH CONTRARY TO SOME BELIEFS THAT COULD BE THE CAUSE. MY TRUCK HAS SAT AT THE DEALERSHIP UNTOUCHED SINCE THEY LOOKED AT IT.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

6/5/2014 - NORTH PLATTE, NE
I WAS DRIVING DOWN MY STREET AND BRAKED TO PULL INTO MY DRIVEWAY, AFTER IN MY DRIVEWAY I TOUCHED THE ACCELERATOR (TO GET UP THE SLIGHT GRADE) AND MY TRUCK WENT WIDE OPEN THROTTLE!! I MASHED ON THE BRAKE BUT THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE UNCONTROLLABLY AND CRASHED INTO MY BRICK HOME. EVEN AFTER IMPACT AND ME CONTINUING TO APPLY FULL BRAKE IT WAS STILL WIDE OPEN THROTTLE AND BURNING OUT. I FINALLY CAME TO MY SENSES AND SHUT THE IGNITION OFF AND THE STOPPED IT. I HAD THE TRUCK TOWED TO MY LOCAL DEALER AS RECOMMENDED BY FORD CUSTOMER CARE REP. THE DEALERSHIP RAN A DIAGNOSTICS CHECK AND FOUND NOTHING AS WELL AS TRIED TO GET IT TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM WITH NO LUCK. I HAD A STATE TROOPER CERTIFIED IN DOWNLOADING EVENT RECORDER DATA DO SUCH TO MY TRUCK. THE DATA SHOWS EXACTLY WHAT HAPPENED..BUT DOES NOT DIFFERENTIATE BETWEEN THE ACCELERATOR BEING PUSHED VS.THE ACCELERATOR POSITION AS INDICATED. HOWEVER, IT DOES SHOW SERVICE BRAKE APPLIED AND CONTINUAL ACCELERATION AT THE SAME TIME WHICH I CAN PROVE WAS NOT DONE BY ME! I HAVE PICTURES OF ABRASIONS TO MY RIGHT SHIN AND KNEE FROM THE STEERING COLUMN AND DASH..MY RIGHT FOOT WAS FULLY APPLIED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL CAUSING THE ABRASIONS AT IMPACT DUE TO BEING DIRECTLY IN LINE WITH THE STEERING COLUMN. MY LEFT LEG HAD ZERO ABRASIONS...SINCE TO THE LEFT OF THE STEERING COLUMN. IF I WAS TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DATA SHOWN IN THE DOWN LOAD I WOULD OF HAD TO HAVE MY LEFT FOOT ON THE BRAKE AND THUS SUSTAINING ABRASIONS TO THAT LEG. IT IS ALSO IMPOSSIBLE TO USE THE RIGHT FOOT TO BRAKE AND ACCELERATE SIMULTANEOUSLY TO ACHIEVE THE ACCELERATION INDICATED...ONES LEG HAS TO BE COCKED TO THE SIDE AND OUT OF LINE OF THE STEERING COLUMN. EVERYTHING ON MY PICKUP IS OEM....INCLUDING THE FLOOR MATS...WHICH CONTRARY TO SOME BELIEFS THAT COULD BE THE CAUSE. MY TRUCK HAS SAT AT THE DEALERSHIP UNTOUCHED SINCE THEY LOOKED AT IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/30/2014 - SOUTH MILWAUKEE , WI
MY HEATED SEAT DRIVERS SIDE BECAME VERY HOT - CAUSING SMALL RED SPOT ON MY LEG. PULLED SEAT COVER WHICH HAD BECOME DISTORTED AND DISCOVERED HEATED SEAT ELEMENT HAD SHORTED OUT MELTING COPPER WIRING AND BURNING A HOLE IN FOAM SEAT CUSHION. ENDED UP REPLACING ELEMENT AND LEATHER SEAT COVER ON MY OWN JUST PARTS COST NEARLY $600. CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE THREE TIMES WITH NO RESPONSE. CHECKED GOOGLE SEARCH AND THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE HAVING ISSUES WITH THESE ELEMENTS. I SAVED COVER, AND ELEMENT AND HAVE PICTURES AVAILABLE.

View Details

SEATS

5/30/2014 - SOUTH MILWAUKEE , WI
MY HEATED SEAT DRIVERS SIDE BECAME VERY HOT - CAUSING SMALL RED SPOT ON MY LEG. PULLED SEAT COVER WHICH HAD BECOME DISTORTED AND DISCOVERED HEATED SEAT ELEMENT HAD SHORTED OUT MELTING COPPER WIRING AND BURNING A HOLE IN FOAM SEAT CUSHION. ENDED UP REPLACING ELEMENT AND LEATHER SEAT COVER ON MY OWN JUST PARTS COST NEARLY $600. CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE THREE TIMES WITH NO RESPONSE. CHECKED GOOGLE SEARCH AND THERE ARE MANY PEOPLE HAVING ISSUES WITH THESE ELEMENTS. I SAVED COVER, AND ELEMENT AND HAVE PICTURES AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/27/2014 - PINE PLAINS, NY
SEVERE VIBRATION AND PULSING WHEN BRAKES WERE APPLIED. I PUT THE TRUCK ON MY LIFT AND TRIED TO ROTATE THE FRONT WHEELS, THERE WAS SEVERE BRAKE DRAG, WHICH MADE ROTATING THE FRONT WHEELS CLOSE TO IMPOSSIBLE. I REMOVED THE WHEELS AND DID A VISUAL INSPECTION AND FOUND THAT THE INNER BRAKE PADS WERE CONSIDERABLY MORE WORN THAN THE OUTER PADS. I THEN REMOVED THE CALIPERS AND FOUND THAT CORROSION OCCURRED BINDING THE INNER PADS TO THE BRAKE PAD HOLDERS. I LIVE IN THE NORTH EAST AND ROAD SALT IS USED IN THE WINTER MONTHS, THIS SHOULD BE TAKEN INTO CONSIDERATION WHEN THE BRAKES ARE DESIGNED SO THAT THIS CORROSION CAN'T OCCUR. I CORRECTED THE PROBLEM BY RE-PLACING THE ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS, USING BRAKE LUBRICANT TO HELP PREVENT THE CORROSION. DOING THIS REPAIR CORRECTED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2014 - MOKENA, IL
I OWN A 2011 FORD F-150 ECOBOOST AND HAVE HAD ISSUES THAT FORD WISHES TO IGNORE AND WHICH I CONSIDER A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD. APPROX. OCT 16, 2013, WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE DURING RAINY WEATHER, I ACCELERATED TO PASS, ON THE LEFT, A TT/ST THAT WAS IN THE RIGHT LANE. AS I STARTED TO PASS, AT APPROX. 3500 RPM, THE ENGINE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED. I WAS NEARLY REAR ENDED BY THE VEHICLE THAT WAS BEHIND ME, DUE TO THE STALL AND SUDDEN DECELERATION. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO THE FORD DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND TO THIS DATE THE SAME THING OCCURS , ONLY THIS TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON. FORD'S FIX IS TO REPLACE THE COIL AND ALL SIX SPARK PLUGS AT A COST OF $400, STATING THE ISSUE IS A MAINTENANCE ISSUE NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY (VEHICLE STILL UNDER WARRANTY). FORD REFUSES TO RECOGNIZE THE DANGER THIS PROBLEM CREATES FOR THE OCCUPANTS AND WOULD RATHER USE A BAND-AID APPROACH, RATHER THAN FIX THE PROBLEMS , WHICH APPEARS TO BE MOISTURE DUMPED INTO THE ENGINE FROM THE COLD-AIR-CHARGE(INTERCOOLER) FOR THE TURBOS. I HAVE DONE MY HOMEWORK AND HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE AND IN MOST CASES, FORD REPLACES THE IGNITION COIL AND SPARK PLUGS , ONLY TO HAVE THE SAME THING HAPPEN AGAIN. AGAIN , FORD IS PUTTING THE OCCUPANTS OF THESE VEHICLES AT RISK CAUSED BY THE SUDDEN DECELERATION AND REFUSES TO DO THE RIGHT THING AND REPAIR THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/16/2014 - BAYFIELD, CO
I AM GLAD THAT WE WERE NOT IN A SITUATION THAT WE COULD HAVE GOTTEN KILLED BECAUSE OF THE THROTTLE PROBLEM. THE FIRST TIME WE WERE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 45 MPH SUDDENLY THE ACCELERATOR WOULD NOT RESPOND, THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING AT A ROUGH IDLE. WE HAD TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER. STOPPED TURNED OFF THE TRUCK, IT WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND THE ACCELERATOR WAS WORKING AGAIN. WE DROVE TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER. AT THE FORD DEALER THEY COULD NOT IDENTIFY THE PROBLEM. THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS WHEN WE WERE GOING 55 MPH. COASTED TO SHOULDER OF THE ROAD AND I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE TRUCK AND DROVE VERY CAREFULLY TO THE FORD DEALER. THIS TIME THEY WERE ABLE TO GET A CODE READING OF THE PROBLEM. THE CODE CALLED FOR A RECALIBRATION. THIS WAS DONE. DROVE THE TRUCK HOME THINKING THAT IT WAS REPAIRED. THE THIRD TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS ON THE INTERSTATE TRAVELING 75MPH. LUCKILY WE WERE IN THE RIGHT LANE AND WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER. REPEATED SAME PROCEDURE AS ABOVE. RETURNED TO THE FORD DEALER. THIS TIME THEY READ THE CODE(P2112) AND REPLACED THE THROTTLE BODY AND MOTOR ASSEMBLY. THIS PROBLEM WITH THE THROTTLE COULD HAVE VERY EASILY CAUSED A DEADLY CRASH. I FEEL THAT MY WIFE AND ARE VERY LUCKY AS WE COULD HAVE BEEN IN A VERY SERIOUS ACCIDENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds