Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 924 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (159) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (85) Fuel Propulsion System (52) Seats (7) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (107)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (103) Suspension (7) Visibility (45)
Engine (330) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (47)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (209) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/11/2016 - NORTHVILLE, MI
SINCE I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE NEW, I'VE HAD A NUMBER OF PROBLEMS RELATED TO ACCELERATION. VEHICLE WOULD ALMOST STALL ON HARD ACCELERATION WHEN GETTING ON THE FREEWAY. DEALER REPLACED SPARK PLUGS & BOOTS, BUT CONDITION WAS NOT COMPLETELY RESOLVED. VEHICLE WOULD STILL ON OCCASION REPEAT THE SAME PROBLEM. MORE RECENTLY WHEN DRIVING YESTERDAY, THE ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING, THEN BECAME STEADY. OF GREATER CONCERNED I GOT AN ENGINE LIGHT & POOR ACCELERATION. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER & DEALER IS TELLING ME THAT THE TIMING BELT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $2000+. VEHICLE HAD JUST TURNED 61000 MILES. DEALER SERVICE AGENT TELLS ME ITS NOT UNCOMMON AND COULD BE CAUSED BY NOT GETTING THE OIL CHANGED AT RECOMMENDED INTERVALS. VEHICLE HAS HAD REGULAR OIL CHANGES AT THE DEALER & OTHER SERVICE FACILITIES. NEVER HEARD OF THIS & I THINK IT'S PREMATURE FOR A VEHICLE WITH 61000 MILES TO NEED THE TIMING BELT REPLACED. NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN 45+ YEARS OF DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/11/2016 - NORTHVILLE, MI
SINCE I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE NEW, I'VE HAD A NUMBER OF PROBLEMS RELATED TO ACCELERATION. VEHICLE WOULD ALMOST STALL ON HARD ACCELERATION WHEN GETTING ON THE FREEWAY. DEALER REPLACED SPARK PLUGS & BOOTS, BUT CONDITION WAS NOT COMPLETELY RESOLVED. VEHICLE WOULD STILL ON OCCASION REPEAT THE SAME PROBLEM. MORE RECENTLY WHEN DRIVING YESTERDAY, THE ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING, THEN BECAME STEADY. OF GREATER CONCERNED I GOT AN ENGINE LIGHT & POOR ACCELERATION. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER & DEALER IS TELLING ME THAT THE TIMING BELT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $2000+. VEHICLE HAD JUST TURNED 61000 MILES. DEALER SERVICE AGENT TELLS ME ITS NOT UNCOMMON AND COULD BE CAUSED BY NOT GETTING THE OIL CHANGED AT RECOMMENDED INTERVALS. VEHICLE HAS HAD REGULAR OIL CHANGES AT THE DEALER & OTHER SERVICE FACILITIES. NEVER HEARD OF THIS & I THINK IT'S PREMATURE FOR A VEHICLE WITH 61000 MILES TO NEED THE TIMING BELT REPLACED. NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN 45+ YEARS OF DRIVING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/11/2016 - NORTHVILLE, MI
SINCE I'VE OWNED THIS VEHICLE NEW, I'VE HAD A NUMBER OF PROBLEMS RELATED TO ACCELERATION. VEHICLE WOULD ALMOST STALL ON HARD ACCELERATION WHEN GETTING ON THE FREEWAY. DEALER REPLACED SPARK PLUGS & BOOTS, BUT CONDITION WAS NOT COMPLETELY RESOLVED. VEHICLE WOULD STILL ON OCCASION REPEAT THE SAME PROBLEM. MORE RECENTLY WHEN DRIVING YESTERDAY, THE ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING, THEN BECAME STEADY. OF GREATER CONCERNED I GOT AN ENGINE LIGHT & POOR ACCELERATION. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER & DEALER IS TELLING ME THAT THE TIMING BELT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $2000+. VEHICLE HAD JUST TURNED 61000 MILES. DEALER SERVICE AGENT TELLS ME ITS NOT UNCOMMON AND COULD BE CAUSED BY NOT GETTING THE OIL CHANGED AT RECOMMENDED INTERVALS. VEHICLE HAS HAD REGULAR OIL CHANGES AT THE DEALER & OTHER SERVICE FACILITIES. NEVER HEARD OF THIS & I THINK IT'S PREMATURE FOR A VEHICLE WITH 61000 MILES TO NEED THE TIMING BELT REPLACED. NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN IN 45+ YEARS OF DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

8/11/2016 - BIG BEAR LAKE, CA
STEERING STICKS, SLIGHT TURN TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT, LET GO OF THE WHEEL, AND THE WHEEL DOES NOT RETURN TO STRAIGHT. VERY HARD TO STEER. PROBLEM COMES AND GOES BUT HAS BECOME WORSE LATELY. I HAVE TO REALLY CONCENTRATE WHEN THE CONDITION IS AT IT'S WORST. IT'S AN UNSAFE STEERING SITUATION. CONDITION OCCURS AT ALL SPEEDS, ON PAVED AND ON DIRT ROADS.

View Details

STEERING

8/9/2016 - GULF BREEZE, FL
THE STEERING "STICKS" WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND BECOMES DIFFICULT TO RECENTER THE WHEEL. IT CAUSES DIFFICULTY STAYING IN YOUR LANE. PROBLEM SEEMS TO DISSIPATE WHEN DRIVING AT LOWER SPEEDS. IT IS ALSO ERRATIC AND WILL NOT DO THIS CONSISTENTLY, BUT HAS BECOME MORE FREQUENT LATELY.

View Details

STEERING

8/8/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
AT VARIOUS SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY OR IN A PARKING LOT, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP WHEN YOU TURN TO THE LEFT AND YOU HAVE TO MANUALLY BRING IT BACK. A REAL SURPRISE! IT HAS NEVER HAPPENED TURNING TO THE RIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

8/2/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
PRIMARILY WHILE TURNING LEFT POWER STEERING GOES HARD. USUALLY RECOVERS AFTER TURNING TO RIGHT. INTERMITTENT TOTAL POWER STEERING FAILURE. AS YET, UNABLE TO DETERMINE REPRODUCIBLE SEQUENCE OF EVENTS TO DEMONSTRATE ISSUE TO DEALER.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2016 - BYRON, GA
WHILE DRIVING ON HWY WHEN ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE LOOSES POWER AND I HAD TO PULL OVER AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND RE-START IT, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THEN WHEN DRIVING ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS AND ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE TO PASS, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENS, THE ENGINE MISS FIRES, LOOSES POWER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON SINCE THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED. TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS "AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THE ECOBOOST AND THE AIR CHARGE COOLER". THEY SAID THE FIX IS TO PUT A INTERCOOLER DEFLECTOR (PIECE OF PLASTIC OVER THE INTERCOOLER), CHANGE THE SPARK PLUGS AND DO A VEHICLE SOFTWARE UPDATE WITCH IS GOING TO COST AROUND $700 TO FIX. OUTRAGEOUS COST FOR A TUNE UP AND A PIECE OF PLASTIC FOR SOMETHING THEY KNOW ITS A "ONGOING PROBLEM" AND DON'T WANT TO HAVE A RECALL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, AND THEY KNOW ABOUT IT BUT SINCE THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTEE I HAVE TO DEAL WITH IT. WONDER HOW MANY OTHERS HAVE THIS ISSUE?! THIS IS DEFINITELY THE ONLY AND LAST FORD I WILL BUY. THIS DOES NOT GUARANTEES THAT ITS GOING TO STOP IT FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. WITH THIS AMOUNT OF MONEY I COULD BUY AN AFTERMARKET INTERCOOLER, DO A COMPLETE TUNE UP AND STILL HAVE MONEY LEFT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/1/2016 - BYRON, GA
WHILE DRIVING ON HWY WHEN ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE LOOSES POWER AND I HAD TO PULL OVER AND SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND RE-START IT, ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. THEN WHEN DRIVING ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS AND ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE TO PASS, AND THE SAME THING HAPPENS, THE ENGINE MISS FIRES, LOOSES POWER AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON SINCE THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED. TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID IT WAS "AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH THE ECOBOOST AND THE AIR CHARGE COOLER". THEY SAID THE FIX IS TO PUT A INTERCOOLER DEFLECTOR (PIECE OF PLASTIC OVER THE INTERCOOLER), CHANGE THE SPARK PLUGS AND DO A VEHICLE SOFTWARE UPDATE WITCH IS GOING TO COST AROUND $700 TO FIX. OUTRAGEOUS COST FOR A TUNE UP AND A PIECE OF PLASTIC FOR SOMETHING THEY KNOW ITS A "ONGOING PROBLEM" AND DON'T WANT TO HAVE A RECALL. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, AND THEY KNOW ABOUT IT BUT SINCE THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTEE I HAVE TO DEAL WITH IT. WONDER HOW MANY OTHERS HAVE THIS ISSUE?! THIS IS DEFINITELY THE ONLY AND LAST FORD I WILL BUY. THIS DOES NOT GUARANTEES THAT ITS GOING TO STOP IT FROM HAPPENING AGAIN. WITH THIS AMOUNT OF MONEY I COULD BUY AN AFTERMARKET INTERCOOLER, DO A COMPLETE TUNE UP AND STILL HAVE MONEY LEFT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2016 - NEWHALL, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 102
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds