Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1236 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (4) Steering (261) Unknown Or Other (44)
Electrical System (131) Fuel Propulsion System (58) Seats (7) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (116)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes (112) Suspension (8) Visibility (51)
Engine (376) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (63)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (310) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2018 - RIVERSIDE, CA
I HAVE A 2011 F150 ECOBOOST. WHEN I PUT IT IN REVERSE THE LEVER ON THE TRUCK DOES NOT DIAL REVERSE AND THE TRUCK WONT GO IN GEAR, AFTER ABOUT 10 SECONDS THERE IS A WRENCH THAT APPEARS IN THE DASH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND THE TRUCK IS FINALLY ABLE TO MOVE BACK BUT THE REVERSE LIGHTS WONT WORK WHILE THE TRUCK IS BACKING UP THE REVERSE SENSORS OR CAMERA DONT WORK EITHER MAKING THIS A BIG SAFETY ISSUE. THE TRUCK ALSO EXPERIENSES A MAJOR LOSS OF POWER. AFTER THE WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT APPEAR INDICATING THERE IS AN ISSUE NONE OF THE OTHER GEARS LIGHT UP WHEN I CHANGE TO OTHER GEARS AND IF I PUT IT ON DRIVE THE TRUCK HAS A LIMITED AMOUNT OF POWER. AND STILL WITH THE WRENCH AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON, IF I PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK AND STEP ON THE GAS A LITTLE BIT THE TRUCK WILL ACCELERATE ON ITS OWN FOR A ABOUT 6 ECONDS. THIS ONLY GOES AWAY IF I TURN OFF THE TRUCK AND BACK ON, BUT AS SOON AS I PUT IT IN REVERSE IT WILL HAVE ALL THE ISSUES AGAIN. AND THERE IS NO READING OF THE TRANSMISSION OIL TEMPERATURE EITHER. I CONNECTED A SCANNER TO THE TRUCK TO DIAGNOSE IT AND IT GAVE ME THE CODE: P0705 TRANSMISSION RANGE SENSOR CIRCUIT (PRNDL INPUT) I HAD THE TRUCK SCANNED ALSO BY DIFFERENT SCANNERS AND ALL 3 GIVE THE SAME CODE. THAT CAODE CALLS FOR A BAD TRANSMISSION RANGE SENSOR, BUT I LOOKED AT THE TRANSMISSION AND THERE IS NO SENSOR ON THE SIDE. I CHECKED ONLINE AND THERE ARE MORE PEOPLE EXPERIENCING THIS PROBLEM AND SOME FORD MECHANICS SAY CHANGING THE TRANSMISSION LEAD FRAME WILL FIX THE ISSUE. DEALER SAYS MI VIN DOENST SHOW A RECALL FPR THIS. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE. I AM NIT THE ONLY ONE EXPERIENCING THIS. THE DEALER DID SAY THEIR TRANSMISSION DEPARTMENT WAS BACKED UP THOUGH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2018 - RIVERSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE REVERSE INDICATOR DID NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE BACK UP CAMERA FAILED TO RESPOND. THE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED, THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,986.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2018 - RIVERSIDE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING IN REVERSE AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE REVERSE INDICATOR DID NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE BACK UP CAMERA FAILED TO RESPOND. THE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED, THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,986.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/22/2018 - EVERETT, WA
ABOUT 5 MINUTES AFTER TURNING ON THE REAR WINDOW HEATER, A LARGE BANG SOUND WAS HEARD AND THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR WINDOW PANEL WAS SHATTERED. OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 34F.

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2018 - BIG BEND, WI
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM THE STORE WHEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON SO I CONNECTED A CODE READER AND PULLED A P0016. CRANKSHAFT/CAMSHAFT CORRELATION SENSOR. I TOOK THE TRUCK TO A MECHANIC TO FIND OUT WHAT CAN CAUSE THIS CODE. AFTER CHECKING OUT THE ENGINE THEY FOUND THAT THE PRIMARY TIMING CHAIN IS STRETCHED CAUSING THE PLAY IN THE ENGINE. THIS PLAY CAUSES THE CRANKSHAFT AND CAMSHAFT TIMING TO BE OFF ENOUGH TO CAUSE THIS ENGINE CODE. THIS TRUCK HAS 55000 MILES ON IT AND IN NO WAY SHOULD BE HAVING TIMING CHAIN ISSUES THIS SOON. CLEARLY FORD HAS A PROBLEM WITH THIS TIMING CHAIN AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO SPEND $3,500.00 TO HAVE THIS FIXED. THIS IS A GROWING PROBLEM FOR FOLKS WHO HAVE THESE TRUCKS AND NEEDS TO OFFER A SOLUTION BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2018 - SANTA ROSA BEACH, FL
WHILE MOVING, USUALLY ACCELERATING, THE VEHICLE SHIFTS GEARS AT RANDOM, OFTEN FROM HIGH SPEED (5TH OR 6TH GEAR) DOWN TO A LOW GEAR, THEN BACK TO HIGHER GEAR, THEN BACK TO LOWER GEAR, ETC. THIS CAN HAPPEN SEVERAL TIMES. WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING THE SPEEDOMETER BOUNCES FROM 0 TO ACTUAL SPEED. WHILE THIS IS HAPPENING THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCES BOUNCY, LURCHING MOVEMENT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE DRIVING ON CITY STREETS & COUNTY HIGHWAYS. HAS HAPPENED WHILE TURNING AND WHILE DRIVING IN A STRAIGHT LINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/15/2018 - CARL JUNCTION, MO
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 70-75 MPH, TRANSMISSION SELF-SHIFTED FROM 6TH GEAR TO 3RD GEAR. DAMAGED THE TRANSMISSION AND DIFFERENTIAL, BOTH REQUIRING REPAIR. VEHICLE WAS DIFFICULT TO CONTROL WHE DOWNSHIFT OCCURRED. COULD HAVE CAUSED COLLISION.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/15/2018 - FATE, TX
IT WAS A COLD MORNING AND I SWITCHED ON THE REAR WINDOW HEAT TO CLEAR THE WINDOW. ABOUT 15 MINUTES LATER, AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THERE WAS A LOUD BANG. IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN HAD BEEN DISCHARGED INSIDE THE VEHICLE. ALL DASHBOARD INDICATORS WERE IN THE NORMAL RANGE. AS I LEFT WORK LATER THAT DAY, I NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE REAR WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. ALL OF THE GLASS FRAGMENTS HAD REMAINED IN THE WINDOW FRAME. I BELIEVE THAT THE WINDOW HEAT MALFUNCTIONED AND CAUSED THE REAR WINDOW TO SHATTER. I RESEARCHED THE PROBLEM ON THE INTERNET AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS.

View Details

STEERING

1/9/2018 - CABO ROJO, PR
SUDDENLY STEERING WHEEL LOCK, ADVANCE TRACK SENSOR LIT , EXTREMELY HARD TO TURN , VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE NO RECALL AVAILABLE, BUT TOO MANY ISSUES APPARENTLY WAITING FOR A FATALITY TO HAPPEN BEFORE A RECALL VEHICLE STATIONARY/IN CITY/ HAPPENED 2 TIMES ALREADY I+M AFRAID THIS HAPPEN WHILE IN MOTION. DIAGNOSED RACK AND PINION EPAS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/8/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
I WAS RECENTLY DRIVING ON A CONGESTED INTERSTATE HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WHEN THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE LOST SPEED RAPIDLY CAUSING A DANGEROUS SITUATION WHILE TRYING TO EXIT THE HIGHWAY. THE SYSTEM WENT INTO "SAFE MODE, ALSO KNOWN AS LIMP HOME." THIS MALFUNCTION (FORD CODE P2112) HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES OVER THE LIFE OF THE TRUCK.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 129
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds