Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 740 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (149) Steering (116) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (73) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (1) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (95)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (44) Seats (7) Suspension (5) Visibility (32)
Engine (287) Fuel System Gasoline (41) Service Brakes (96) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (38)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/23/2015 - LOVELAND, CO
I WAS PULLING INTO A DRIVE AND MY BRAKE PEDAL WENT ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. LUCKILY THERE WAS NOT A CAR IN FRONT OF ME, HOWEVER IT TOOK MUCH LONGER TO STOP THE TRUCK. MY MECHANIC SAID IT WAS THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER...AT 50K MILES, FORD SHOULD COVER THIS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/21/2015 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
ON COLD MORNING (32 DEGREES F), FROST WAS PRESENT ON REAR WINDOW. OPERATOR TURNED ON REAR DEFROST. AFTER APPROXIMATELY 5 MINUTES OF DRIVING, OPERATOR HEARD A LOUD BANG FROM REAR OF VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT REAR WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION THERE WAS A SLIGHT ODOR OF BURNING ELECTRICAL WIRE AND NO SIGNS OF IMPACT.

View Details

STEERING

11/20/2015 - ROY, WA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A STATE HIGHWAY, AND SIGNALED FOR A RIGHT TURN. AS I SLOWED AND BEGAN MY TURN THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM QUIT AND BECAUSE OF THE INCREASED TURNING EFFORT I WOUND UP ON THE WRONG SIDE OF THE ROAD ONTO WHICH I WAS TURNING. A WARNING MESSAGE APPEARED ON MY DASH THAT I HAD A POWER STEERING FAILURE. I MUSCLED THE TRUCK OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTARTED IT. THE POWER STEERING WORKED FOR ABOUT 1-200 FEET, THEN FAILED AGAIN. FORTUNATELY, THERE WERE NO OTHER VEHICLES HEADING IN MY DIRECTION WHEN I WENT INTO THE OPPOSITE LANE. I WAS ABLE TO "MUSCLE" THE TRUCK TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND STOP SAFELY. I GOT THE TRUCK TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT NEED A NEW ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSIST UNIT AT A COST OF $1,600+. THIS SEEMS LIKE A SAFETY ISSUE TO ME. WHAT IF AN INEXPERIENCE DRIVER HAD BEEN DRIVING OR SOMEONE WITHOUT MY SIZE OR STRENGTH?

View Details

ENGINE

11/18/2015 - WYOMING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000. UPDATE 01/13/16 MA

View Details

STEERING

11/17/2015 - MISSOULA, MT
2011 FORD F150 ECOBOOST WITH 23,000 MILES: WHILE TRAVELLING AT SPEEDS 45 MPH AND GREATER, THE STEERING BECOMES DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER OR CORRECT DURING AT SPEED TURNS, (IE. DRIVING ON TWISTING HIGHWAYS). THE LOCAL FORD DEALER INSPECTED THE PROBLEM AND STATED THAT THE EPAS SYSTEM NEEDED REPLACING AND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS UNSAFE AND TO NOT DRIVE IT. THE ESTIMATE CALLED FOR A $1160 STEERING GEAR PART, AND $80 "ADJUST TOE IN" AND LABOR FOR A GRAND TOTAL OF $1370!! AFTER READING SO MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AND RECALLS PRESENT FOR DIFFERENT MODEL YEARS, IT IS CONCERNING THAT THIS IS NOT A RECALL ISSUE FOR THE 2011'S AS WELL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/10/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE STALLED SHORTLY AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTERIOR LINING OF THE FUEL TANK SHED INTO THE FUEL TANK AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT BOTH FUEL TANKS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE CLEANED. TWO YEARS LATER, AFTER THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THE VEHICLE WOULD REQUIRE THE SAME REVISIONS AS BEFORE; HOWEVER, IT WOULD BE PERFORMED AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/10/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE STALLED SHORTLY AFTER THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTERIOR LINING OF THE FUEL TANK SHED INTO THE FUEL TANK AND DAMAGED THE ENGINE. THE DEALER STATED THAT BOTH FUEL TANKS WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE CLEANED. TWO YEARS LATER, AFTER THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THE VEHICLE WOULD REQUIRE THE SAME REVISIONS AS BEFORE; HOWEVER, IT WOULD BE PERFORMED AT THE CONTACT'S EXPENSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/10/2015 - LEAVENWORTH, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE CONTACT NOTICED AN ABNORMAL ODOR AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 22,700.

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2015 - NORMAL, IL
THIS CONCERNS FORD MOTOR COMPANY SAFETY RECALL # 14S09. FORD MOTOR CO. INTERNAL LETTER FROM [XXX]. DATED JUNE 10, 2014 TO DEALERS. A "DO NOT DRIVE WARNING." THIS LETTER APPLIES TO ONLY SELECT 2014 F150 MODELS. MY FORD F150 FX4; 2011 HAS AN "IDENTICAL" PROBLEM WITH THE SAME REQUIRED PART NUMBER AND REPAIR NEEDED. ONLY INSTEAD OF BEING A RECALL IT IS CLASSIFIED AS A REPAIR AT A COST OF $1,641.00. I HAVE DOCUMENTATION FROM A DEALER "UFTRING FORD AUTOMALL" STATING THE IDENTICAL PROBLEM. DATED TODAY NOVEMBER 9, 2015. IN FORD'S LETTER I REFERRED TOO, ABOVE. IT WARNS DEALERS THAT THE EPAS GEAR MOTOR POSITION SENSOR MAGNET MAY LEAD TO IMPAIRED STEERING, LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL, WHICH COULD INCREASE THE RISK OF A CRASH. WHY IS MY VEHICLE NOT COVERED? NOTE: ON THE INTERNET THERE ARE MORE F150 OWNERS COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. A WARNING POPS UP ON THE DASH MONITOR SCREEN. IN BOLD ORANGE LETTERS. "SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC." THIS HAPPENS WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL TO PARK AT A SLOW SPEED. IT APPEARS RANDOMLY WHEN DRIVING AND THE TURN SIGNAL CANNOT WORK. PLUS THE STEERING WHEEL CAN VIBRATE. IF THE RESET BUTTON IS DEPRESSED THE WARNING ON THE SCREEN DISAPPEARS. BUT YOU HAVE TO SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTART IT TO GET THE TURN SIGNAL TO WORK AGAIN AND THE VIBRATION TO END. THE EFFECTED PART # IS: EL3Z3504BE. THE SAME PART NUMBER AND PROCEDURE TO REPAIR THE 2014'S. THIS CAN HAPPEN TO 2011 TRUCKS AT ANY MILEAGE AND OTHER YEARS. FORD EVEN ADMITS IT IS A "DO NOT DRIVE SITUATION." I WANT FORD TO FIX MY VEHICLE AT THEIR COST. IT IS A DEFECT THAT THEY ADMIT TOO. I WOULD UPLOAD THE FORD LETTER. ALSO THE DEALER ANALYSIS. I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO UPLOAD IT. ? IT IS A PDF FILE. PLEASE REPLY THANK YOU. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/9/2015 - BAYOU VISTA, TX
DRIVING STRAIGHT ON HIGHWAY WITH NO OTHER VEHICLES AROUND, BACK GLASS SPONTANEOUSLY SHATTERED WITH NO WARNING AND NOTHING TOUCHING IT. SUSPECT AN ALREADY FAULTY REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER HEATING ELEMENT ON POWER SLIDING REAR PICK-UP TRUCK WINDOW IS AT PARTIAL FAULT. SMELLED OF BURNING ELECTRICAL IN CABIN JUST PRIOR TO BREAKAGE. POOR WINDOW QUALITY AND HEATING ELEMENT AT FURTHER FAULT. ALSO FEEL LIKE I HAD TINY GLASS PARTICLES ALL OVER ME AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 84
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds