Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 886 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (146) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (82) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Seats (7) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (106)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (102) Suspension (6) Visibility (44)
Engine (324) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (46)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (196) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/29/2016 - CORAL GABLES, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER, CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP, AND THE REAR WHEELS LOCKED UP. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL COMPLETELY SEIZED AND THE RPMS INCREASED. MULTIPLE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURES RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/29/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THOUSANDS OF FORD F150 OWNERS (20011-2015) BAVE EXPERIENCING WITH ECOBOOST ENGINES MOSTLY WITH MY MOST RECENT ISSUE "TIMING CHAIN STRETCHING CHAIN" AND FAULTY CAM PHASERS, I BELIEVE WE DESERVE TO AT LEAST GET OUR VEHICLES FIX. I STRUGGLE PAYING MY TRUCK AND I CANT PAY 4000 DLLS TO FIX THIS ISSUE THAT I STRONGLY BELIEVE IS A FORD'S NEGLIGENCE. PLEASE HELP US MY NAME IS MANUEL FAVELA 915-7317818

View Details

ENGINE

6/29/2016 - EL PASO, TX
THOUSANDS OF FORD F150 OWNERS (20011-2015) BAVE EXPERIENCING WITH ECOBOOST ENGINES MOSTLY WITH MY MOST RECENT ISSUE "TIMING CHAIN STRETCHING CHAIN" AND FAULTY CAM PHASERS, I BELIEVE WE DESERVE TO AT LEAST GET OUR VEHICLES FIX. I STRUGGLE PAYING MY TRUCK AND I CANT PAY 4000 DLLS TO FIX THIS ISSUE THAT I STRONGLY BELIEVE IS A FORD'S NEGLIGENCE. PLEASE HELP US MY NAME IS MANUEL FAVELA 915-7317818

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/28/2016 - CORAL GABLES, FL
WHILE TRAVELING THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY PUTS ITSELF INTO PARK. THE VEHICLE THEN LOCKS UP THE BREAKS AND SKIDS ACROSS THE ROAD. AFTER SKIDDING THE VEHICLE'S THROTTLE DOES NOT WORK AND THE VEHICLE IS INOPERABLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO (2) YEARS. IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED (70 MPH) ON A LIMITED ACCESS HIGHWAY FACILITY. IT HAS OCCURRED AT STOP LIGHTS. IN ONE INSTANCE WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE CEASED TO OPERATE AND WAS STRUCK BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. LAST WEEK WAS NOTIFIED BY THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURER THAT THEY WERE CONDUCTING A RECALL FOR THE EXACT REASON THAT HAS CAUSED ME PROBLEMS FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS. THE MALFUNCTION HAS CAUSED MECHANICAL DAMAGES TO THE VEHICLE'S SUSPENSION, STEERING, TIRES, AND ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE VIBRATES UNCONTROLLABLY AT ANY SPEED OVER 35 MPH. THERE ARE ALSO RATTLING INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/28/2016 - CORAL GABLES, FL
WHILE TRAVELING THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY PUTS ITSELF INTO PARK. THE VEHICLE THEN LOCKS UP THE BREAKS AND SKIDS ACROSS THE ROAD. AFTER SKIDDING THE VEHICLE'S THROTTLE DOES NOT WORK AND THE VEHICLE IS INOPERABLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO (2) YEARS. IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED (70 MPH) ON A LIMITED ACCESS HIGHWAY FACILITY. IT HAS OCCURRED AT STOP LIGHTS. IN ONE INSTANCE WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE CEASED TO OPERATE AND WAS STRUCK BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. LAST WEEK WAS NOTIFIED BY THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURER THAT THEY WERE CONDUCTING A RECALL FOR THE EXACT REASON THAT HAS CAUSED ME PROBLEMS FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS. THE MALFUNCTION HAS CAUSED MECHANICAL DAMAGES TO THE VEHICLE'S SUSPENSION, STEERING, TIRES, AND ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE VIBRATES UNCONTROLLABLY AT ANY SPEED OVER 35 MPH. THERE ARE ALSO RATTLING INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/28/2016 - CORAL GABLES, FL
WHILE TRAVELING THE VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY PUTS ITSELF INTO PARK. THE VEHICLE THEN LOCKS UP THE BREAKS AND SKIDS ACROSS THE ROAD. AFTER SKIDDING THE VEHICLE'S THROTTLE DOES NOT WORK AND THE VEHICLE IS INOPERABLE. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOR APPROXIMATELY TWO (2) YEARS. IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING AT HIGH SPEED (70 MPH) ON A LIMITED ACCESS HIGHWAY FACILITY. IT HAS OCCURRED AT STOP LIGHTS. IN ONE INSTANCE WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE CEASED TO OPERATE AND WAS STRUCK BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. LAST WEEK WAS NOTIFIED BY THE VEHICLE MANUFACTURER THAT THEY WERE CONDUCTING A RECALL FOR THE EXACT REASON THAT HAS CAUSED ME PROBLEMS FOR THE PAST TWO YEARS. THE MALFUNCTION HAS CAUSED MECHANICAL DAMAGES TO THE VEHICLE'S SUSPENSION, STEERING, TIRES, AND ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE VIBRATES UNCONTROLLABLY AT ANY SPEED OVER 35 MPH. THERE ARE ALSO RATTLING INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/27/2016 - OKEECHOBEE, FL
AS I WAS PULLING OUT OF THE YARD THE TRUCK STARTED SHIFTING FROM 1ST, 2ND, TO 5TH AND THEN BACK TO 1ST GEAR. THE TRANSMISSION SPEED SENSOR WAS REPLACED TODAY AND IT FIXED THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - MACEO, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, THE VEHICLE SHOOK, LOST POWER, AND SLOWED DOWN WITHOUT WARNING WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WAS A RECALL AND THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE RECALL INFORMATION WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 120,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2016 - WORLAND, WY
I NOTICED MY 2011 FORD F-150 WAS RUNNING ROUGH. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED A CRACKED 3 CYLINDER HEAD. IN THE BEGINNING IT WAS A BLOWN 3RD CYLINDER HEAD AND WAS GOING TO COST $5,000 TO REPLACE THE CYLINDER AND LOOK AT THE REST OF THE ENGINE. ENDED UP BEING A CRACKED CYLINDER. NOW LOOKING AT A NEW ENGINE TO THE TUNE OF $8000. THIS HAS A 5.4 LITER TRITON ENGINE WITH LESS THAN 137,000 MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT IT IN 2013 WITH 500 MILES ON IT. 90% OF MILES ARE HIGHWAY. I EXPECTED TO GET AT LEAST 175,000 MILES OUT OF IT. I REMEMBER HEARING A LOUD POP WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD BUT THOUGHT IT WAS A ROCK THROWN UP FROM A TIRE. THE ENGINE RAN FINE AND I DIDN'T NOTICE ANYTHING. UNTIL A FEW WEEKS LATER WHEN IT WAS RUNNING ROUGH. I HAD THE SPARK PLUGS CHANGED AT A LITTLE OVER A 100,000 MILES AS RECOMMENDED. MY BELIEF IS THAT THE #3 SPARK PLUG BLEW CAUSING THE DAMAGE TO THE #3 CYLINDER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - WELCH, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE SPEEDOMETER GAUGE FAILED AND THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER ALTHOUGH THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS BEING DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE JERKED BEFORE RESUMING NORMAL ACCELERATION. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OUTPUT SHAFT SPEED SENSOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 170,000. UPDATED 08/02/16

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 99
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds