Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 518 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (119) Steering (77) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (46) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (82)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (19)
Engine (239) Fuel System Gasoline (37) Service Brakes (27) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

12/17/2014 - OWEGO, NY
BRAKES WERE DIFFICULT TO ENGAGE DURING EMERGENCY BRAKING DUE TO HARD PEDAL. BRAKING SEEMS MORE DIFFICULT THAN PREVIOUS EXPERIENCE (LIKE HAVING NO BRAKE ASSIST). AFTER SEARCHING THE INTERNET FOR KNOWN PROBLEMS, I VERIFIED A BLOWN VACUUM PUMP FUSE. THE DEALER VERIFIED THAT THE VACUUM PUMP ASSEMBLY WAS SEIZED THEREFORE BLOWING THE FUSE. I FIND IT CURIOUS WHY A MAJOR BRAKE COMPONENT CAN FAIL WHILE NOT SETTING A FAILURE CODE OR INDICATING A FAILURE ON THE FORD DISPLAY PANEL (CHECK BRAKE LIGHT, ETC.). HOW CAN THE VACUUM ASSIST FOR THE BRAKES TOTALLY FAIL ON A 2011 VEHICLE AND NOT TELL THE DRIVER THERE IS A PROBLEM? WHY DID THE VACUUM PUMP FAIL (INTERNAL PUMP BEARINGS LACKED LUBRICANT AND SEIZED DUE TO ATMOSPHERIC MOISTURE) WITH JUST OVER 20000 MILES ON THE TRUCK? WHY WON'T FORD FESS UP THAT THEY SOLD THEIR CUSTOMERS A DEFECTIVE $750.00 PUMP? I GUESS FORD ONLY KNOWS!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/17/2014 - WILLOW SPRINGS, IL
I WAS DRIVING TO THE GYM ABOUT 10 MINUTES FROM MY HOUSE. WHEN I GOT THERE, I PUT MY TRUCK IN PARK, TURNED IT OFF, GATHERED MY THINGS, AND THEN HEARD THIS CRAZY LOUD POPPING/CRACKING NOISE. THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW JUST SHATTERED!!! I HAVE A 2011 F-150 WITH A A REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER AND POWER SLIDING REAR WINDOW. THIS IS THE FIRST WINTER I HAVE LIVED SOMEWHERE COLD AND USED THAT REAR DEFROSTER, WHICH PER SEARCHING ONLINE FOR ANSWERS, APPEARS TO BE THE CULPRIT. I ALSO TALKED TO A FEW GLASS COMPANIES WHEN CALLING AROUND FOR QUOTES TO REPLACE THE WINDOW AND THEY ALL SAID I'M NOT THE FIRST F-150 OWNER WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. GRRR. THERE ARE A COUPLE DOZEN OTHER COMPLAINTS OUT THERE TOO FOR THE EXACT SAME THING FOR THE EXACT SAME WINDOW ALL BEACUSE OF A STUPID REAR DEFROSTER GLITCH. THIS IS RIDICULOUS! I HAD THE WINDOW LOOKED AT TO SEE IF SOMETHING HAD HIT IT AND CAUSED IT TO SHATTER BUT THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF THIS SO I'M BLAMING THE P.O.S. DEFROSTER. THE WINDOW BLEW OUT ON MY WAY BACK HOME SO THERE WAS SHATTERED GLASS IN THE BACK OF MY BED. ONLY $600 TO GET IT FIXED. NO BIG DEAL.. NOT! HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME! >=[ AND THAT WAS THE CHEAPEST QUOTE. I HAD QUOTES FROM $600-$950. OY. THIS IS B.S. ALSO, THE DESIGN OF THIS REAR WINDOW IS TERRIBLE WHEN IT COMES TO REPLACING IT. AS I HAVE RECENTLY FOUND OUT, YOU CANNOT REPLACE THE LEFT OR RIGHT REAR WINDOW BY THEMSELVES. IF THE LEFT AND/OR RIGHT WINDOW SHATTERS (BECAUSE OF A CRAPPY DEFROSTER OR OTHER CRAPPY REASONS) YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE REAR WINDOW, HENCE THE $600 BILL FOR ONE BROKEN WINDOW. IT THE MIDDLE WINDOW BREAKS YOU CAN REPLACE THAT BY ITSELF BUT IF THE WINDOW ON EITHER SIDE BREAKS, YOU ARE S.O.L. I CALLED A FEW DEALERSHIPS TOO TO SEE IF THEY COULD DO ANYTHING. NOPE. NOBODY GAVE A HOOT. BOO FORD, BOO. I WAS SO HAPPY WITH MY TRUCK UNTIL THIS. ONCE AGAIN, >=[

View Details

ENGINE

12/15/2014 - VINITA, OK
LOST POWER DURING ACCELERATION, ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON INSTRUMENT CLUSTER. TRUCK HAD A SEVERE MISS. DROVE ABOUT 20 MIKES IN 5TH GEAR AND ENGINE CLEARED UP AND LIGHT WENT OFF. TRUCK THEN MISSED DURING ACCELERATIONS ALL THE WAY HOME.

View Details

ENGINE

12/13/2014 - FRANKLIN, WI
SINCE NEW, THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD AN ISSUE WITH A LOSS OF POWER WHEN ACCELERATING HARD. THE LATEST INCIDENT, THIS PAST OCTOBER, OCCURED AT APPROXIMATELY 80000 MILES. PLUGS WERE BAD PREMATURELY AND FOUND THAT IT WAS CAUSED BY WATER BUILD UP IN A CAC FOR THE TURBO CHARGERS AND THERE WAS A TSB. I WAS PASSING A CAR AND LOST POWER ALMOST CREATING AN ACCIDENT. THIS TIME, FORTUNETLY, A LIGHT STAYED ON SO THEY COULD DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. THE DEALER DID AN UPDATE PER THE TSB BUT FORD REFUSED TO PAY FOR THE UPDATE DUE TO THE MILES EVEN THOUGH THIS ISSUE HAS OCCURED NUMBEROUS TIMES BEFORE THE WARRANTY HAD EXPIRED. I AM DISSAPOINTED THAT THE NHTSA DID NOT MAKE THE RECALL MANDATORY IN THEIR PREVIOUS INVESTIGATION AS I BELIEVE WATER BEING INJECTED INTO AN ENGINE CAUSING A POWER LOSS AT A TIME POWER IS CALLED UPON IS DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/8/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
I ACCELERATED FROM A STOP AND THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND WENT TO IDLE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON STEADY AND THE ENGINE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE FROM IDLE. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE PAST IDLE. AFTER TRAVELLING ABOUT 1/2 MILE THE ENGINE AGAIN LOST POWER. I AGAIN RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND WAS ABLE TO TRAVEL HOME (APPROXIMATELY 15 MILES). ALL THE WHILE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON STEADY. A SIMILAR EVENT OCCURRED WHILE TOWING A 30 FOOT TRAVEL TRAILER WHILE ON THE I-80 FREEWAY NEAR RAWLINGS WYO.IN JUNE, 2014, ALTHOUGH THAT TIME THE ENGINE SHUDDERED VIOLENTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF. AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY THE LIGHT STOPPED FLASHING AND I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE NORMALLY WITHOUT HAVING TO RESTART THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE SHUDDER HAS OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE AND HAS BEEN REPORTED TO MY FORD DEALER (MISSION VALLEY FORD TRUCK IN SAN JOSE, CA). THE DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE OR CAPTURE ANY COMPUTER DEFECT CODES AFTER DOING A COMPUTER SCAN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/8/2014 - SAN JOSE, CA
I ACCELERATED FROM A STOP AND THE ENGINE LOST POWER AND WENT TO IDLE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON STEADY AND THE ENGINE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE FROM IDLE. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED AND WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE PAST IDLE. AFTER TRAVELLING ABOUT 1/2 MILE THE ENGINE AGAIN LOST POWER. I AGAIN RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND WAS ABLE TO TRAVEL HOME (APPROXIMATELY 15 MILES). ALL THE WHILE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON STEADY. A SIMILAR EVENT OCCURRED WHILE TOWING A 30 FOOT TRAVEL TRAILER WHILE ON THE I-80 FREEWAY NEAR RAWLINGS WYO.IN JUNE, 2014, ALTHOUGH THAT TIME THE ENGINE SHUDDERED VIOLENTLY AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON AND OFF. AFTER PULLING TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY THE LIGHT STOPPED FLASHING AND I WAS ABLE TO ACCELERATE NORMALLY WITHOUT HAVING TO RESTART THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE SHUDDER HAS OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE AND HAS BEEN REPORTED TO MY FORD DEALER (MISSION VALLEY FORD TRUCK IN SAN JOSE, CA). THE DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE OR CAPTURE ANY COMPUTER DEFECT CODES AFTER DOING A COMPUTER SCAN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/4/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE ECOBOOST ENGINE FORD INTRODUCED INTO THE F150 (AND OTHER VEHICLES) IN 2011 SEEMS TO BE HAVING COMMON AND WIDESPREAD PROBLEMS, INCLUDING MY VEHICLE. I FIRST REPORTED THIS ISSUE TO THE DEALER WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND NOW AGAIN AT 63,000 MILES. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS REVEALED UNDER ANY ACCELERATION "EVENT" SUCH AS HIGHWAY MERGING, PASSING, TOWING ETC. UNDER ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE "CHOKES" AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE AS THE DRIVER & PASSENGERS EXPERIENCE THE VEHICLE STALLING, SHUDDERING OR BUCKING. THIS IS OFTEN DESCRIBED AS THE VEHICLE GOING INTO "LIMP MODE" OPERATING ON FEWER THAN ALL CYLINDERS. THE PROBLEMS APPEAR TO STEM FROM DYSFUNCTIONAL INTERCOOLER OPERATION ON THIS TWIN TURBO ENGINE. THERE ARE TWO DIFFERENT SCENARIOS DESCRIBED IN F150 BLOGS. ONE, MOST COMMON, IS THAT THE COOLING OF THE AIR VIA THE INTERCOOLER CAUSES CONDENSATION TO ACCUMULATE INSIDE THE AIR INTAKE. WHEN THE DRIVER ACCELERATES, THE INCREASE IN AIR VOLUME DRAWS THE MOISTURE INTO THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM AND CAUSES THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE, WHICH THE DRIVER EXPERIENCES AS AN ENGINE STALL, BUCKING OR SHUDDERING. THE SECOND SCENARIO REPORTED IS THAT THERE IS AN OVERHEATING OF AIR INTO THE FUEL DELIVER SYSTEM WHICH CAUSES EARLY DETONATION OF THE FUEL MIXTURE IN THE CYLINDERS CAUSING ROUGHLY THE SAME SYMPTOMS. MY VEHICLE REPAIRS ARE COSTING ME ALMOST $700.00 - WHICH WOULD BE MORE IF I DID NOT HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE DEALER IS REPLACING 6 SPARK PLUGS, 4 COIL BOOTS THAT HAVE OVERHEATED AND CRACKED, INSTALLING A NEW INTERCOOLER SHIELD - NONE OF WHICH THEY ARE STANDING BY AS A DEALER COVERED EXPENSE. FORD NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECTIVE DESIGN FOR BOTH CONSUMER SAFETY AND FINANCIAL REASONS. SOMEONE MAY BE KILLED TRYING TO PASS OR ENTER A HIGHWAY AS THEIR VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOOSES POWER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/4/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE ECOBOOST ENGINE FORD INTRODUCED INTO THE F150 (AND OTHER VEHICLES) IN 2011 SEEMS TO BE HAVING COMMON AND WIDESPREAD PROBLEMS, INCLUDING MY VEHICLE. I FIRST REPORTED THIS ISSUE TO THE DEALER WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND NOW AGAIN AT 63,000 MILES. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS REVEALED UNDER ANY ACCELERATION "EVENT" SUCH AS HIGHWAY MERGING, PASSING, TOWING ETC. UNDER ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE "CHOKES" AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE AS THE DRIVER & PASSENGERS EXPERIENCE THE VEHICLE STALLING, SHUDDERING OR BUCKING. THIS IS OFTEN DESCRIBED AS THE VEHICLE GOING INTO "LIMP MODE" OPERATING ON FEWER THAN ALL CYLINDERS. THE PROBLEMS APPEAR TO STEM FROM DYSFUNCTIONAL INTERCOOLER OPERATION ON THIS TWIN TURBO ENGINE. THERE ARE TWO DIFFERENT SCENARIOS DESCRIBED IN F150 BLOGS. ONE, MOST COMMON, IS THAT THE COOLING OF THE AIR VIA THE INTERCOOLER CAUSES CONDENSATION TO ACCUMULATE INSIDE THE AIR INTAKE. WHEN THE DRIVER ACCELERATES, THE INCREASE IN AIR VOLUME DRAWS THE MOISTURE INTO THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM AND CAUSES THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE, WHICH THE DRIVER EXPERIENCES AS AN ENGINE STALL, BUCKING OR SHUDDERING. THE SECOND SCENARIO REPORTED IS THAT THERE IS AN OVERHEATING OF AIR INTO THE FUEL DELIVER SYSTEM WHICH CAUSES EARLY DETONATION OF THE FUEL MIXTURE IN THE CYLINDERS CAUSING ROUGHLY THE SAME SYMPTOMS. MY VEHICLE REPAIRS ARE COSTING ME ALMOST $700.00 - WHICH WOULD BE MORE IF I DID NOT HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE DEALER IS REPLACING 6 SPARK PLUGS, 4 COIL BOOTS THAT HAVE OVERHEATED AND CRACKED, INSTALLING A NEW INTERCOOLER SHIELD - NONE OF WHICH THEY ARE STANDING BY AS A DEALER COVERED EXPENSE. FORD NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECTIVE DESIGN FOR BOTH CONSUMER SAFETY AND FINANCIAL REASONS. SOMEONE MAY BE KILLED TRYING TO PASS OR ENTER A HIGHWAY AS THEIR VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOOSES POWER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/4/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE ECOBOOST ENGINE FORD INTRODUCED INTO THE F150 (AND OTHER VEHICLES) IN 2011 SEEMS TO BE HAVING COMMON AND WIDESPREAD PROBLEMS, INCLUDING MY VEHICLE. I FIRST REPORTED THIS ISSUE TO THE DEALER WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND NOW AGAIN AT 63,000 MILES. THE SAFETY ISSUE IS REVEALED UNDER ANY ACCELERATION "EVENT" SUCH AS HIGHWAY MERGING, PASSING, TOWING ETC. UNDER ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE "CHOKES" AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE AS THE DRIVER & PASSENGERS EXPERIENCE THE VEHICLE STALLING, SHUDDERING OR BUCKING. THIS IS OFTEN DESCRIBED AS THE VEHICLE GOING INTO "LIMP MODE" OPERATING ON FEWER THAN ALL CYLINDERS. THE PROBLEMS APPEAR TO STEM FROM DYSFUNCTIONAL INTERCOOLER OPERATION ON THIS TWIN TURBO ENGINE. THERE ARE TWO DIFFERENT SCENARIOS DESCRIBED IN F150 BLOGS. ONE, MOST COMMON, IS THAT THE COOLING OF THE AIR VIA THE INTERCOOLER CAUSES CONDENSATION TO ACCUMULATE INSIDE THE AIR INTAKE. WHEN THE DRIVER ACCELERATES, THE INCREASE IN AIR VOLUME DRAWS THE MOISTURE INTO THE FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM AND CAUSES THE ENGINE TO MISFIRE, WHICH THE DRIVER EXPERIENCES AS AN ENGINE STALL, BUCKING OR SHUDDERING. THE SECOND SCENARIO REPORTED IS THAT THERE IS AN OVERHEATING OF AIR INTO THE FUEL DELIVER SYSTEM WHICH CAUSES EARLY DETONATION OF THE FUEL MIXTURE IN THE CYLINDERS CAUSING ROUGHLY THE SAME SYMPTOMS. MY VEHICLE REPAIRS ARE COSTING ME ALMOST $700.00 - WHICH WOULD BE MORE IF I DID NOT HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY. THE DEALER IS REPLACING 6 SPARK PLUGS, 4 COIL BOOTS THAT HAVE OVERHEATED AND CRACKED, INSTALLING A NEW INTERCOOLER SHIELD - NONE OF WHICH THEY ARE STANDING BY AS A DEALER COVERED EXPENSE. FORD NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DEFECTIVE DESIGN FOR BOTH CONSUMER SAFETY AND FINANCIAL REASONS. SOMEONE MAY BE KILLED TRYING TO PASS OR ENTER A HIGHWAY AS THEIR VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOOSES POWER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/4/2014 - STILLWATER, MN
BRAKES ARE ROCK HARD IN THE MORNING AND VEHICLE IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STOP. CALLED LOCAL FORD DEALER AND AT FIRST DIDN'T ACKNOWLEDGE AN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE. CALLED THEM BACK IN A COUPLE WEEKS, SINCE THEY DIDN'T CALL ME BACK. THEY SAID I NEED A VACUUM PUMP WITHOUT EVER LOOKING AT THE VEHICLE. SAID THEY WOULD COVER THE REPAIR UNDER WARRANTY SINCE I WAS ABOUT 8 MONTHS PAST THE 3 YEARS, EVEN THOUGH I WAS UNDER THE 60,000 MILES. THEY QUOTED A COST OF OVER $700 DOLLARS TO FIX IT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds