Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1109 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (3) Steering (232) Unknown Or Other (34)
Electrical System (110) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Seats (7) Structure (18) Vehicle Speed Control (111)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes (108) Suspension (8) Visibility (49)
Engine (357) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (53)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (265) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/19/2017 - ST.PETERSBURG, FL
WITH 44,000 MILES ON MY TRUCK THE POWER STEERING LITERALLY JUST STOPPED WORKING ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK. TRUCK IS 6 YEARS OLD WELL MAINTAINED AND LOW MILEAGE. FORD WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED AND TRUCK WAS JUST PAYED OFF A MONTH AGO. CALLED FORD ABOUT ISSUE AND READ ONLINE OF ALL THE ISSUES WITH SAME PROBLEM ACROSSED THE NATION. WAS GIVIN STANDARD SORRY FOR YOUR LUCK IT WILL BE A TOTAL OF $1900.00 TO FIX YOUR PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/18/2017 - COLFAX, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE LIGHTS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED OFF AND ON. THE DOORS MADE A DINGING NOISE; HOWEVER, NONE OF THEM WERE AJAR. IN ADDITION, THE PARKING BRAKE INDICATOR RANDOMLY ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE DOORS FAILED TO LOCK FROM THE INSIDE AND THE CONTACT HAD TO USE THE KEY TO MANUALLY LOCK THE DOORS FROM THE OUTSIDE. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AT A BATTERY SHOP WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE FAULTY BODY CONTROL MODULE DRAINED THE BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO JEFF FORD OF PULLMAN (2590 S GRAND AVE, PULLMAN, WA 99163, (509) 334-6000) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BODY CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/11/2017 - LAKE TAPPS, WA
I WAS DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (70+ MPH) ON A MOUNTAIN ROAD GOING UPHILL IN HEAVY TRAFFIC WHEN THE TRUCK COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN. THE TRUCKS' POWER STEERING, BRAKING, AND MANEUVERABILITY BECAME EXTREMELY CHALLENGING AS I TRIED TO PULL IT TO SAFETY. HOWEVER, WITH IT BEING ON A MOUNTAIN ROAD THERE WAS VERY LITTLE SHOULDER AND PART OF MY TRUCK ENDED UP BLOCKING TRAFFIC SINCE THE TRUCK WAS UNRESPONSIVE. MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD! THE FAULTY COMPONENT THAT CAUSED THIS SITUATION IS THE FUEL PUMP FUSE OVERHEATED CAUSING NO FUEL DELIVERY TO MY VEHICLE. I LATER LEARNED THROUGH SOME RESEARCH THAT FORD MOTOR CO. HAD ISSUED, WITHOUT ALERTING THE PUBLIC, A TSB (15-0137) REGARDING THE FUEL PUMP FUSE. I HAD NO IDEA SINCE THERE WAS NO RECALL ISSUED. IF I HAD KNOWN, THIS VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION COULD HAVE BEEN AVOIDED!!!

View Details

STEERING

7/5/2017 - GREENWOOD, IN
MY PROBLEM IS ALMOST EXACTLY LIKE THE ONE STATED FROM THERMPOLIS WY DATED JUNE 02 2017 I ALSO HAVE 103,000 MILES ON THE TRUCK.I NOTICED ON THE INTERSTATE SPEEDS ABOVE 50MPH THE STEERING CATCHES IN CENTER POSITION CAUSING AN OVER STEER WHEN CHANGING LANES.(VERY DANGEROUS).MY COST TO REPLACE THE ELECTRONIC POWER ASSIST IS $1400

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2017 - LAKE WALES, FL
WHILE DRIVING ABOUT 10 MILES PER HOUR ON A DIRT ROAD MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AS IF THE TRUCK HAD BEEN TURNED OFF, CAUSING ME TO CRASH INTO A TREE. THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS FIRM.AND WOULD NOT DEPRESS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/27/2017 - ANGLETON, TX
THE SPEEDOMETER BEGINS SWINGING ERRATICALLY THEN THE TRUCK AUTOMATICALLY DOWNSHIFTS FROM 6TH GEAR TO 1ST GEAR AT FULL HIGHWAY SPEED (70 MPH) CAUSING THE BACK TIRES TO LOCK UP AND SKID DOWN THE ROAD. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. CONTACTED FORD AND THEY SAID THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND THERE IS ACTUALLY A RECALL ON THIS VERY PROBLEM, BUT NOT FOR MY TRUCK SINCE IT WAS NOT WITHIN THE RECALL DATES BY A FEW MONTHS. TOOK THE TRUCK TO TWO DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS AND THEY SAID THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT, BUT COULD DO THE WORK OUTLINED IN THE RECALL AS LONG AS I PAID FOR IT. SEE ATTACHED RECALL NOTICE FROM FORD'S WEBSITE- FORD ISSUES SAFETY RECALL AND CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM FOR CERTAIN 2011-2012 FORD F-150, AND 2012 FORD EXPEDITION, FORD MUSTANG AND LINCOLN NAVIGATOR VEHICLES IN NORTH AMERICA TO UPDATE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE AND INSPECT FOR CERTAIN DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODES FORD IS ISSUING A SAFETY RECALL FOR APPROXIMATELY 202,000 2011-2012 FORD F-150, AND 2012 FORD EXPEDITION, FORD MUSTANG AND LINCOLN NAVIGATOR VEHICLES FOR A POTENTIAL ISSUE WITH THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR ON THE VEHICLE+S TRANSMISSION LEAD FRAME. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, THE TRANSMISSION CONTROLS COULD FORCE A TEMPORARY DOWNSHIFT INTO FIRST GEAR. DEPENDING ON THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF THE DOWNSHIFT, THE DRIVER COULD EXPERIENCE AN ABRUPT SPEED REDUCTION THAT COULD CAUSE THE REAR TIRES TO SLIDE OR LOCK UP. THIS CONDITION COULD RESULT IN LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. FORD IS AWARE OF THREE REPORTS OF ACCIDENTS AND NO INJURIES RELATED TO THIS CONDITION.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/27/2017 - ANGLETON, TX
THE SPEEDOMETER BEGINS SWINGING ERRATICALLY THEN THE TRUCK AUTOMATICALLY DOWNSHIFTS FROM 6TH GEAR TO 1ST GEAR AT FULL HIGHWAY SPEED (70 MPH) CAUSING THE BACK TIRES TO LOCK UP AND SKID DOWN THE ROAD. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. CONTACTED FORD AND THEY SAID THEY WERE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND THERE IS ACTUALLY A RECALL ON THIS VERY PROBLEM, BUT NOT FOR MY TRUCK SINCE IT WAS NOT WITHIN THE RECALL DATES BY A FEW MONTHS. TOOK THE TRUCK TO TWO DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS AND THEY SAID THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT, BUT COULD DO THE WORK OUTLINED IN THE RECALL AS LONG AS I PAID FOR IT. SEE ATTACHED RECALL NOTICE FROM FORD'S WEBSITE- FORD ISSUES SAFETY RECALL AND CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM FOR CERTAIN 2011-2012 FORD F-150, AND 2012 FORD EXPEDITION, FORD MUSTANG AND LINCOLN NAVIGATOR VEHICLES IN NORTH AMERICA TO UPDATE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE AND INSPECT FOR CERTAIN DIAGNOSTIC TROUBLE CODES FORD IS ISSUING A SAFETY RECALL FOR APPROXIMATELY 202,000 2011-2012 FORD F-150, AND 2012 FORD EXPEDITION, FORD MUSTANG AND LINCOLN NAVIGATOR VEHICLES FOR A POTENTIAL ISSUE WITH THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR ON THE VEHICLE+S TRANSMISSION LEAD FRAME. UNDER CERTAIN CONDITIONS, THE TRANSMISSION CONTROLS COULD FORCE A TEMPORARY DOWNSHIFT INTO FIRST GEAR. DEPENDING ON THE SPEED OF THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME OF THE DOWNSHIFT, THE DRIVER COULD EXPERIENCE AN ABRUPT SPEED REDUCTION THAT COULD CAUSE THE REAR TIRES TO SLIDE OR LOCK UP. THIS CONDITION COULD RESULT IN LOSS OF VEHICLE CONTROL, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. FORD IS AWARE OF THREE REPORTS OF ACCIDENTS AND NO INJURIES RELATED TO THIS CONDITION.

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2017 - CANTON, GA
BECOMES STIFF AND VEHICLE IS HARD TO CONTROL. THIS OCCURS AT LOW SPEED ,HIGH SPEED. WHEN TURNING I HAVE TO MUSCLE THE STEERING WHEEL, THE TRUCK WILL START TO DRIFT OUT OF THE LANE OR TRAVEL AND CONTINUE IN THAT DIRECTION INSTEAD OF RETURNING TO CENTER. I AM ALWAYS CORRECTING THE DIRECTION OF TRAVEL. THE TRUCK WILL TRAVEL IN A STRAIGHT LINE. IT ACTS AS IF THE FRONT END ALIGNMENT IS OUT PULLING THE TRUCK ONE WAY AND THEN THE OTHER ONCE CORRECTED. IT'S ALMOST AS IF YOU ARE FIGHTING THE STEERING. THE ENTIRE TIME IN AM DRIVING MY TRUCK. I HAVE ANOTHER 2011 F150 AND I CAN'T WAIT FOR THAT ONE TO START HAVING PROBLEMS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - NEW BRAUNFELS, TX
I STOPPED TO BACK INTO A PARKING SPOT, BUT WHEN I PUT THE SHIFT LEVER INTO REVERSE THE "R" INDICATION WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE, AND REVERSE WOULD NOT ENGAGE. THIS CAUSED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT INTO ANY OTHER GEAR, THE "PRND" LIGHTS WOULD NOT ILLUMINATE. WHEN THE TRUCK WAS PUT INTO DRIVE, THE GEAR WOULD ENGAGE, BUT IT SEEMED TO BE UNDER LIMITED POWER. WHEN GEARS A CHANGED, THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS VERY HARD. IF THE VEHICLE IS PLACED IN PARK AND TURNED OFF, WHEN IT IS TURNED BACK ON THE GEAR SELECTION ILLUMINATION LIGHT SHOWS, BUT ONCE THE TRANSMISSION IS PLACED IN REVERSE, THE ISSUE REPEATS. A RECALL WAS DONE FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE ON THIS YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL OF VEHICLE, BUT THE VIN DOES NOT SHOW ANY ACTIVE RECALLS.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2017 - WASHINGTON, NJ
DRIVING TRUCK AT HIGHWAY SPEED DECIDED TO MAKE A LEFT HAND TURN , SLOWED TO NEAR STOPPING SPEED AND STARTED TO TURN AND STEERING WHEEL FROZE AND NEARLY CRASHED TRUCK ,COULDN'T BUDGE THE STEERING WHEEL .ACTED AS IF ENGINE TURNED OFF BUT TRUCK WAS STILL RUNNING, I POPPED HOOD DISCONNECTED BATTERY FOR 10 MINUTES HOOKED BACK UP AND STILL NO STEERING, WITH BOTH HANDS I COULD TURN IT MAX 1 INCH IN EITHER DIRECTION, 25 MILES FROM HOME TOOK 2 HOURS AND BACKING UP AND FORWARD SEVERAL TIMES TO EVEN MAKE A VERY SMALL CORNER, UN-SAFE AND DEFINATELY NOT BUYING ANOTHER F-150. TOOK TO SHOP WITH HOIST AND TOOK ELECTRIC POWER STEERING ASSIST APART AND BELT WAS CHEWED AND DESTROYED, CAN'T BUY A BELT ANYWHERE , ALL PARTS AND FORD WANT $1200 TO $1700 FOR COMPLETE RACK ALL IT NEEDS IS A $5SIMPLE BELT TO FIX IT. ANYONE KNOW THE PART # FOR BELT? 2011 F-150 HD TOW PKG 4X4 5.0L EPSA BELT PART #

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds