Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1052 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (207) Unknown Or Other (32)
Electrical System (100) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Seats (7) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (109)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (106) Suspension (8) Visibility (49)
Engine (349) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (52)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (249) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/20/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT POPPING UP ON THE SCREEN WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND THE STEERING CONTROL LIGHT SHOWS UP. TRUCK WON'T STEER LEFT OR RIGHT. THANK GOD I WAS PARKED WHEN IT FAILED. BEING TOLD IT'S THE ELECTRONIC RACK N PINION BOX. I ONLY HAVE 60,000 MILE ON THE TRUCK. I'M 59 YEARS OLD AND I DRIVE TO FROM WORK. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

3/20/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT POPPING UP ON THE SCREEN WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND THE STEERING CONTROL LIGHT SHOWS UP. TRUCK WON'T STEER LEFT OR RIGHT. THANK GOD I WAS PARKED WHEN IT FAILED. BEING TOLD IT'S THE ELECTRONIC RACK N PINION BOX. I ONLY HAVE 60,000 MILE ON THE TRUCK. I'M 59 YEARS OLD AND I DRIVE TO FROM WORK. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/20/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
BEEN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT POPPING UP ON THE SCREEN WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AND THE STEERING CONTROL LIGHT SHOWS UP. TRUCK WON'T STEER LEFT OR RIGHT. THANK GOD I WAS PARKED WHEN IT FAILED. BEING TOLD IT'S THE ELECTRONIC RACK N PINION BOX. I ONLY HAVE 60,000 MILE ON THE TRUCK. I'M 59 YEARS OLD AND I DRIVE TO FROM WORK. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2017 - CORONA, CA
FORD F-150 RECALL - 2011 F-150 TRANSMISSION RECALL (NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). BEEN BACK TO DEALER TWICE FOR SAME, TODAY THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INTO A LOWER GEAR, DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 62 MPH. "WRENCH" SYMBOL APPEARED AND TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT EXCEPT FROM 3RD TO 5TH. DASH DISAPPEARED TOO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
WHILE DRIVING MY VEHICLE ON THE RD RATHER I'M GOING 20 OR 70 MPH THE TRUCK WILL DOWN SHIFT AND UP SHIFT RAPIDLY AND THE SHIFT INDICATOR LIGHT ON DASH WILL FLICKER OFF AND ON THEN EVENTUALLY GOES INTO A NEUTRAL MODE AND WON'T EXCELLERATE THEN I'LL PULL OVER PUT TRUCK IN PARK AND TURN IT OFF THE TRY AND RESTART IT IT WILL NOT DO ANYTHING LOSES ALL POWER TO IGNITION AS IF IT WAS DEAD NO DASH LIGHTS WILL COME ON. I'LL THEN HAVE TO UNPLUG THE WIRES TO THE ECU PLUG THEM BACK IN THEN UNIT WILL START AND DRIVE BUT ACT UP AGAIN. THE MECHANIC SHOP ALREADY INSTALLED A NEW RANGE SENSOR IN THE VALVE BODY OF THE TRANSMISSION. AT RAPID REPAIR IN KATY TX. AND DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM MY TRUCK HAS ONLY 87,000 MILES IT'S EVEN HAD TRANSFLUID REPLACED AND LEVEL CHECKED IT'S SOMETHING ELECTRICAL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2017 - LAND O' LAKES, FL
ACCORDING TO THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE TO THIS POINT THE FIST RECALL THAT I BELIEVE APPLIES TO THIS VEHICLE IS TSB 13-6-8, AND THE 2ND IS TSB 13-8-1. BOTH OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE PREVALENT TO MY VEHICLE BUT FORD FAILS TO ACT ON THIS TSB AND FAILS TO MAKE THE NECESSARY REPAIRS THAT WILL REMEDY THESE ISSUES. ONCE AGAIN THIS VEHICLE IS NOW PART OF A FIELD SERVICE ACTION (15N05) FOR THE ELECTRIC VACUUM PUMP, AND WILL RETURN THE VEHICLE ON 3/24/2017 TO SEE IF THEY WILL RESPOND IN THIS ACTION, AND ONCE AGAIN BRING THESE TSB'S TO THERE ATTENTION AS PREVIOUSLY DONE TO SEE IF THEY WILL REPAIR THE VEHICLE TO AN ACCEPTABLE OPERATING STANDARD. IF FORD FAILS TO RESPOND TO THE TSB'S AND TO THE FIELD SERVICE ACTIONS, WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS TO SEE THESE REPAIRS TAKE PLACE, AND MY VEHICLE IS IN A SAFE AND PROPER WORKING FUNCTION?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/18/2017 - LAND O' LAKES, FL
ACCORDING TO THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE TO THIS POINT THE FIST RECALL THAT I BELIEVE APPLIES TO THIS VEHICLE IS TSB 13-6-8, AND THE 2ND IS TSB 13-8-1. BOTH OF THESE SYMPTOMS ARE PREVALENT TO MY VEHICLE BUT FORD FAILS TO ACT ON THIS TSB AND FAILS TO MAKE THE NECESSARY REPAIRS THAT WILL REMEDY THESE ISSUES. ONCE AGAIN THIS VEHICLE IS NOW PART OF A FIELD SERVICE ACTION (15N05) FOR THE ELECTRIC VACUUM PUMP, AND WILL RETURN THE VEHICLE ON 3/24/2017 TO SEE IF THEY WILL RESPOND IN THIS ACTION, AND ONCE AGAIN BRING THESE TSB'S TO THERE ATTENTION AS PREVIOUSLY DONE TO SEE IF THEY WILL REPAIR THE VEHICLE TO AN ACCEPTABLE OPERATING STANDARD. IF FORD FAILS TO RESPOND TO THE TSB'S AND TO THE FIELD SERVICE ACTIONS, WHAT ARE MY OPTIONS TO SEE THESE REPAIRS TAKE PLACE, AND MY VEHICLE IS IN A SAFE AND PROPER WORKING FUNCTION?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2017 - PEKIN, IL
WAS DRIVING AT ABOUT 40MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DROPPED INTO 1ST GEAR. THE WRENCH LIGHT AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE SPEEDOMETER DID NOT WORK AND HAD DASHES DISPLAYED INSTEAD OF NUMBERS. AFTER SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF FOR AN HOUR, IT WAS WORKING FINE AFTER RESTARTING. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT RECORDED OUTPUT SENSOR ERROR.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2017 - NEW CARLISLE, IN
EXPERIENCED MULTIPLE ENGINE MISFIRE EVENTS IN PAST YEAR WITH 3.5L ECOBOOST ENGINE. DEC 2015- MISFIRE CODE P0300. SIX SPARK PLUGS REPLACED BY NAPA CERTIFIED SHOP AT MY COST. AUG 2016 - TOWING 7,000 LB. TRAVEL TRAILER - ENGINE STUTTER & POWER LOSS GOING UPHILL, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TOOK TO LOCAL FORD DEALER. DIAGNOSIS - CRACKED SPARK PLUG ON CYLINDER 6. SPARK PLUG REPLACED AT MY COST. DEC 2016 - UNDER NORMAL HIGHWAY DRIVING CONDITIONS. ACCELERATED FROM 65 TO APPROX 70 MPH TO PASS SEMI - ENGINE STUTTER & POWER LOSS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON & TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE, ENGINE WENT INTO LIMP MODE. HAD TO PULL OVER & SLOW TO 50 MPH BEFORE POWER CAME BACK. TOOK TO LOCAL DEALERSHIP. DIAGNOSIS - FOULED SPARK PLUG & BAD IGNITION COIL ON CYLINDER 3. COIL REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY, SPARK PLUG REPLACED AT MY COST. FEB 2017 - UNDER NORMAL HIGHWAY DRIVING CONDITIONS. AGAIN ACCELERATING FROM 65 TO APPROX 70 MPH TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE - ENGINE STUTTER & POWER LOSS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON & TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE, ENGINE WENT INTO LIMP MODE. HAD TO PULL OVER & SLOW TO 50 MPH BEFORE POWER CAME BACK. TOOK TO SAME LOCAL DEALERSHIP. DIAGNOSIS - CRACKED SPARK PLUG & BAD IGNITION COIL ON CYLINDER 6. COIL REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY, SPARK PLUG REPLACED AT MY COST. MARCH 2017 - AGAIN, UNDER NORMAL HIGHWAY DRIVING CONDITIONS. AGAIN ACCELERATING FROM 65 TO APPROX. 70 MPH TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE - ENGINE STUTTER & POWER LOSS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON & TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE, ENGINE WENT INTO LIMP MODE. HAD TO SLOW TO 45 MPH BEFORE POWER CAME BACK. TOOK TO SAME LOCAL DEALERSHIP. WAS TOLD THAT I WAS NOW 200 MILES OUTSIDE OF EXTENDED WARRANTY. THEY WOULD LOOK AT IT BUT IT WOULD COST ME. TOOK TO AUTOZONE FOR CODE READ - ERROR CODE P0305 - CYLINDER 5 MISFIRE. MULTIPLE ARTICLES & ONLINE FORUM REPORTS OF THIS ISSUE. FORD APPEARS TO BE IGNORING THE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2017 - AZTEC, NM
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEAD FRAME HARNESS WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN), BUT THE VIN WAS EXCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 94,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds