Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 877 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (143) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (82) Fuel Propulsion System (50) Seats (7) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (106)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (101) Suspension (6) Visibility (44)
Engine (322) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (46)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (195) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - MACEO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK, LOST POWER, AND SLOWED DOWN WITHOUT WARNING WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A RECALL AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE RECALL INFORMATION WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2016 - WORLAND, WY
I NOTICED MY 2011 FORD F-150 WAS RUNNING ROUGH. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED A CRACKED 3 CYLINDER HEAD. IN THE BEGINNING IT WAS A BLOWN 3RD CYLINDER HEAD AND WAS GOING TO COST $5,000 TO REPLACE THE CYLINDER AND LOOK AT THE REST OF THE ENGINE. ENDED UP BEING A CRACKED CYLINDER. NOW LOOKING AT A NEW ENGINE TO THE TUNE OF $8000. THIS HAS A 5.4 LITER TRITON ENGINE WITH LESS THAN 137,000 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT IT IN 2013 WITH 500 MILES ON IT. 90% OF MILES ARE HIGHWAY. I EXPECTED TO GET AT LEAST 175,000 MILES OUT OF IT. I REMEMBER HEARING A LOUD POP WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD BUT THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK THROWN UP FROM A TIRE. THE ENGINE RAN FINE AND I DIDN'T NOTICE ANYTHING. UNTIL A FEW WEEKS LATER WHEN IT WAS RUNNING ROUGH. I HAD THE SPARK PLUGS CHANGED AT A LITTLE OVER A 100,000 MILES AS RECOMMENDED. MY BELIEF IS THAT THE #3 SPARK PLUG BLEW CAUSING THE DAMAGE TO THE #3 CYLINDER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - WELCH, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE SPEEDOMETER GAUGE FAILED AND THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER ALTHOUGH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS BEING DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE JERKED BEFORE RESUMING NORMAL ACCELERATION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OUTPUT SHAFT SPEED SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000. UPDATED 08/02/16

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/22/2016 - RENO, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED IN EXCESS OF 80 MPH. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE BY SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL AND SHUTTING OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000. UPDATED 08/16/16

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/22/2016 - LITTLETON, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/17/2016 - MT PLEASANT, PA
TRANSMISSION LEAD FRAME NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, HOWEVER, WAS NOT INCLUDED AS PART OF THE RECALL OF 2011 F-150 LEAD FRAME. APPARENTLY, THE TRANSMISSION "NUMBER" IS DIFFERENT FROM THE RECALLED VERSION, HOWEVER, SINCE ONE TRANSMISSION WAS RECALLED, NOT SURE WHY ALL 2011 MODELS WERE NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. WE WERE FORCED TO INCUR OUT OF POCKET COSTS WHICH WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED IN A RECALL. WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT APPEARED AND THE TRANSMISSION TEMPERATURE APPEARED ON THE DASH SCREEN. TRUCK WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF 5TH GEAR AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO DEALER WHO REPLACED LEAD FRAME.

View Details

ENGINE

6/16/2016 - WAYNESVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTED HARD AND THE VEHICLE JERKED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN MADE ADJUSTMENTS TO THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CYLINDER COIL FAILED AND THE CYLINDER BATTERY PACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. EVENTUALLY FIVE OF THE SIX CYLINDER BATTERY PACKS FAILED AND WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. UPDATED 08/04/16

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/16/2016 - WAYNESVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTED HARD AND THE VEHICLE JERKED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN MADE ADJUSTMENTS TO THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND VIBRATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CYLINDER COIL FAILED AND THE CYLINDER BATTERY PACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. EVENTUALLY FIVE OF THE SIX CYLINDER BATTERY PACKS FAILED AND WERE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. UPDATED 08/04/16

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2016 - SHAWNEE, KS
DRIVING 70 MPH ON INTERSTATE 44 OUT OF JOPLIN, MO WHEN I WAS DRIVING AROUND A SLIGHT CURVE. THE STEERING LOCKED UP. I COULD NOT STEER AT ALL. I SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES TO AVOID CRASHING INTO ONCOMING CARS. IF THERE WAS ANOTHER VEHICLE CLOSE TO ME IT WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT OF REALLY BAD CONSEQUENCES. I WAS LUCKY. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID THE STEERING GEAR WAS CRUSHED. I CALLED FORD FOR AN EXPLANATION AND WAS LITERALLY TOLD THERE IS NOTHING THEY HAVE TO DO. I WANT OTHERS TO KNOW THAT THIS HAPPENED WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER. THE DEALERSHIP IS CHARGING ME 1500.00 PLUS CHANGE TO FIX THIS. I CAN'T SEE HOW I WILL EVER TRUST THAT STEERING AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

6/15/2016 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 98
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds