Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 446 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (108) Steering (66) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (78)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Visibility (12)
Engine (216) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (22) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/18/2014 - BELLEVILLE, IL
LUCKILY, THERE WAS NOT AN INCIDENT IN MY CASE. I HAD A REAR SLIDING WINDOW SWITCH REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. I ALSO HAD AN OIL CHANGE AND MY BATTERY TERMINALS CLEANED BY THE DEALERS SERVICE DEPARTMENT. WHEN I WENT TO PICK UP MY VEHICLE AND BEGAN TO DRIVE OFF, I NOTICED A WARNING DISPLAYING THE MESSAGE "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC". I THEN LEFT THE VEHICLE WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AGAIN. WHEN THE SERVICE ADVISOR CONTACTED ME TO TELL ME WHAT THE TECHNICIANS DIAGNOSED, HE SAID THAT THE TRUCK NEEDED A NEW ELECTRIC STEERING RACK. HE ALSO TOLD ME THAT THIS PART IS ON NATIONAL BACKORDER. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I FOUND THAT THIS IS A VITAL PART IN STEERING FUNCTIONALITY. I ALSO READ THAT IF THIS PART FAILS WHILE YOU ARE DRIVING, THERE IS A SERIOUS RISK OF ACCIDENT. I'M THANKFUL THAT MY TRUCK WASN'T MOVING WHEN THIS STEERING RACK WENT BAD. BUT IT CONCERNS ME THAT SO MANY FORD OWNERS HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO THEM AND THAT THIS IS NOT A RECALL. I ALSO THINK THAT IF THIS PART IS ON NATIONAL BACKORDER, THERE MUST BE MANY PEOPLE WHO ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE AS WELL. I WANT TO DO MY PART TO MAKE THE PUBLIC AWARE THAT THIS PART ALSO WENT BAD ON MY VEHICLE. I WANT TO CONTRIBUTE TO THE NUMBERS SO THAT THIS CAN BECOME A RECALL IF THE DATA SHOWS IT'S NECESSARY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2014 - HOWELL, MI
VEHICLE HAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000 MILES. I HAVE HAD THE TIMING CHAIN REPLACED, THE PLUGS HAVE BEEN CHANGED 3 TIMES, THE IGNITION COILS HAVE ALL BEEN CHANGED. THE IS AN INTERMITTENT MISFIRE WHICH IS UNEXPLAINED. FORD DOES NOT HAVE AN ANSWER FOR THE GHOSTS IN THIS MACHINE. UPON SEARCHING THE TIMING CHAIN ISSUE IN THE F-150 ECOBOOST, I HAVE FOUND THAT I AM NOT ALONE, HOWEVER WAS UNLUCKY THAT MINE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY. I DO MOSTLY HIGHWAY DRIVING WITH THIS VEHICLE. MOST CASES ONLINE ARE UNDER 90,000 MILES. IT IS OBSURD FOR A VEHICLE TO EXPERIENCE THESE KIND OF ISSUES WITH THE HIGHWAY DRIVING. THIS IS ALSO THE SAME ENGINE THAT IS BEING SUPPLIED TO OUR LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCIES IN FORD INTERCEPTOR AND EXPLORER MODELS. I AM SURE THIS ISSUE WOULD BECOME ESCALATED THE MOMENT AN OFFICER CANNOT PERSUE A VEHICLE BECAUSE OF MISFIRES AND BAD TIMING.

View Details

TIRES

7/10/2014 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH PIRELLI TIRE SCORPION STR TIRES, TIRE SIZE 275/55/20. (NA) THE DOT NUMBER WAS XL4BJ9248610. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH, A CLICKING AND POPPING NOISED EMITTED OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MERGED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER'S SIDE TIRE EXPLODED. THE TIRE WAS REPLACED WITH A SPARE TIRE. ALSO, THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE OTHER THREE TIRES ON THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED SEVERE TREAD SEPARATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. HOWEVER, THE DEFECTIVE TIRES WERE NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,434 OF THE VEHICLE AND TIRES.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2014 - TEMPE, AZ
I OWN A 2011 F150 4X4 SUPERCREW ECOBOOST, THIS IS THE SECOND TIME I'VE HAD THIS PROBLEM. I WAS PULLING A TRAILER WEIGHT APPROX 2500LBS ON THE HIGHWAY GOING UP HILL FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME. MY TRUCK LOSS ALL POWER AND I BARLEY MADE IT TO THE TOP OF THE HILL. I PULLED OVER CHECKED OUT THE TRUCK AND THE PROBLEM DISAPPEARED. THE 1ST TIME THIS HAPPENED I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY DID THE TSB, REPLACED ALL SPARK PLUGS AND REPLACE ONE IGNITION COIL. COST AROUND $800 BUT THE PROBLEM STILL HAPPENS, I'M AFRAID TO PUT ANY LOAD ON THE ENGINE. THIS IS A PROBLEM WITH CONDENSATION IN THE INTER COOLER THAT CAUSES A MISS FIRE BUT FORD WILL NOT ADDRESS THE PROBLEM. I'M HOPING FOR A RECALL SOON BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY HURT OR KILLED BY THIS MALFUNCTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/2/2014 - RICHFIELD, WI
VACUUM PUMP WILL FAIL ON TRUCK. WENT TO PUT THE VEHICLE INTO GEAR. RELEASED THE BRAKE AND IT STARTED TO MOVE TOO QUICKLY. TRIED TO REAPPLY THE BRAKE AND THERE WAS NOTHING. PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND IT TOOK MAX EFFORT TO STOP THE VEHICLE THAT HAD JUST BEEN PUT INTO GEAR. THE PROBLEM COULDN'T BE REPLICATED. THIS HAPPENED TWICE MORE AND ONCE TO THE SERVICE TECH. VERY SCARY! TURNS OUT THE VACUUM PUMP HAD SEIZED CAUSING THERE TO BE NO POWER BOOST. ONCE THE ENGINE HAS RUN FOR A WHILE THE ENGINE WILL PROVIDE THE BOOST, IT'S ONLY WHEN FIRST STARTING THE VEHICLE THAT THERE IS NO BOOST. THERE IS NO WARNING LIGHT TO INDICATE THE LOW VACUUM CONDITION AND 90% OF THE TIME THERE ISN'T A NOTICEABLE PROBLEM. UNTIL THEY CAN'T STOP, THE OWNER DOESN'T KNOW THE PUMP HAD FAILED MONTHS EARLIER. THIS CAN BE QUITE DANGEROUS BECAUSE OF THE CHANCE OF A SLOW SPEED CRASH. CURRENTLY THERE IS A BACK ORDER ON THE PUMPS SO I HAVE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE KNOWING THAT I MIGHT NOT BE ABLE TO STOP IN TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2014 - MILFORD, NH
2011 F150, 3.5L ECOBOOST MOTOR, VEHICLE SHUDDERS AND LOSES POWER DURING ACCELERATION. DANGEROUS TO TRY AND PASS VEHICLES OR EVEN CHANGE LANES TO PULL OVER AS THERE IS POWER LOSS FROM ENGINE. TAKEN TO DEALER AND THEY PERFORMED FORD TSB 13-08-01. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE ENGINE MISFIRE CONTINUED, AFTER RETURNING TO DEALER THE VEHICLE SHOWED CODE RELATED TO SAME TSB AFTER IT HAD BEEN APPLIED. DEALER CLEARED CODE. I HAVE SINCE REPLACED SPARK PLUGS AND SO FAR HAS NOT REOCCURRED. I HAVE SEEN QUITE A FEW REPORTS OF THIS SAME ISSUES ON MANY FORD F150 FORUMS. I WOULD SAY FORD REALLY NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/1/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
AS I WAS MERGING ONTO THE HIGHWAY, I HAD TO ACCELERATE TO AVOID A SEMI WHO WAS APPROACHING IN THE RIGHT LANE. I HARD ACCELERATED, BUT THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. I HAD LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND WAS FORCED TO PUT MY FLASHERS ON AND MERGE TO THE BREAK-DOWN LANE TO AVOID BEING RUN COMPLETELY OFF THE HIGHWAY. THE TRUCK SHOOK VIOLENTLY WHILE IN 6TH GEAR AND I HAD TO MANUALLY SHIFT TO 5TH GEAR TO STOP THE TRUCK FROM VIBRATING APART. LESS THAN 10 MINUTES LATER (WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN 5TH GEAR) THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED OFF AND THE TRUCK WAS ABLE TO BE SHIFTED BACK INTO 6TH WITHOUT ANY VIBRATION. THIS LACK OF ACCELERATION IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND HAS HAPPENED MORE TIMES THAN I CAN COUNT. ABOVE WAS ONLY AN EXPLANATION OF THE LAST OCCURRENCE. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN SERVICED (UNDER WARRANTY) WHERE ISSUE WAS DISCUSSED WITH FORD, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO "REPRODUCE" THE PROBLEM...

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
AS I WAS MERGING ONTO THE HIGHWAY, I HAD TO ACCELERATE TO AVOID A SEMI WHO WAS APPROACHING IN THE RIGHT LANE. I HARD ACCELERATED, BUT THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. I HAD LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND WAS FORCED TO PUT MY FLASHERS ON AND MERGE TO THE BREAK-DOWN LANE TO AVOID BEING RUN COMPLETELY OFF THE HIGHWAY. THE TRUCK SHOOK VIOLENTLY WHILE IN 6TH GEAR AND I HAD TO MANUALLY SHIFT TO 5TH GEAR TO STOP THE TRUCK FROM VIBRATING APART. LESS THAN 10 MINUTES LATER (WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN 5TH GEAR) THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED OFF AND THE TRUCK WAS ABLE TO BE SHIFTED BACK INTO 6TH WITHOUT ANY VIBRATION. THIS LACK OF ACCELERATION IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND HAS HAPPENED MORE TIMES THAN I CAN COUNT. ABOVE WAS ONLY AN EXPLANATION OF THE LAST OCCURRENCE. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN SERVICED (UNDER WARRANTY) WHERE ISSUE WAS DISCUSSED WITH FORD, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO "REPRODUCE" THE PROBLEM...

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/1/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
AS I WAS MERGING ONTO THE HIGHWAY, I HAD TO ACCELERATE TO AVOID A SEMI WHO WAS APPROACHING IN THE RIGHT LANE. I HARD ACCELERATED, BUT THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. I HAD LOST ALL ACCELERATION AND WAS FORCED TO PUT MY FLASHERS ON AND MERGE TO THE BREAK-DOWN LANE TO AVOID BEING RUN COMPLETELY OFF THE HIGHWAY. THE TRUCK SHOOK VIOLENTLY WHILE IN 6TH GEAR AND I HAD TO MANUALLY SHIFT TO 5TH GEAR TO STOP THE TRUCK FROM VIBRATING APART. LESS THAN 10 MINUTES LATER (WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN 5TH GEAR) THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNED OFF AND THE TRUCK WAS ABLE TO BE SHIFTED BACK INTO 6TH WITHOUT ANY VIBRATION. THIS LACK OF ACCELERATION IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND HAS HAPPENED MORE TIMES THAN I CAN COUNT. ABOVE WAS ONLY AN EXPLANATION OF THE LAST OCCURRENCE. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN SERVICED (UNDER WARRANTY) WHERE ISSUE WAS DISCUSSED WITH FORD, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO "REPRODUCE" THE PROBLEM...

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/26/2014 - OAKDALE, MN
AS I WAS MERGING ONTO HIGHWAY 694 NORTH, I HAD TO ACCELERATE BECAUSE OF A SEMI APPROACHING ME FROM BEHIND, I GAVE THE TRUCK FULL THROTTLE BUT THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING AND THE ENGINE FELT LIKE IT QUIT OR JUST HAD NO POWER LEFT. THE TRUCK STRUGGLED TO REACH 55MPH, AND WITHIN SECONDS I ALMOST GOT REAR-ENDED AND ALMOST RAN OFF THE HIGHWAY, DO TO THE FACT THAT MY TRUCK HAD NO POWER. AFTER I MERGED ONTO THE HIGHWAY THE TRUCK SHOOK VIOLENTLY FOR ABOUT 3 MILES WHILE MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS FLASHING. DURING THIS TIME IT FELT AS THOUGH MY TRUCK HAD LOST 50% OF ITS POWER.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds