Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 848 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (135) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (80) Fuel Propulsion System (49) Seats (7) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (104)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (100) Suspension (6) Visibility (43)
Engine (315) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (46)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (183) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/28/2016 - VALENCIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED ERRATICALLY CAUSING FOR THE VEHICLE TO LUNGE FORWARD. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AND THE DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE DOWNSHIFTING WAS A NORMAL FUNCTION OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE SINCE IT WAS PURCHASED IN 2011. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A MANUFACTURERS RECALL RELATED TO THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/25/2016 - TAHLEQUAH, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT INTO GEAR AS THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN MADE THE CONTACT AWARE THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V190000 (EXTERIOR LIGHTING , POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2016 - FRISCO, TX
#1: DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SEMI; VEHICLE LOST POWER AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND WE HAD TO COAST TO A STOP. THIS HAS ACTUALLY HAPPENED TWICE. THE FIRST TIME THEY REPLACED THE INTERCOOLER AND THE SECOND TIME I REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS. IT OCCURRED ABOUT THREE WEEKS AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE IT'S REGULAR SERVICE. IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE GAPS ON THE PLUGS, AND THEY KNEW CARS WERE LOSING POWER BECAUSE OF IT, THEN THEY SHOULD HAVE MENTIONED THAT AT THE SERVICE! #2: DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND SPEEDOMETER JUMPED AROUND AND WENT TO ZERO. AFTER I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY, I LOST POWER AND HAD ERRATIC SHIFTING WHILE TRYING TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION. THERE'S A TSB OUT FOR THIS TOO!! WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL IF THERE'S A DEFECTIVE PART THAT CREATES DANGEROUS SITUATIONS!?!?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2016 - FRISCO, TX
#1: DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SEMI; VEHICLE LOST POWER AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND WE HAD TO COAST TO A STOP. THIS HAS ACTUALLY HAPPENED TWICE. THE FIRST TIME THEY REPLACED THE INTERCOOLER AND THE SECOND TIME I REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS. IT OCCURRED ABOUT THREE WEEKS AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE IT'S REGULAR SERVICE. IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE GAPS ON THE PLUGS, AND THEY KNEW CARS WERE LOSING POWER BECAUSE OF IT, THEN THEY SHOULD HAVE MENTIONED THAT AT THE SERVICE! #2: DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND SPEEDOMETER JUMPED AROUND AND WENT TO ZERO. AFTER I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY, I LOST POWER AND HAD ERRATIC SHIFTING WHILE TRYING TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION. THERE'S A TSB OUT FOR THIS TOO!! WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL IF THERE'S A DEFECTIVE PART THAT CREATES DANGEROUS SITUATIONS!?!?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/23/2016 - FRISCO, TX
#1: DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE, ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SEMI; VEHICLE LOST POWER AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND WE HAD TO COAST TO A STOP. THIS HAS ACTUALLY HAPPENED TWICE. THE FIRST TIME THEY REPLACED THE INTERCOOLER AND THE SECOND TIME I REPLACED THE SPARK PLUGS. IT OCCURRED ABOUT THREE WEEKS AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE IT'S REGULAR SERVICE. IF THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE GAPS ON THE PLUGS, AND THEY KNEW CARS WERE LOSING POWER BECAUSE OF IT, THEN THEY SHOULD HAVE MENTIONED THAT AT THE SERVICE! #2: DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND SPEEDOMETER JUMPED AROUND AND WENT TO ZERO. AFTER I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY, I LOST POWER AND HAD ERRATIC SHIFTING WHILE TRYING TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION. THERE'S A TSB OUT FOR THIS TOO!! WHY ISN'T THERE A RECALL IF THERE'S A DEFECTIVE PART THAT CREATES DANGEROUS SITUATIONS!?!?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2016 - STEPHENS CITY, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, A CLICKING SOUND WAS HEARD FROM THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED. THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE RIGHT INDEPENDENTLY. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED IT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION OIL FILTER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

4/14/2016 - GILLETTE, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN REVERSE, THE CONTACT TURNED ON THE DEFROST AND THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 71,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

4/13/2016 - PONAWANBA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. AFTER THE REAR DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED, THE REAR WINDSHIELD SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

4/12/2016 - LYNCHBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 3 MPH AND BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN WHEN SHIFTED INTO DRIVE. THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AGGRESSIVELY. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN UNDER NORMAL CONDITIONS, THE STEERING BECAME STIFF ONCE AGAIN AND DIFFICULT TO CONTROL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,900.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/11/2016 - EAGAN, MN
I HAVE A 2011 FORD F150 ECOBOOST. I RECEIVED A EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR ISSUES OCCURRING WITH THE ELECTRIC VACUUM PUMP. I HAVE DIAGNOSED AN ISSUE WITH THE BRAKES AFTER STARTING THE TRUCK UP. I STARTED THE TRUCK UP PUT IT IN REVERSE BACKED DOWN THE DRIVEWAY AND LOST ALL ABILITY TO BRAKE AND STOP THE TRUCK. IF THERE WAS A VEHICLE OR INDIVIDUAL BEHIND ME THERE COULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT WHERE INJURY OR DEATH COULD HAVE OCCURRED DUE TO THE INABILITY TO STOP THE TRUCK WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL. I BROUGHT THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP WITH THE ISSUE AND THEY IGNORED THE ELECTRIC VACUUM PUMP STATING THAT IT WAS THE MASTER PISTON AND IT WOULD COST 700 DOLLARS TO FIX. AFTER DOING RESEARCH I BELIEVE I WAS LIED TOO AFTER OTHERS HAVE REENACTED THE SAME SITUATION THAT HAS OCCURRED TO ME. IF THE BRAKING ISSUE OCCURS MORE THAN ONCE I WILL ESCALATE THIS ISSUE TO HIGHER AUTHORITY INDIVIDUALS AT FORD. THIS ISSUE MUST BE FIXED BEFORE INJURY, DEATH OR LITIGATION OCCURS.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds