Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 400 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (100) Steering (57) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (71)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Visibility (10)
Engine (197) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes (16) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

4/19/2014 - MCMURRAY, PA
IT WAS A 20 DEGREE MORNING SO I DECIDED TO USE THE REMOTE START TO WARM UP MY TRUCK BEFORE I WENT TO WORK. I CLIMB INTO THE TRUCK AND GO TO BACK OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY AND NOTICED THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE SLIDER IS SHATTERED. I'VE NEVER HAULED ANYTHING IN THE BED SO NOTHING WOULD HAVE CAME INTO CONTACT WITH THE WINDOW. AFTER DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT THERE ARE PLENTY OF FORD OWNERS THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED, ONE GENTLEMAN HAD HIS CHILD IN THE BACK WHEN THIS HAPPENED! FORTUNATELY MY CHILDREN WERE NOT WITH ME AT THE TIME THE WINDOW SHATTERED. HOPEFULLY FORD WILL COVER THIS BEING THAT IT'S $800, BUT I'M GUESSING THEY'LL TELL ME IT'S NOT THEY'RE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2014 - LEWISVILLE, TX
THE TRUCK IS NEW TO ME AND WILL MISS IN CASES OF ACCELERATION ON THE HIGHWAY OR GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY. IF IT WERE A SMALLER VEHICLE, I KNOW I WOULD HAVE BEEN RUN OVER TODAY WHEN TRYING TO ENTER THE HIGHWAY ALREADY AT ABOUT 60-65 MPH AND THE ENGINE SPUTTERED AND FELT LIKE IT QUIT AND I HAD TO RUN ON TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO NOT GET HIT. IT HAS BEEN SPUTTERING/MISSING ALOT BUT NEVER TO THAT EXTREME. I HEAR THERE IS AN INTERCOOLER PROBLEM WITH THE 2011 ECONOBOOST ENGINE AFTER ASKING AROUND. SUPPOSEDLY, THEIR IS MOISTURE BUILDING UP IN THE INTERCOOLER AND IS HORRIBLY DAMAGING TO THE ENGINE..

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/14/2014 - LOGAN, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCELERATE RAPIDLY AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2014 - FORT PIERCE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THERE WAS A LOSS OF POWER IN THE ENGINE DURING ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INNER COOLER NEEDED A PROTECTIVE SHIELD TO REDUCE THE INNER FLOW. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2014 - FRISCO, TX
ENGINE STUMBLES OR MISFIRES AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, WHICH LEAD TO A LOSS OF POWER WHEN ACCELERATING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/3/2014 - FRISCO, TX
ENGINE STUMBLES OR MISFIRES AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, WHICH LEAD TO A LOSS OF POWER WHEN ACCELERATING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - ELIZABETH, IN
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, IN THE RIGHT LANE, DOING ABOUT 60 MPH. FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON, THE TRUCK SIMPLY SHUT OFF AND LOST ALL POWER. I COASTED TO THE SHOULDER AND WAITED A MINUTE OR SO TO CALM DOWN AND DECIDE WHAT TO DO. I THEN TRIED TO RESTART THE TRUCK, AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP. I NERVOUSLY DROVE THE REST OF THE 25 MILES OR SO TO MY HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT. THE TRUCK ALSO SEEMED TO RUN FINE FOR THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS UNTIL I COULD GET IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT THE BATTERY WAS BAD (ONLY 2+ YEARS OLD) AND REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. IT SEEMS ODD TO ME THAT THE BATTERY WAS THE PROBLEM, SINCE THE TRUCK RESTARTED EASILY AND RAN WELL FOR THE NEXT FEW DAYS. HOWEVER, THE NEW BATTERY DOES SEEM TO HAVE CURED THE PROBLEM AS IT HASN'T REPEATED THE TRAVELING SHUT DOWN. I AM CAUTIOUS AND NERVOUS NOW ABOUT DRIVING OVER IT FOR FEAR IT MIGHT SHUT OFF AGAIN. IT IS ACTUALLY SIMILAR TO WHAT THE GM COBALT OWNERS EXPERIENCED, ALTHOUGH THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE IGNITION RELATED.I HAVE WRITTEN TO FORD TO SEE IF THEY WOULD CONFIRM WHAT THE DEALER TOLD ME - THAT A WEAK BATTERY COULD CAUSE A VEHICLE TO QUIT WHILE RUNNING. I AM HOPING THAT BY DOCUMENTING THIS INCIDENT, I WILL FIND OUT IF OTHER OWNERS OF NEWER F150S HAVE HAD SIMILAR FULL SPEED SHUT DOWNS. I'M TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO KEEP THE TRUCK OR SELL IT BECAUSE I STILL DON'T TRUST IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/3/2014 - ELIZABETH, IN
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, IN THE RIGHT LANE, DOING ABOUT 60 MPH. FOR SOME UNKNOWN REASON, THE TRUCK SIMPLY SHUT OFF AND LOST ALL POWER. I COASTED TO THE SHOULDER AND WAITED A MINUTE OR SO TO CALM DOWN AND DECIDE WHAT TO DO. I THEN TRIED TO RESTART THE TRUCK, AND IT STARTED RIGHT UP. I NERVOUSLY DROVE THE REST OF THE 25 MILES OR SO TO MY HOME WITHOUT INCIDENT. THE TRUCK ALSO SEEMED TO RUN FINE FOR THE NEXT COUPLE OF DAYS UNTIL I COULD GET IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. THE DEALER DETERMINED THAT THE BATTERY WAS BAD (ONLY 2+ YEARS OLD) AND REPLACED IT UNDER WARRANTY. IT SEEMS ODD TO ME THAT THE BATTERY WAS THE PROBLEM, SINCE THE TRUCK RESTARTED EASILY AND RAN WELL FOR THE NEXT FEW DAYS. HOWEVER, THE NEW BATTERY DOES SEEM TO HAVE CURED THE PROBLEM AS IT HASN'T REPEATED THE TRAVELING SHUT DOWN. I AM CAUTIOUS AND NERVOUS NOW ABOUT DRIVING OVER IT FOR FEAR IT MIGHT SHUT OFF AGAIN. IT IS ACTUALLY SIMILAR TO WHAT THE GM COBALT OWNERS EXPERIENCED, ALTHOUGH THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE IGNITION RELATED.I HAVE WRITTEN TO FORD TO SEE IF THEY WOULD CONFIRM WHAT THE DEALER TOLD ME - THAT A WEAK BATTERY COULD CAUSE A VEHICLE TO QUIT WHILE RUNNING. I AM HOPING THAT BY DOCUMENTING THIS INCIDENT, I WILL FIND OUT IF OTHER OWNERS OF NEWER F150S HAVE HAD SIMILAR FULL SPEED SHUT DOWNS. I'M TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO KEEP THE TRUCK OR SELL IT BECAUSE I STILL DON'T TRUST IT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2014 - SAN ANTONIO , TX
HAVING ISSUES WITH FORD F-150 ECOBOOST ENGINE LOSING POWER DURING ACCELERATION, ON OUR 2011 MODEL. WE HAVE ADVISED FORD ON THIS ISSUE, SINCE IT'S A SAFETY CONCERN, THAT CAN LEAD TO A CRASH OR EVEN INJURY, HOWEVER FORD IS NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT IT...PLEASE HELP US OUT !!! THE SAFETY OF MILLIONS OF PEOPLE THAT HAS PURCHASED THIS MODEL TRUCK IS IN YOUR HANDS. IT'S VERY DANGEROUS TO DRIVE THE TRUCK ON THE HIGHWAY DUE TO THE SPUTTERING, THAT CAUSES YOU TO STAHL OUT... THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE... ME AND MY KIDS ALMOST HAD AN ACCIDENT DUE TO THIS FACTORY DEFECT. PLEASE HAVE THIS TRUCK RE-CALL, OR INVESTIGATE ON THIS MATTER. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2014 - SCRANTON, PA
DURING RAIN STORM OR HIGH HUMIDITY DRIVING CONDITIONS, WHILE AT A STEADY SPEED FOR A FEW MINUTES, I APPLY THE GAS PEDAL TO PASS OR MERGE, MY TRUCK STUTTERS AND LOSS OF ENGINE POWER OCCURS. WHEN THIS HAPPENED IT CAUSED TRUCK TO SLOW DOWN TO UNSAFE SPEEDS RAPIDLY WHILE ON HIGHWAY, CAUSING ME TO STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO AVOID A CRASH. THE TRUCK IS STILL ON WHEN THIS HAPPENS BUT ACCELERATOR PEDDLE IS USELESS UNTIL VEHICLE IS STOPPED, AFTER A FEW MOMENTS IT WILL WORK AGAIN. THIS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND ON MULTIPLE DATES. ONE PARTICULAR TRIP FROM PENNSYLVANIA TO FLORIDA AND BACK, THIS ABOVE CONDITION HAPPENED NO LESS THAN 15 TIMES. HAD MY TRUCK IN FOR MULTIPLE SERVICES AND NOTHING, BUT A CODE FOR MISFIRE I BELIEVE THE TECH SAID. HAD ALL TSB'S DONE AS OF AUGUST 2013. MY TRUCK IS AVERAGING VERY BAD GAS MILAGE BETWEEN 8.5 MPG TO 12MPG. MY TRUCK ALSO STUTTERS WHILE IN REVERSE WHILE BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY ON COLD DAYS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 48
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds