Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1185 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (3) Steering (251) Unknown Or Other (41)
Electrical System (123) Fuel Propulsion System (58) Seats (7) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (113)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes (110) Suspension (8) Visibility (49)
Engine (370) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (58)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (292) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 125
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2017 - GOLDEN, CO
THE TRANSMISSION STARTED ACTING UP AND NOT SHIFTING CORRECTLY WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. THE SERVICE LIGHTS ON THE DASH CAME ON AND THE TRUCK WENT INTO LIMP MODE. THE TRUCK HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER, AND THEY STATED IT WAS A FAULTY MOLDED LEAD FRAME. IT SEEMS THERE WAS ALREADY A RECALL INVOLVING THIS PART, AND FORD INITIATED CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM 16N02. HOWEVER ALL PARTIES HAVE STATED THAT MY TRUCK IS NOT COVERED UNDER THIS RECALL, DESPITE IT BEING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE MOLDED LEAD FRAME. I'M HOPING THAT EVENTUALLY THIS RECALL IS EXPANDED AS THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2017 - EUGENE, OR
I HAVE A 2011 F150 WITH 65K MILES. I NOTICED EXTRA PLAY IN THE STEERING AT JUST UNDER 60K MILES. I HAD POWER STEERING MODULE RECALIBRATED. I THOUGHT THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM. APPROX 3MOS LATER I AM HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. LOSS OF CONTROL AT HIGH SPEEDS AND CORNERS. I HAD ALIGNMENT DONE TODAY WHICH DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. DEALERSHIP SAID I NEEDED A $1600 STEERING GEAR REPLACED. THEY COULDNT TELL ME WHY THIS WOULD FAIL WITH LOW MILES UNLESS IT WAS A FAULTY PART. AFTER RESEARCHING CONSUMER COMPLAINTS ONLINE IT LOOKS LIKE THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT ACCIDENTS ON LOW MILE F150S OF THIS YEAR DUE TO STEERING FAILURE. WHEN I ASKED IF THE VEHICLE WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IF I COULD NOT GET THIS PART RIGHT AWAY, ($1600) THEY SAID THAT IT IS NOT UNHEARD OF FOR THE STEERING TO FAIL. THEY COULD NOT TELL ME WHY A RECALL FOR SAFETY HAS NOT BEEN DONE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/15/2017 - CANTON, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW SHATTERED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE OCCURRING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. ATCHINSON FORD (9800 BELLEVILLE ROAD, BELLEVILLE, MI 48111) INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN ANY RECALLS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND CONFIRMED WHAT THE DEALER STATED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/14/2017 - PENSACOLA, FL
I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY TRANSMISSION. IT WILL SLIP FROM 1ST TO 5TH WHEN STARTING OUT. IT WOULD ONLY WORK IF I PUT IT IN MANUAL MODE. WHILE IN MANUAL MODEEVERYTHING ON MY DASH WENT BLANK AND QUIT WORKING. I HAD NOTHING TO GO BY NOT EVEN MY SPEEDOMETER. ALSO IT SLIPPED FROM 5TH TO 1ST WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY CAUSING IT TO LOCK UP AND MY WIFE HIT ME FROM BEHIND. I TOOK IT TO WORLD OF FORD IN PENSACOLA. THEY TOLD ME ABOUT 2 RECALLS. 16S19,16N02, NHTSA RECALL 16V248. MY TRUCK HAS BEEN THERE FOR OVER 10DAYS AND THEY SAID THERE IS NO TIMEFRAME ON WHEN IT WILL BE FIXED. I HAVE A PREGNANT WIFE AND A JOB AND NOW I+M OUT OF MY VEHICLES. THE MANAGER AT WORLD OF FORD FRANK TOLD ME TO DRIVE IT AWAY FROM HIS SHOP THAT THEY WEREN+T GOING TO FIX IT. I CAN+T DRIVE THE TRUCK BY IT+S DANGEROUS. I DO HAVE HIS CONVERSATION RECORDED BY HE WAS TELLING ME TO DRIVE THE TRUCK AWAY AFTER IT LOCKED UP ON ME. NOW I+M TRYING OTHER SOURCES TO SEE WHAT I NEED TO DO. ANYTHING WOULD HELP. I CAN+T AFFORD 40$ A DAY FOR A RENTAL. ESPECIALLY SINCE I FEEL LIKE IT+S A FORD ISSUE NOT ANYTHING I DID. ## VIN PASSED ## FORD F-150 2011 ##

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/14/2017 - PENSACOLA, FL
I HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY TRANSMISSION. IT WILL SLIP FROM 1ST TO 5TH WHEN STARTING OUT. IT WOULD ONLY WORK IF I PUT IT IN MANUAL MODE. WHILE IN MANUAL MODEEVERYTHING ON MY DASH WENT BLANK AND QUIT WORKING. I HAD NOTHING TO GO BY NOT EVEN MY SPEEDOMETER. ALSO IT SLIPPED FROM 5TH TO 1ST WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY CAUSING IT TO LOCK UP AND MY WIFE HIT ME FROM BEHIND. I TOOK IT TO WORLD OF FORD IN PENSACOLA. THEY TOLD ME ABOUT 2 RECALLS. 16S19,16N02, NHTSA RECALL 16V248. MY TRUCK HAS BEEN THERE FOR OVER 10DAYS AND THEY SAID THERE IS NO TIMEFRAME ON WHEN IT WILL BE FIXED. I HAVE A PREGNANT WIFE AND A JOB AND NOW I+M OUT OF MY VEHICLES. THE MANAGER AT WORLD OF FORD FRANK TOLD ME TO DRIVE IT AWAY FROM HIS SHOP THAT THEY WEREN+T GOING TO FIX IT. I CAN+T DRIVE THE TRUCK BY IT+S DANGEROUS. I DO HAVE HIS CONVERSATION RECORDED BY HE WAS TELLING ME TO DRIVE THE TRUCK AWAY AFTER IT LOCKED UP ON ME. NOW I+M TRYING OTHER SOURCES TO SEE WHAT I NEED TO DO. ANYTHING WOULD HELP. I CAN+T AFFORD 40$ A DAY FOR A RENTAL. ESPECIALLY SINCE I FEEL LIKE IT+S A FORD ISSUE NOT ANYTHING I DID. ## VIN PASSED ## FORD F-150 2011 ##

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/12/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I AM HAVING A SAFETY ISSUE WITH MY VEHICLE. WHEN I PLACE THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE OR DRIVE THE VEHICLE DOES NOT GO. THERE IS A DELAY UNTIL IT ENGAGES INTO REVERSE OR DRIVE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AS WELL. WHEN YOU DRIVE THERE IS A HARD SHIFT. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND A LOT OF PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS. I DID CHECK THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CODES AND THE ISSUE IS THE " TRANSMISSION RANGE SENSOR". I AM AFRAID THAT WHILE I AM DRIVING IT WILL DISENGAGE FROM DRIVE AND PUT MY LIFE IN DANGER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/8/2017 - ITHACA, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED WHILE STOPPED AND CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO JIM NAVARRE FORD (2051 W MONROE RD, ALMA, MI 48801), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/7/2017 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE SERVICE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO TOWN EAST FORD (18411 LYNDON B JOHNSON FWY, MESQUITE, TX 75150), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2017 - BAY CITY, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND FAILED TO RESET. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN UNKNOWN RED WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO HAGEN FORD (3980 EUCLID AVE, BAY CITY, MI 48706 (989) 684-4600) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT VALVES WITHIN THE ENGINE CAME IN CONTACT WITH THE ENGINE HEADS AND THE ENGINE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY FOR THE TIMING CHAIN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF THE 24 MONTH COVERAGE BECAUSE IT BEGAN AT 28 MONTHS. THE MANUFACTURER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/4/2017 - LA PLATA, MD
MY V-6 ECOBOOST ENGINE SHUDDERS UPON ACCELERATING, LOSES POWER, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHING ON & OFF. THIS HAS OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES ESPECIALLY WHEN THE WEATHER IS DAMP. MY TRUCK ONLY HAS A LITTLE OVER 75K

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 125
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds