Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 997 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (1) Steering (181) Unknown Or Other (33)
Electrical System (95) Fuel Propulsion System (53) Seats (7) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (108)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (104) Suspension (7) Visibility (48)
Engine (343) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (50)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (233) Service Brakes Hydraulic (7) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment Adaptive (3)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/14/2016 - SOMERSET, NJ
MY 2011 F150 FX4 HAS BEEN ACTING UP WITH THE TRANSMISSION. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO REPLICATE IT. SO FAR THEY HAVE CHANGED ALL OF TH COIL PACKS, RESET THE TRANSMISSION, CHANGED ALL THE SPARK PLUGS IN A HOPE THAT WAS THE ISSUE. WELL IT'S NOT. THE TRUCK LUNGES FORWARD WITH LOUD BANGS AND GRINDING NOISES. RPM'S GO UP AND DOWN AND THE TRUCK SOUNDS AS IF I DOWNSHIFTED FROM 6TH GEAR TO FIRST. THEN I CAN ONLY GO 40 MILES AN HOUR WITH HIGH RPMS. ENGINE LIGHTS HAVE LIT UP AND NOW A WRENCH. THIS IS CRAZY MY GAUGES DON'T WORK THIS IS DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/14/2016 - SOMERSET, NJ
MY 2011 F150 FX4 HAS BEEN ACTING UP WITH THE TRANSMISSION. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES AND THE DEALER IS UNABLE TO REPLICATE IT. SO FAR THEY HAVE CHANGED ALL OF TH COIL PACKS, RESET THE TRANSMISSION, CHANGED ALL THE SPARK PLUGS IN A HOPE THAT WAS THE ISSUE. WELL IT'S NOT. THE TRUCK LUNGES FORWARD WITH LOUD BANGS AND GRINDING NOISES. RPM'S GO UP AND DOWN AND THE TRUCK SOUNDS AS IF I DOWNSHIFTED FROM 6TH GEAR TO FIRST. THEN I CAN ONLY GO 40 MILES AN HOUR WITH HIGH RPMS. ENGINE LIGHTS HAVE LIT UP AND NOW A WRENCH. THIS IS CRAZY MY GAUGES DON'T WORK THIS IS DANGEROUS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2016 - WEST HAVEN, CT
INTER COOLER ISSUE. VEHICLE BUCKED AND DIED, BROUGHT TO DEALER, REPAIRED TWO COILS, DIED ON HIGHWAY ON WAY HOME FROM JUST PICKING UP. BROUGHT BACK TO DEALER, THEY SAID NOTHING WRONG. TWO DAYS LATER, DIED AGAIN. BROUGHT TO AUTO ZONE AND GOT DIAGNOSED ANITGER BAD COIL. I REPLACED THAT. NIW ONE WEEK LATER, VEHICLE BUCKS AND JERKS ON HIGHWAY.HAVE FOUND MANY COMPLAINTS AND SAY IT'S CONDENSATION IN INTER COOLER SYSTEM.FORD CLAIMS NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS PROBLEM OR REPAIRS OTHER THINGS AND PROBLEM PERSISTS. SYSTEM IS FILLED WAS FILLED WITH CONDENSATION. DANGEROUS AS VEHICLE CONTINUED TO BUCK AND NOT ACCELERATE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/12/2016 - MARIETTA, GA
WHEN TAKING MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR, THE TRANSMISSION WILL AUTOMATICALLY DOWN SHIFT TO AN INAPPROPRIATE GEAR, MOSTLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS , ALTHOUGH IT HAS HAPPENED IN CITY DRIVING. ( I.E.70 MPH TO 4TH GEAR, 55 MPH TO 2ND. ETC.) NOW, ALL THIS DOWNSHIFTING HAS CAUSED THE TRANS TO SLIP, NOT GO IMMEDIATELY INTO GEAR, ETC. FORD HAS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE BUT SAYS MY TRUCK WAS BUILT BEFORE THEY STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS, SO IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

12/9/2016 - BEND, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. AFTER THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED, THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE CASING OF THE HEATING ELEMENT AND THE SHATTERED AREA OF THE WINDOW CONTAINED BURN MARKS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2016 - PLUMSTEADVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A DRASTIC REDUCTION IN SPEED WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT ANY RATE OF SPEED. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED TWICE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER A THIRD TIME. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOR A MANUFACTURER RECALL, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/6/2016 - COTO DE CAZA, CA
COMPLAINT OUR 2011 FORD F150 HAD AN INVOLUNTARY AIRBAG DEPLOY ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER FURTHER REVIEW FROM THE FORD DEALER THEY MAINTAIN THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT THE CAUSE IS. CURRENTLY FORD IS REVIEWING HOWEVER, WILL NOT RESPOND TO WHEN THE EVALUATION WILL TAKE PLACE OR HOW LONG THE EVALUATION WILL TAKE AND THAT FORD COUNCIL IS "REVIEWING" HOWEVER, THEY WILL NOT TELL US WHEN WE CAN EXPECT A RESPONSE OR REMEDY IF AT ALL. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WILL NOT START AND FORD DEALER AND FORD CORPORATE ARE TELLING US, THOUGHT THE VEHICLE DOES HAVE A SHORT IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND THERE ARE MELTED WIRES THAT COULD HAVE CAUGHT FIRE HAD WE NOT STOPPED THE VEHICLE, THEY ARE NOT SURE THE PREMATURE AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT AND THE SHORT CIRCUIT OF THE WIRING ARE RELATED. THOUGH THE INCIDENT HAPPENED AT THE SAME TIME THE FORD DEALER MAINTAINS THAT THEY ARE NOT CONVINCED THAT IT FAILURES ARE RELATED. WE WERE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY OUT OF STATE FROM WHERE WE LIVE AND THE DEALER WAS OVER HUNDRED MILES FROM THE OCCURRENCE AND IT HAS NOW BEEN 7 DAYS AT THE DEALER WITH NO RESOLVE OFFERED NOT DO WE KNOW WHEN WE MIGHT HEAR BACK. CURRENTLY THE DEALER REFUSES TO WORK ON THE TRUCK UNTIL THEY HEAR FROM FORD AND FORD TOLD US IT IS UNDER REVIEW WITH LEGAL AND NO ACTIONS WILL BE DONE UNTIL "LEGAL COUNCIL" HAS REVIEWED. WE HAVE A CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE AND WE CALL DAILY AND IT APPEARS THAT THERE HAVE BEEN OTHER WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. CAN WE OBTAIN HOW THIS WAS RESOLVED?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2016 - COLLIERVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2011 FORD F150 PLATINUM ON A DARK CHILLY MORNING, THE WINDOWS AND OUTSIDE MIRRORS WERE FOGGED SO I HAD THE REAR DEFROSTER TURNED ON. I HEARD A LOUD NOISE THAT I THOUGHT WAS A GUNSHOT. I LATER NOTICED THAT THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE REAR WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. THIS GLASS WAS IN PLACE BUT CRACKED INTO THOUSANDS OF PIECES. I CALLED FORD AND THEY SAID THAT THEY HAD NO INFORMATION ON THIS PROBLEM, THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AT 75000 MILES SO THEY WOULD OFFER NO ASSISTANCE. I SEE THAT THERE ARE NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS FOR THE EXACT SAME ISSUE. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY AN MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND SHOULD BE CORRECTED BEFORE THIS CAUSES A SERIOUS INCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/28/2016 - LEE'S SUMMIT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE GEAR SHIFTER INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED GEARS WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED RANDOMLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING HARNESS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 111,476.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/28/2016 - PILESGROVE, NJ
STEERING LOCK UP WHILE DRIVING. WHILE MAKING A SHARP LEFT TURN IN A PARKING LOT THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP MOMENTARILY THEN BECAME HARD TO TURN. AT THE SAME TIME I HEARD A LOUD GRINDING OR BUZZING SOUND AND THE 'SERVICE ADVANCE TRAK' LIGHT CAME ON. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED 150 MILES TO MY MECHANIC. MY MECHANIC CONFERRED WITH THE LOCAL FORD DEALER AND DETERMINED THAT THE RACK AND PINION HAD TO BE REPLACE. TRUCK HAS 57,000 MILES ON IT. MY MECHANIC EXPECTED THE PART TO TAKE UP TO A WEEK TO ARRIVE BUT IT WAS DELIVERED THE SAME DAY. DEALER HAD SEVERAL UNITS IN STOCK. SEEMS STRANGE TO HAVE THAT MANY OF THIS P[ART IN STOCK UNLESS THERE IS A DESIGN OR MANUFACTURING FLAW THAT FORD HAS NOT DECLARED. I CHECKED THE F150 ONLINE FORUMS AND THERE ARE MANY REFERENCES TO THIS PROBLEM. NOT SURE WHAT IT TAKES TO MAKE A RECALL HAPPEN BUT GIVEN THE SEEMINGLY HIGH NUMBER OF OWNERS AFFECTED BY THIS FORD SHOULD DO SOMETHING TO HELP. THIS COST $1745 TO FIX (INCLUDING TOW) AND CREATED A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds