Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 561 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (128) Steering (81) Unknown Or Other (29)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (87)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (6) Suspension (5) Visibility (19)
Engine (252) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (32) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/10/2015 - DEERFIELD BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPARK PLUGS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,500.

View Details

STEERING

2/10/2015 - PALEMERTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000. UPDATED 4/20/15

View Details

STEERING

2/7/2015 - INDAIN TRAIL, NC
I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO PULL IN MY DRIVEWAY AND THE STEERING WENT OUT, ALMOST TOOK OUT MY WIFES CAR. SERVICE STEERING NOW CAME ON. PUT THE TRUCK IN PARK, TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED. WENT TO DRIVE ERROR CODE WENT AWAY, AS I WAS BACKING UP STEERING BECAME HARD AND IMPOSSIBLE. SERVICE STEERING IMMEDIATELY CAME ON. MUSCLED THE TRUCK STRAIGHT IN MY DRIVEWAY AND BACKED IT TO THE END. CALLED THE DEALER I BOUGHT IT FROM AND WAS TOLD THAT IM NOT THE FIRST ONE TO COME IN WITH THIS PROBLEM, BUT THERE IS NO RECALL ON IT AND IT WOULD COST ME 1500+ TO REPAIR. I DON'T MAKE A LOT OF MONEY, AND I HAD MY LITTLE BROTHER IN THE TRUCK. HOW IS THIS OKAY? I CANT DRIVE THIS LET ALONE GET TO WORK.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2015 - WESTON , WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE ENTIRE ELECTRICAL CONTROL PANEL FAILED AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2015 - WESTON , WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE ENTIRE ELECTRICAL CONTROL PANEL FAILED AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

1/30/2015 - NEW LENOX, IL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE DEFROSTER FOR THE REAR WINDSHIELD WAS ACTIVATED, THE REAR WINDSHIELD SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,900.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2015 - EVANSVILLE, IN
A WEEK OR TWO BEFORE THE INCIDENT I NOTICED THAT THE LIGHT ON THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON NO LONGER TURNED ON WHEN THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON WAS PRESSED. I WASN'T SURE IF THE REAR DEFROST WAS WORKING OR NOT. ON THE MORNING OF THE INCIDENT IT WAS COOL OUTSIDE AND THE WINDOWS WERE FROSTY. I PRESSED THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON AFTER STARTING THE TRUCK AND IT ONCE AGAIN DID NOT LIGHT UP. I STARTED DRIVING TO WORK WITH MY TWO KIDS IN THE BACK SEAT. AFTER DRIVING A COUPLE MILES I HEARD A LOUD NOISE AS IF SOMETHING HAD HIT THE TRUCK. I LOOKED IN ALL THE MIRRORS TO FIND WHAT HAD HIT THE TRUCK AND NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. IT HADN'T FALLEN OUT OF THE FRAME, BUT WAS SPIDER-WEBBED THROUGHOUT. WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID HE HAD SEEN 5 OTHER 2010-2011 F-150'S JUST THIS WINTER WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE. FROM OTHER COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE READ THE WINDOW DOES SOMETIMES SHATTER OUT OF THE FRAME AND INTO THE CAB OF THE TRUCK. IF IT HAD DONE SO IN THIS INSTANCE IT WOULD HAVE FALLEN IN THE FACE OF MY 11-MONTH OLD SON SITTING DIRECTLY UNDER IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/30/2015 - EVANSVILLE, IN
A WEEK OR TWO BEFORE THE INCIDENT I NOTICED THAT THE LIGHT ON THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON NO LONGER TURNED ON WHEN THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON WAS PRESSED. I WASN'T SURE IF THE REAR DEFROST WAS WORKING OR NOT. ON THE MORNING OF THE INCIDENT IT WAS COOL OUTSIDE AND THE WINDOWS WERE FROSTY. I PRESSED THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON AFTER STARTING THE TRUCK AND IT ONCE AGAIN DID NOT LIGHT UP. I STARTED DRIVING TO WORK WITH MY TWO KIDS IN THE BACK SEAT. AFTER DRIVING A COUPLE MILES I HEARD A LOUD NOISE AS IF SOMETHING HAD HIT THE TRUCK. I LOOKED IN ALL THE MIRRORS TO FIND WHAT HAD HIT THE TRUCK AND NOTICED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. IT HADN'T FALLEN OUT OF THE FRAME, BUT WAS SPIDER-WEBBED THROUGHOUT. WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID HE HAD SEEN 5 OTHER 2010-2011 F-150'S JUST THIS WINTER WITH THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. THIS SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE. FROM OTHER COMPLAINTS THAT I'VE READ THE WINDOW DOES SOMETIMES SHATTER OUT OF THE FRAME AND INTO THE CAB OF THE TRUCK. IF IT HAD DONE SO IN THIS INSTANCE IT WOULD HAVE FALLEN IN THE FACE OF MY 11-MONTH OLD SON SITTING DIRECTLY UNDER IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/30/2015 - RHINEBECK, NY
REAR LEFT WINDOW SPIDER WEBBED, THE SHATTERED, WHILE DEFROSTING, IT WAS -4 OUT. THE MIDDLE WINDOW, SLIDER, AND REAR RIGHT ARE OK, BUT ENTIRE UNIT MUST BE REPLACED. OUTER GLASS NOW FALLING OFF INSIDE GLASS OK. I THINK IT MIGHT BE A COMMON PROBLEM AS I KNOW ONE OTHER WHO HAD THE SAME HAPPEN, BUT UNDER WARRANTY FIRST WINTER. I HAVE FOUND MANY SIMILAR ON INTERNET. DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE RECALL. $800 REPAIR..

View Details

ENGINE

1/29/2015 - CARROLLTON, GA
MY VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH THE 3.5 LITER ECOBOOST 6 CYLINDER ENGINE. UPON ATTEMPTING TO PASS A VEHICLE WHILE TRAVELING AT FREEWAY SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO HESITATE AND THE ENGINE FELT ROUGH. THE VEHICLE REFUSED TO ACCELERATE, CAUSING ME TO SWERVE BACK INTO THE RIGHT LANE TO AVOID BEING REAR-ENDED BY A VEHICLE TRAVELING IN THE LEFT LANE. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 30 - 60 SECONDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD ACCEPT THROTTLE AND RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. THIS PROBLEM HAS REPEATED ITSELF ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND MY VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE 7TH TIME TO REMEDY THIS PROBLEM. IN ONLY ONE INSTANCE OF THE MANY THAT I'VE HAD, I DID GET A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON. FORTUNATELY, THIS WAS DOCUMENTED BY THE FORD DEALERSHIP AS ONE ENTIRE BANK OF CYLINDERS MISFIRING. ADDITIONALLY, I HAVE BEEN COMPLAINING OF TRANSMISSION SHIFT ISSUES, WHERE AT SLOW (LESS THAN 10 MPH) SPEEDS, THE TRANSMISSION OFTEN 'HUNTS' BETWEEN TWO GEARS AND ONCE SELECTED, A LOUD NOISE EMANATES FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE AND CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO NOTICEABLY JERK I ONLY LEARNED OF NHTSA PE13018 ON 1/28/15. THE FIRST INCIDENT YIELDED INSTALLATION OF THE DEFLECTOR IN THE VICINITY OF THE CHARGE AIR COOLER. ANOTHER INCIDENT YIELDED A TSB TO REMOVE THE DEFLECTOR, AND MOST RECENTLY ANOTHER TSB TO RE-INSTALL SAID AIR DEFLECTOR. IN EVERY INSTANCE OF THIS PROBLEM, I'VE HAD TO EXECUTE EMERGENCY MANEUVERS TO AVOID TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS. THE SERVICE MANAGER AT MY LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP HAS COMMENTED THAT FORD ENGINEERING HAS NO CLUE HOW TO REMEDY THIS ISSUE. MY VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS APPROXIMATELY 75,000 MILES ON IT AND IS COVERED UNDER FORD'S EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds