Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 574 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (129) Steering (85) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (55) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (88)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (19)
Engine (256) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (34) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2015 - BATAVIA, OH
HUSBAND USED REMOTE START TO WARM-UP 2011 F-150 WHILE LEAVING WORK. TEMPERATURES WERE IN THE 20'S. AFTER DRIVING ABOUT A MILE DOWN THE ROAD, HE NOTICED THAT THE BACK WINDOW HAD SHATTERED / SPIDER-WEBBED ON THE PASSENGER SECTION. THIS IS A 3 SECTION BACK GLASS, WITH THE SLIDING WINDOW. FORD DEALERSHIP UNRESPONSIVE TO INQUIRY, BUT THAT IS NORMAL FOR THIS DEALERSHIP. WE PAID OUT OF POCKET TO REPLACE THE BACK GLASS / WINDOW.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2015 - CAVE CREEK, AZ
I WAS ACCELERATING TO FREEWAY SPEED WHEN MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE AND MY ENGINE WAS NOT ALLOWING ME TO SPEED UP. IT FELT LIKE DRIVING OVER A WASHBOARD. THE ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN TO FLASH AND CONTINUED TO DO SO UNTIL I PULLED OVER AND STOPPED THE VEHICLE. THE ENGINE LIGHT STOPPED AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE ON HOME. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING MORNING AND THEY REPLACED THE FAULTY SPARK PLUGS. THIS SAME ISSUE HAS NOW OCCURED 3 TIMES IN LESS THAN 3 MONTHS. THE DEALER HAS NOW REPLACED THESE SPARK PLUGS 3 TIMES, TWICE OF WHICH THE ENTIRE SET OF SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED. I AM CONCERNED OVER THIS SAFETY ISSUE SINCE IT ALWAYS OCCURS AS I AM DRIVING AND SPEEDING UP TO GET ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

2/26/2015 - FOREST LAKE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DEFROSTER FAILED TO WORK PROPERLY. THE FAILURE CAUSED THE REAR WINDOW TO FOG, WHICH DIMINISHED THE CONTACT+S VISIBILITY. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS ON THE VEHICLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,625.

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2015 - ATHOL, ID
HELLO, WE WISH TO FILE A COMPLAINT ON THE 3.5 L ECO BOOST ENGINE IN OUR 2011 F150. WE HAVE HAD NUMEOUS ISSUES OF SHUTTERING, LURCHING, "LAG", LOSS OF POWER/LACK OF RESPONSE. WE FIRST HAD THIS ISSUE PASSING A SEMI ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY JULY 2014, NO THERE WAS NO FOG/RAIN. IT IMMEDIATELY SHUTTERED, SHOOK,LURCHED (COUGHED/SPUTTERED) LOOSING POWER AS WE WERE PASSING. WE MADE MANEUVERS TO GET TO THE SHOULDER WHERE IT STRUGGLED TO STAY ENGAGED. WE COULD HAVE BEEN HIT HEAD ON, REAR ENDED, SIDE-BROADED BY THE SEMI OR WORSE, A COMBINATION OF ALL 3. NOT TO MENTION STRANDED. WE HAVE READ OF OTHER ISSUES, LAWSUITS AND COMPLAINTS BEING FILED. THE "SHEILD" DID NOT WORK (WE HAVE IT, INSTALLED 8/2014 & FLASHED COMP) IT HAPPENED AGAIN TWO DAYS IN A ROW LAST WEEK. THE TRUCK HAD NO LOAD EITHER TIME, WHAT IF WE WERE/ARE PULLING OUR TRAILER? (THE REASON WE BOUGHT THIS 60K TRUCK, FORD SAID IT WOULD) NOW THEY CLAIM SPARK PLUGS ARE FOWLED, THAT IS A NEW "FIX". (NOT COVERED) HOWEVER THAT IS A SEPERATE "CARBON TRACKING" PLUG ISSUE, (THE NEXT "ISSUE" COULD BE THE IGNITION PLUGS FOWLING DUE TO CARBON TRACKING FROM THE MOISTURE ISSUE) THE PROBLEM IS NOT PLUGS, THE MAJOR PROBLEM IS MOISTURE! FORD IS NOT ADDRESSING THE MOISTURE PROBLEM CAUSING THE "FAILURE". THEY ARE FIXING SYMPTOMS OF THE ISSUE. THE PROBLEM-MOISTURE IN THE PISTONS WATER & ENGINES DO NOT MIX! THEY HAVE NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM WHICH SHOULD FALL UNDER LEMON LAW. NEXT THERE WILL BE A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT (IF NOT FATAL) DUE TO THE LOSS OF POWER/RESPONSE, WHAT THEN? "..IT WAS OPERATOR ERROR, THEY SLOWED/STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LANE IN TRAFFIC"..TESTS ARE EXACTLY WHAT THEY ARE; TESTS. WE ARE EVERY DAY LIFE; DRIVE THE TRUCK FOR TRANSPORTATION, NOT PETAL-METAL 24/7, "GROCERY GETTERS", VALUE OUR TRUCK. SINCE WHEN ARE OUR LIVES INDISPENSABLE OR NOT IMPORTANT? WHEN IS ANY ONE GOING TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS SAFETY ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE DIES?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/21/2015 - ATHOL, ID
HELLO, WE WISH TO FILE A COMPLAINT ON THE 3.5 L ECO BOOST ENGINE IN OUR 2011 F150. WE HAVE HAD NUMEOUS ISSUES OF SHUTTERING, LURCHING, "LAG", LOSS OF POWER/LACK OF RESPONSE. WE FIRST HAD THIS ISSUE PASSING A SEMI ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY JULY 2014, NO THERE WAS NO FOG/RAIN. IT IMMEDIATELY SHUTTERED, SHOOK,LURCHED (COUGHED/SPUTTERED) LOOSING POWER AS WE WERE PASSING. WE MADE MANEUVERS TO GET TO THE SHOULDER WHERE IT STRUGGLED TO STAY ENGAGED. WE COULD HAVE BEEN HIT HEAD ON, REAR ENDED, SIDE-BROADED BY THE SEMI OR WORSE, A COMBINATION OF ALL 3. NOT TO MENTION STRANDED. WE HAVE READ OF OTHER ISSUES, LAWSUITS AND COMPLAINTS BEING FILED. THE "SHEILD" DID NOT WORK (WE HAVE IT, INSTALLED 8/2014 & FLASHED COMP) IT HAPPENED AGAIN TWO DAYS IN A ROW LAST WEEK. THE TRUCK HAD NO LOAD EITHER TIME, WHAT IF WE WERE/ARE PULLING OUR TRAILER? (THE REASON WE BOUGHT THIS 60K TRUCK, FORD SAID IT WOULD) NOW THEY CLAIM SPARK PLUGS ARE FOWLED, THAT IS A NEW "FIX". (NOT COVERED) HOWEVER THAT IS A SEPERATE "CARBON TRACKING" PLUG ISSUE, (THE NEXT "ISSUE" COULD BE THE IGNITION PLUGS FOWLING DUE TO CARBON TRACKING FROM THE MOISTURE ISSUE) THE PROBLEM IS NOT PLUGS, THE MAJOR PROBLEM IS MOISTURE! FORD IS NOT ADDRESSING THE MOISTURE PROBLEM CAUSING THE "FAILURE". THEY ARE FIXING SYMPTOMS OF THE ISSUE. THE PROBLEM-MOISTURE IN THE PISTONS WATER & ENGINES DO NOT MIX! THEY HAVE NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM WHICH SHOULD FALL UNDER LEMON LAW. NEXT THERE WILL BE A TERRIBLE ACCIDENT (IF NOT FATAL) DUE TO THE LOSS OF POWER/RESPONSE, WHAT THEN? "..IT WAS OPERATOR ERROR, THEY SLOWED/STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE LANE IN TRAFFIC"..TESTS ARE EXACTLY WHAT THEY ARE; TESTS. WE ARE EVERY DAY LIFE; DRIVE THE TRUCK FOR TRANSPORTATION, NOT PETAL-METAL 24/7, "GROCERY GETTERS", VALUE OUR TRUCK. SINCE WHEN ARE OUR LIVES INDISPENSABLE OR NOT IMPORTANT? WHEN IS ANY ONE GOING TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS SAFETY ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE DIES?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2015 - EWING, NJ
REAR SLIDING WINDOW DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING AND DRIVER'S SIDE HEATED SEAT ALSO STOPPED WORKING. PRIOR TO HEATED SEAT STOPPING TO WORK, IT BECAME SO HOT IT ACTUALLY MADE MY LEG SO HOT IT HURT. IF I WAS WEARING SHORTS SKIN WOULD OF BEEN BURNT. AT THE TIME SEAT AND DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING I SMELLED WIRES BURNING. GOOGLED THESE PROBLEMS I SAW THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE. TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP, FORD WILL FIX SEAT , BUT IT WILL COST ME $100 DEDUCTIBLE. REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER IS NOT COVERED BY MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. AT THIS TIME WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM FORD. THERE ARE AT LEAST 20-30 COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE ABOUT REAR DEFROSTER, FORD NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECT.

View Details

SEATS

2/20/2015 - EWING, NJ
REAR SLIDING WINDOW DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING AND DRIVER'S SIDE HEATED SEAT ALSO STOPPED WORKING. PRIOR TO HEATED SEAT STOPPING TO WORK, IT BECAME SO HOT IT ACTUALLY MADE MY LEG SO HOT IT HURT. IF I WAS WEARING SHORTS SKIN WOULD OF BEEN BURNT. AT THE TIME SEAT AND DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING I SMELLED WIRES BURNING. GOOGLED THESE PROBLEMS I SAW THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE. TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP, FORD WILL FIX SEAT , BUT IT WILL COST ME $100 DEDUCTIBLE. REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER IS NOT COVERED BY MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. AT THIS TIME WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM FORD. THERE ARE AT LEAST 20-30 COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE ABOUT REAR DEFROSTER, FORD NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/20/2015 - EWING, NJ
REAR SLIDING WINDOW DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING AND DRIVER'S SIDE HEATED SEAT ALSO STOPPED WORKING. PRIOR TO HEATED SEAT STOPPING TO WORK, IT BECAME SO HOT IT ACTUALLY MADE MY LEG SO HOT IT HURT. IF I WAS WEARING SHORTS SKIN WOULD OF BEEN BURNT. AT THE TIME SEAT AND DEFROSTER STOPPED WORKING I SMELLED WIRES BURNING. GOOGLED THESE PROBLEMS I SAW THIS IS A VERY COMMON OCCURRENCE. TOOK MY TRUCK TO DEALERSHIP, FORD WILL FIX SEAT , BUT IT WILL COST ME $100 DEDUCTIBLE. REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER IS NOT COVERED BY MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. AT THIS TIME WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM FORD. THERE ARE AT LEAST 20-30 COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE ABOUT REAR DEFROSTER, FORD NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - MADISON, SD
WE WERE TRAVELLING DOWN THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE RED BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. SHORTLY THEREAFTER LOSS OF POWER STEERING, LOSS OF STABILITY CONTROL (PER DASH INDICATOR), AND LOSS OF POWER BRAKES. I HAVE HAD THE ALTERNATOR REPLACED 2 SEPARATE TIMES SINCE FOR A TOTAL OF THREE (3) ALTERNATORS AS WELL AS ONE NEW BATTERY. NOW TRUCK IS IN SHOP AGAIN FOR SAME MALFUNCTION. 2011 FORD F150 LARIAT. CREW CAB. V-6 ENGINE. ONLY 54000 MILES AND I AM ANTICIPATING MY FOURTH (4TH) ALTERNATOR. I USE THE TRUCK IN NON-MOUNTAINOUS TERRAIN, MOSTLY HIGHWAY FOR ERRANDS, AND RARELY TOW. I BELIEVE A RECALL INVESTIGATION SHOULD COMMENCE.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2015 - MADISON, SD
WE WERE TRAVELLING DOWN THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE RED BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON. SHORTLY THEREAFTER LOSS OF POWER STEERING, LOSS OF STABILITY CONTROL (PER DASH INDICATOR), AND LOSS OF POWER BRAKES. I HAVE HAD THE ALTERNATOR REPLACED 2 SEPARATE TIMES SINCE FOR A TOTAL OF THREE (3) ALTERNATORS AS WELL AS ONE NEW BATTERY. NOW TRUCK IS IN SHOP AGAIN FOR SAME MALFUNCTION. 2011 FORD F150 LARIAT. CREW CAB. V-6 ENGINE. ONLY 54000 MILES AND I AM ANTICIPATING MY FOURTH (4TH) ALTERNATOR. I USE THE TRUCK IN NON-MOUNTAINOUS TERRAIN, MOSTLY HIGHWAY FOR ERRANDS, AND RARELY TOW. I BELIEVE A RECALL INVESTIGATION SHOULD COMMENCE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds