Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 495 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (117) Steering (73) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (40) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (80)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Suspension (4) Visibility (15)
Engine (230) Fuel System Gasoline (37) Service Brakes (26) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (26) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/29/2014 - BAYTOWN, TX
DURING ACCELERATION TO PASS ANOTHER MOTORIST, TRUCK EXHIBITED MULTIPLE MISFIRES CAUSING TRUCK TO LOSE POWER AND TRIGGER THE SEL LIGHT. AFTER THAT, THE TRUCK WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND WAS ACTUALLY LOSING SPEED ON THE FREEWAY. MY TRUCK NOW COASTING, I HAD TO MANEUVER MY VEHICLE THROUGH TRAFFIC GOING MUCH FASTER THAN ME, TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER WHERE I HAD TO EVENTUALLY SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND START IT BACK UP AGAIN. TRUCK THEN IDLED VERY ROUGH AND I PRECEDED TO EXIT THE FREEWAY BECAUSE I DIDN'T WANT TO BE IN THAT DANGEROUS SITUATION AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - ONALASKA, WI
REAR DEFROSTER WOULD NOT WORK. 5 MINUTES LATER IT CAME ON FOR JUST A SECOND AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A LOUD BANG AND THE WINDOW ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE REAR NEXT TO THE SLIDER SHATTERED. AFTER DOING MORE RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT IS HAS HAPPENED BEFORE ON THE 2011 FORDS BUT THERE HASN'T BEEN ANY RECALL. THIS IS DANGEROUS. THANK YOU

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING LOCK! AND SEND ME TO THE SIDE WALK, THANKS GOD NOBODY WAS THERE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - PERRYOPOLIS, PA
ENGINE MISS FIRE. THE ENGINE WHEN TRYING TO PASS MISS FIRES AND ACTUALLY SLOWS DOWN. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO A FORD DEALER THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG AND IT WAS NOT MISS FIRING. IT CONTINUED TO DO THIS AND I REPEATEDLY TOOK IT BACK FOR SERVICE WITH THE SAME RESULT. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH THERE WERE MANY ESB'S ON THIS SUBJECT WITH THE TURBO COOLING SYSTEM RETURNING WATER BACK TO THE FIRING CHAMBERS BURNING OUT THE SPARK PLUGS, COIL PACKS, AND SENDING RAW FUEL TO THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER BURNING IT OUT. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED OF THESE ISSUES EVEN THOUGH THE ESB'S WERE AVAILABLE TO THE FORD DEALER OF THE ISSUES NOW THAT THE WARRANTY IS OVER I AM EXPECTED TO REPAIR THESE ISSUES. THIS IS FRAUD!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/15/2014 - CONCORD, OH
COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE. RIGHT FRONT BRAKE PAD HAD OVER 1/3 PAD MATERIAL LEFT. PAD MATERIAL DETACHED FROM THE METAL PAD BACKING PLATE. THEN THE PAD MATERIAL GOT JAMMED IN BETWEEN THE BRAKE CALIPER BRACKET AND THE ROTOR. THE LOWER CALIPER PISTON BROKE WHEN I TRIED TO STOP AFTER THIS HAPPENED. THEN ALL OF THE BRAKE FLUID LEAKED ABOUT LEADING TO TOTAL BRAKE FAILURE. I HAD BRAKE FAILURE A FEW SECONDS BEFORE THE BRAKE LIGHT CAME ON. WHEN THIS HAPPENED I COULD NOT STOP AND WENT INTO A DITCH TO AVOID TRAFFIC. BRAKES WORKED AS NORMAL BEFORE FAILURE. BRAKE PAD FAILURE REQUIRED REPLACEMENT OF: RIGHT FRONT BRAKE CALIPER, RIGHT FRONT ROTOR, NEW PADS, PAD GLIDES, NEW BRAKE FLUID AND A COMPLETE BLEEDING OF THE BRAKING SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - LUBBOCK, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON I-20 FROM DALLAS TO LUBBOCK, I ATTEMPTED TO PASS A VEHICLE IN THE ON-COMING LANE. WHEN I HIT THE GAS PEDAL, THE TRUCK WENT INTO VIGOROUS SHAKING, AND THE ENGINE LOST ALL POWER TO ACCELERATE. I WAS THREE HOURS INTO THE TRIP, THE TRUCK HAD BEEN CRUISE CONTROLLED FOR OVER 60 MILES, AND IT HAD BEEN RAINING THE ENTIRE WAY. WHEN THE TRUCK DID THIS, A VEHICLE (IN ON-COMING LANE) APPEARED AND I HAD TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES TO RETURN BEHIND THE CAR I ATTEMPTED TO PASS. THE SHAKING OF THE TRUCK MADE IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL AND I HAD TO PULL OVER IN FEAR OF MY SAFETY, AND ULTIMATELY MY LIFE. HAD I NOT ACTED WHEN I DID, I MIGHT HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. DEALERSHIPS ARE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN THE SAME CONDITIONS AS MY EXPERIENCE. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2014 - LUBBOCK, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON I-20 FROM DALLAS TO LUBBOCK, I ATTEMPTED TO PASS A VEHICLE IN THE ON-COMING LANE. WHEN I HIT THE GAS PEDAL, THE TRUCK WENT INTO VIGOROUS SHAKING, AND THE ENGINE LOST ALL POWER TO ACCELERATE. I WAS THREE HOURS INTO THE TRIP, THE TRUCK HAD BEEN CRUISE CONTROLLED FOR OVER 60 MILES, AND IT HAD BEEN RAINING THE ENTIRE WAY. WHEN THE TRUCK DID THIS, A VEHICLE (IN ON-COMING LANE) APPEARED AND I HAD TO SLAM ON THE BRAKES TO RETURN BEHIND THE CAR I ATTEMPTED TO PASS. THE SHAKING OF THE TRUCK MADE IT DIFFICULT TO CONTROL AND I HAD TO PULL OVER IN FEAR OF MY SAFETY, AND ULTIMATELY MY LIFE. HAD I NOT ACTED WHEN I DID, I MIGHT HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. DEALERSHIPS ARE UNABLE TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM BECAUSE IT HAS NOT BEEN THE SAME CONDITIONS AS MY EXPERIENCE. THIS PROBLEM NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
DRIVING TO WORK ON A CRISP FALL MORNING IN OCTOBER 2014, I PUT THE REAR WINDOW DEFOGGER ON. ABOUT 10 MINUTES LATER, I HEARD A LOUD POP THAT SOUNDED LIKE ONE OF MY WINDOWS HAD BEEN SHOT OUT. I STOPPED TO INVESTIGATE AND DISCOVERED THAT MY RIGHT REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED (SPIDER-LIKE CRACKS THROUGHOUT THOUGH STILL INTACT). I UNDERSTAND THAT THIS HAS OCCURRED ON SCORES OF FORD F-150S. LUCKILY I WAS ONLY DRIVING 35 AS ANY FASTER AND I MIGHT HAVE LOST CONTROL DUE TO THE FRIGHT. WHEN IS NHTSA GOING TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS? OR DO ABOUT A DOZEN PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE FIRST BEFORE ANY ACTION IS TAKEN?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/7/2014 - WARE, MA
I HAVE A 2011 FORD F-150 SUPER CAB ENGINE 3.5 L ECOBOOST. 54,000 MILES (CURRENT MILEAGE) IT HAS A SAFETY ISSUE WITH IT. THE PROBLEM IS THAT WHEN THE TRUCK IS COLD LIKE FIRST START CONDITION. WHEN YOU EITHER BACK UP OR GO FORWARD AFTER A FEW SECONDS YOU APPLY THE BRAKE AND IT HAS LITTLE OR NO BRAKES LIKE IT DOES NOT HAVE ENOUGH OF PRESSURE TO RUN THE VACUUM SYSTEM BUT AFTER IT WARMS UP IT WORKS FINE. WHAT I FOUND OUT AFTER RESEARCH IS THAT THE ELECTRONIC VACUUM PUMP IS THE PROBLEM. I HAVE FOUND THIS YOUTUBE CLIP FROM A FORD MECHANIC THAT EXPLAINS THE SYMPTOMS AND HOW TO FIX IT ETC. IT WILL EXPLAIN MY PROBLEM BETTER THAN ME TRYING TO TYPE IT OUT. HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=SXO2QVWBDKI&LIST=UUN467FMGLLLK98JDDJLL51W

View Details

STEERING

10/6/2014 - RIDGECREST, CA
MY 2011 FORD F150 -WITH ONLY 39000 MILES- HAD A COMPLETE FAILURE OF THE RACK MOUNTED ELECTRIC POWER ASSISTED STEERING MODULE WHICH PROHIBITED IT FROM BEING DRIVEN. THE FAILURE CAUSED AN INCREASE IN STEERING EFFORT (NO POWER ASSIST) OF THE VEHICLE WHICH NEEDED TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIR. FORTUNATELY, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT BEING DRIVEN AT THAT TIME AND WAS PARKED AT THE TIME OF THE FAILURE. IN ADDITION, A DRIVER ALERT WAS OBSERVED THAT INIDICATED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK HAD FAILED AND WARNED TO SERVICE THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM. AN ATTEMPT WAS MADE TO RESET THE SYSTEM BUT THE MESSAGE RETURNED AGAIN AFTER RESTART AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WAS NOT FUNCTIONING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE FORD DEALER WHO INDICATED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK HAD FAILED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. TOTAL REPLACEMENT COST WAS IN EXCESS OF $1500.00. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAD 39000 MILES INIDCATED ON THE ODOMETER. THIS IS VERY SIMILAR TO REPORTS OF THE FAILURES ON SEDAN VEHICLES INSTALLED WITH SIMILARLY DESIGNED POWER STEERING RACKS. IT IS RECOMMENDED TO NHTSA, THAT THE RECALL/INVESTIGATION OF THIS ISSUE WITH SEDANS BE EXPANDED TO INCLUDE FORD LIGHT TRUCKS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds