Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 415 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (102) Steering (57) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (73)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (206) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes (18) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2014 - PLANTATION, FL
WHILE TRYING TO PASS A VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY MY TRUCK STARTED TO SPUTTER AND LOOSE POWER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOR A FEW SECONDS AND WENT OFF. THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING EVERY DAY NOW UNDER ALL CONDITIONS. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM AND NO REAL RESOLUTIONS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/7/2014 - PLANTATION, FL
WHILE TRYING TO PASS A VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY MY TRUCK STARTED TO SPUTTER AND LOOSE POWER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOR A FEW SECONDS AND WENT OFF. THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING EVERY DAY NOW UNDER ALL CONDITIONS. THERE ARE NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM AND NO REAL RESOLUTIONS.

View Details

STEERING

4/30/2014 - TOMBALL, TX
VEHICLE HAS JUST OVER 40,000 MILES ALL HIGHWAY. VEHICLE IS 4WD. VEHICLE HAS NEVER TOWED, HAULED OR BEEN OFF ROAD. TOOK VEHICLE TO FORD DEALERSHIP TO HAVE A/C SERVICED (WHICH WAS NOTED HAVING PROBLEMS DURING WARRANTY, BUT TECHS NEVER FOUND ISSUE NOR RAN DIAGNOSTICS) DURING THE DIAGNOSTICS THE SERVICE TECH STATED THERE WAS A NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING GEAR. E THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN OUT OF OWNER'S POSSESSION AND AT THE DEALERSHIP AWAITING A/C SERVICE FOR 4 DAYS. OWNER STATED THAT THERE HAD BEEN NO STEERING ISSUES OR WARNINGS DISPLAYED IN THE VEHICLE AND HAD BEEN OPERATING WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS. DEALERSHIP STATES THAT WHEN THEY FINISHED THE A/C SERVICE THAT THE STEERING CEASED UPON BACKING THE VEHICLE OUT OF THE SERVICE AREA. OWNER ASKED WHY THE STEERING GEAR IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE DRIVE TRAIN WARRANTY. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THIS ISSUE IS A COMMON ISSUE THAT IS BEING ENCOUNTERED WITH THE NEW FORD EPAS SYSTEM AND IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE DRIVETRAIN WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH THE VEHICLE'S LOW MILEAGE. OWNER REQUESTING THAT FORD PAY FOR REPLACEMENT DUE TO IT BEING COMMONLY DEFECTIVE. VEHICLE STILL IN DEALERSHIP'S POSSESSION.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/29/2014 - NEW BALTIMORE , MI
THE PASSENGER (PS) SECTION OF THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING & WITHOUT ANY EXTERNAL DAMAGE TO THE WINDOW. THERE WAS A SLIGHT FROST ON THE WINDOWS & THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER BUTTON WAS DEPRESSED AND WOULD NOT ACTIVATE. AS THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AT 25 MILES PER HOUR AN LOUD POP NOISE WAS HERD. THE VEHICLE PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD & IT WAS NOTICED THAT THE PS SECTION OF THE REAR WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. THE FORD DEALERSHIP THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM WAS CONTACT TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY BULLETINS FOR THIS ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THERE WAS NO BULLETINS FOR THIS ISSUE HOWEVER, THEY HAVE SEEN THIS ISSUE MULTIPLE TIMES & DIRECTED ME TO CALL THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE TO FILE A COMPLAINT. THE DEALERSHIP ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE REAR WINDOW THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WAS ON BACK ORDER & THAT ADDITIONAL REPAIR LOCATIONS SHOULD BE CONTACTED TO REPLACE THE GLASS IF IMMEDIATE REPAIR WAS NEEDED. TWO ADDITIONAL REPAIR LOCATIONS WERE CONTACTED, BOTH OF THEM HAD THE REAR GLASS ON BACK ORDER. A CALL WAS PLACED TO THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE WITH THIS COMPLIANT, DIRECTION WAS GIVEN THAT FORD MOTOR COMPANY WAS NOT DO ANYTHING FOR THIS ISSUE & THAT THE INCIDENT SHOULD BE REPORTED TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY FOR REPAIR. THE INCIDENT WAS REPORTED TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY & THE DEDUCTIBLE WAS PAID TO HAVE THE REAR WINDOW REPLACED. THE INSURANCE COMPANY REPAIR LOCATION ALSO WAS AWARE & REPLACED SEVERAL REAR WINDOWS FOR THIS VEHICLE DUE TO UNEXPECTED SHATTERING WITH NO EXTERNAL IMPACT, SOME OF THE REPAIRS WERE REPEAT REPAIRS . THE LOCATION ALSO ADVISED THAT THE PROBABLE REASON FOR THE SHATTERING WAS DUE TO THE HEATER ELEMENT IN THE GLASS OVER HEATING OVERTIME CAUSING WINDOW FAILURE & THAT IT WAS POSSIBLE THE FAILURE WAS GOING TO HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2014 - COLLIERVILLE, TN
DURING ACCELERATION TO MERGE ONTO THE HIGHWAY, MY F-150 LOST POWER. THE ENGINE BEGAN TO SPUTTER, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED, AND THE TRUCK LOST POWER. AN 18-WHEELER BEHIND ME HAD TO SLAM ON HIS BRAKES TO AVOID HITTING MY VEHICLE AS I MOVED IT TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. I TOOK THE VEHICLE INTO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY PERFORMED TSB13-8-1. AS OF TODAY (4/28/2014), THE ISSUE HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. I JUST TOOK MY TRUCK BACK INTO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE ANOTHER TSB PERFORMED. THIS TIME, I HAD TO PAY $100 BECAUSE MY POWERTRAIN WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT THE TSB'S THAT FORD IS ISSUING ARE INADEQUATE. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THE CAUSE OF POWER LOSS IS MOISTURE THAT BUILDS UP INSIDE THE INTERCOOLER. THE LAST FIX WAS TO PLACE A PIECE OF PLASTIC OVER THE INTERCOOLER IN AN ATTEMPT TO RAISE INTERNAL TEMPERATURES AND PREVENT MOISTURE FROM BUILDING UP. IT DID NOT WORK...AND MY MPG WENT DOWN BY 1.8 (AVERAGE) WITH THE FIX. MY MAIN CONCERN IS THAT FORD WILL CONTINUE TO RELEASE INADEQUATE SOLUTIONS TO THIS PROBLEM, AND ONCE MY ESP HAS RUN OUT, I WILL BE LEFT WITH A TRUCK THAT DOESN'T WORK AND WITH NO OTHER CHOICE BUT TO PAY FOR EXPENSES 100% OUT OF POCKET. HOPEFULLY SOMETHING IS DONE TO PREVENT THIS FROM HAPPENING. I AM NOT A VERY SATISFIED CUSTOMER AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2014 - OGDENSBURG, NY
CPSC: I144350A. 2011 FORD F-150. CONSUMER STATED THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING SYSTEM LOST POWER. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, A BLOCK OF ICE FELL OFF A TRUCK THAT WAS AHEAD OF HIM, AND EVASIVE ACTION WAS NOT POSSIBLE DUE TO THE ICE AND TRAFFIC VOLUME. THE ICE STUCK THE ALTERNATOR WHICH WAS POSITIONED 10 INCHES OFF THE GROUND ON THE LOWER LEFT FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THEN VEHICLE THEN BEGAN TO LOSE ELECTRICAL POWER . EVENTUALLY, THE VEHICLE LOST ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING. HE WAS ABLE TO PULL HARD ON THE STEERING WHEEL AND WAS ABLE TO STEER A SLIGHT CURVE. HE THEN REALIZED HE HAD NO BRAKES, SO HE SHOT ACROSS THE HIGHWAY, WHICH WAS USUALLY BUSY, AND HE STOMPED ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND CAME TO A STOP. THE CONSUMER THEN DISCOVERED THERE WAS A FIRE UNDERNEATH THE ENGINE, BUT QUICKLY PUT IT OUT WITH THE SNOW.

View Details

STEERING: ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST SYSTEM

4/25/2014 - OGDENSBURG, NY
CPSC: I144350A. 2011 FORD F-150. CONSUMER STATED THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING SYSTEM LOST POWER. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, A BLOCK OF ICE FELL OFF A TRUCK THAT WAS AHEAD OF HIM, AND EVASIVE ACTION WAS NOT POSSIBLE DUE TO THE ICE AND TRAFFIC VOLUME. THE ICE STUCK THE ALTERNATOR WHICH WAS POSITIONED 10 INCHES OFF THE GROUND ON THE LOWER LEFT FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THEN VEHICLE THEN BEGAN TO LOSE ELECTRICAL POWER . EVENTUALLY, THE VEHICLE LOST ELECTRICAL POWER STEERING. HE WAS ABLE TO PULL HARD ON THE STEERING WHEEL AND WAS ABLE TO STEER A SLIGHT CURVE. HE THEN REALIZED HE HAD NO BRAKES, SO HE SHOT ACROSS THE HIGHWAY, WHICH WAS USUALLY BUSY, AND HE STOMPED ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND CAME TO A STOP. THE CONSUMER THEN DISCOVERED THERE WAS A FIRE UNDERNEATH THE ENGINE, BUT QUICKLY PUT IT OUT WITH THE SNOW.

View Details

ENGINE

4/24/2014 - COLLIERVILLE, TN
I ACCELERATED HARD ON A HIGHWAY ENTRANCE RAMP AND THE ENGINE STARTED TO STUTTER TO THE POINT I THOUGHT IT MIGHT STALL OUT. I LET OFF THE GAS AND ACCELERATED AGAIN MORE SLOWLY WITH NO PROBLEM. THINKING IT WAS A ONE OFF I ACCELERATED HARD AGAIN AND AGAIN THE CAR STUTTERED. I WENT EASY FOR A COUPLE DAYS AND THEN AGAIN ACCELERATED HARD A FEW DAYS LATER WITH THE SAME RESULT. I GOT ONLINE AND REALIZED I WASN'T THE ONLY ONE HAVING ISSUES WITH THIS ENGINE. ON 4/18/14 I TOOK MY TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP(LANDERS FORD, COLLIERVILLE, TN) AND REPORTED THE PROBLEM. THEY WERE FAMILIAR WITH IT AND SAID THERE WAS A FIX. THIS FIX INCLUDED INSTALLING A MOISTURE DEFLECTOR AND REPROGRAMMING THE COMPUTER. IT WAS PERFORMED AND I LEFT THE DEALERSHIP. YESTERDAY, 4/23/14, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. I AM PLANNING ON GOING BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TOMORROW.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2014 - MERCER ISLAND, WA
WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SLOWER MOVING VEHICLE, I MOVED INTO THE LEFT PASS LANE AND PUSHED ON THE GAS, THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHUDDER VIOLENTLY, LOSE POWER, AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT IT AND THEY DID THE INTERCOOLER FIX. AFTER THAT THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, TOOK BACK TO DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A SPARK PLUG, REPLACED IT, ON THE DRIVE HOME SAME PROBLEM, ENGINE SHUDDERS VIOLENTLY, LOSES POWER, GOES INTO LIMP MODE, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT EITHER FLASHES OR GOES SOLID. I HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM SINCE THE DAY I PURCHASED THE TRUCK NEW FROM THE DEALER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/22/2014 - MERCER ISLAND, WA
WHEN ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SLOWER MOVING VEHICLE, I MOVED INTO THE LEFT PASS LANE AND PUSHED ON THE GAS, THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHUDDER VIOLENTLY, LOSE POWER, AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I BOUGHT IT AND THEY DID THE INTERCOOLER FIX. AFTER THAT THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, TOOK BACK TO DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME IT WAS A SPARK PLUG, REPLACED IT, ON THE DRIVE HOME SAME PROBLEM, ENGINE SHUDDERS VIOLENTLY, LOSES POWER, GOES INTO LIMP MODE, AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT EITHER FLASHES OR GOES SOLID. I HAVE HAD THIS PROBLEM SINCE THE DAY I PURCHASED THE TRUCK NEW FROM THE DEALER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds