Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1580 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (6) Steering (339) Unknown Or Other (69)
Back Over Prevention (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (8) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (141)
Electrical System (160) Fuel Propulsion System (63) Service Brakes (136) Suspension (9) Visibility (56)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (75)
Engine (408) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (478)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2019 - BIGFORK, MT
BEGINNING APPROXIMATELY 9 MONTHS AGO, WHEN I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE, IT BEGAN SUFFERING SUDDEN DOWN SHIFTS. AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS IT WOULD SUDDENLY DROP INTO THIRD GEAR, OR FIRST GEAR, VERY DRAMATIC! VERY SCARY! SOMETIMES IT WOULD GET STUCK IN FIRST GEAR WHEN I PULLED AWAY FROM A STOP SIGN AND, WHILE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, I HAD TO FIND A WAY TO PULL OVER AND SHUT OFF THE CAR AND RESTART IT TO CLEAR THIS FAULT. SOMETIMES THE FAULT WOULD NOT CLEAR WHEN I RESTARTED THE TRUCK. THIS BEGAN HAPPENING MORE AND MORE FREQUENTLY AND I WAS VERY CONCERNED FOR THE SAFETY AND WELL-BEING OF MY FAMILY, WIFE AND TWO CHILDREN. WE PURCHASED THIS AS A FAMILY AND WORK TRUCK AND SUDDENLY WE FELT OUR LIVES WERE IN DANGER DRIVING IT. I LEARNED THERE WAS A RECALL ON 2011 F-150S FOR THIS VERY PROBLEM BUT WAS TOLD MY PARTICULAR TRUCK WAS NOT COVERED IN THIS RECALL. NO REASON WAS GIVEN. I OPTED TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR MYSELF AND IT SOLVED THE PROBLEM. THAT WAS A LITTLE OVER A MONTH AGO AND WE HAVE NOT HAD A SINGLE RECURRENCE OF THE FAULT SINCE I PAID FOR THE REPAIR. DURING A PHONE CALL WITH FORD MOTOR COMPANY I WAS PROMISED BY THEIR EMPLOYEE SHAY, EMPLOYEE NUMBER TO 19116 3, THAT FOR IT WOULD BE FULLY COVERING MY REPAIR. CAS - 17206 574 THEY DID COVER A REPAIR NUMBER ONE NINE S07, BUT THE MECHANIC IN CHARGE AT VALLEY FORD IN KALISPELL MONTANA TOLD ME I NEEDED 16 N 02. ONCE 16 N02 HAD BEEN PERFORMED MY TRUCK NO LONGER HAS SUFFERED ANY DOWNSHIFT OR TRANSMISSION ERRORS. IT IS MY BELIEF THAT MY TRUCK AND MANY LIKE IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE 16N02 RECALL. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2019 - GREENFIELD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO SALINAS VALLEY FORD LINCOLN (1100 AUTO CENTER CIR, SALINAS, CA 93907, (831) 444-4444) TO BE REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD NOT SHIFT INTO THE REVERSE GEAR. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE REVERSE GEAR FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 248,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/15/2019 - LAKELAND, FL
DRIVING ABOUT 80 MILES PER HOUR, THE ENGINE BATTERY LIGHT AND OVERHEATING LIGHT CAME ON, PULLED OVER TO FIND THAT THE PULLEY BY THE IDLER PULLEY CAME OFF WITH PART OF THE ENGINE BLOCK. THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/12/2019 - NEW RINGGOLD, PA
STAYS IN LOW GEAR AND WON'T UP SHIFT. SHUT TRUCK OFF AND AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS IT SHIFTS. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. ONCE IT DID IT WHILE STOP AT A REDLIGHT. WENT TO PULL OUT AND IT WOULDN'T SHIFT OUT OF LOW GEAR. DID IT ANOTHER TIME WHEN I GOT IT IN AND FROM A COLD START ,PUT IT IN DRIVE AND IT WOULDN'T SHIFT OUT OF 1ST GEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2019 - NEW RINGGOLD, PA
STAYS IN LOW GEAR AND WON'T UP SHIFT. SHUT TRUCK OFF AND AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS IT SHIFTS. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. ONCE IT DID IT WHILE STOP AT A REDLIGHT. WENT TO PULL OUT AND IT WOULDN'T SHIFT OUT OF LOW GEAR. DID IT ANOTHER TIME WHEN I GOT IT IN AND FROM A COLD START ,PUT IT IN DRIVE AND IT WOULDN'T SHIFT OUT OF 1ST GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2019 - ARNOLD, MO
ABOUT 30 MPH, LET OFF ACCELERATOR AND A LOUD CLUNK AND JERK HAPPENS. SEEMS TO HAPPEN MORE WITH A SMALL DECLINE

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2019 - THIBODAUX, LA
WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN GETTING ON THEY HIGHWAY WHEN STEERING GOT HARD, MAKING IT HARD TO TURN ALMOST GETTING IN AN ACCIDENT, TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON BUT WENT BACK OFF. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ,WENT BACK OFF. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE FEBRUARY, CALLED LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP BASICALLY WAS TOLD NO RECALL, NO COMPLAINTS, BUT THEY CALL LOOK AT IT AT OUR COST. IT'S GOTTEN WORSE,SINCE THEN GOING AROUND CURVES OR MAKING TURNS IT TAKES FULL STRENGTH TO MAKE THE TURN . SOME TIMES ITS EASY LIKE IT SHOULD BE .BROUGHT IT TO A LOCAL MECHANIC SHOP TO SEE WHAT THEY SAY AND AFTER LOOKING AT IT ,THEY SAID IT NEEDS,TO GO TO DEALERSHIP THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING WITH IT .THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2019 - COVINGTON, LA
MOLDED LEAD FRAME AND OSS REPLACEMENT. I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE MOLDED LEAD FRAME RECALL 16N02. I EXPERIENCED THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL IN MY DRIVEWAY. MY DASHBOARD LIT UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE AND WOULD ONLY DRIVE IN FIRST GEAR. I DROVE TO A MECHANIC THAT WAS CLOSER THAN THE FORD DEALER AND WAS OFF OF BACK ROADS SO I COULD DRIVE IN FIRST GEAR. I PAID FOR THE REPAIR. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE 19S07 WHICH IS FOR PROGRAMMING THE OSS SENSOR. I ASKED TO BE REIMBURSED FOR MY REPAIR AND I WAS TOLD NO BY CRESCENT FORD & TRUCKS. THEY SAID 19S07 IS FOR PROGRAMMING ONLY. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE LEAD FRAME, CONNECTOR, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FLUID, AND THE SPEED SENSOR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/9/2019 - COVINGTON, LA
MOLDED LEAD FRAME AND OSS REPLACEMENT. I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE MOLDED LEAD FRAME RECALL 16N02. I EXPERIENCED THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL IN MY DRIVEWAY. MY DASHBOARD LIT UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE AND WOULD ONLY DRIVE IN FIRST GEAR. I DROVE TO A MECHANIC THAT WAS CLOSER THAN THE FORD DEALER AND WAS OFF OF BACK ROADS SO I COULD DRIVE IN FIRST GEAR. I PAID FOR THE REPAIR. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE 19S07 WHICH IS FOR PROGRAMMING THE OSS SENSOR. I ASKED TO BE REIMBURSED FOR MY REPAIR AND I WAS TOLD NO BY CRESCENT FORD & TRUCKS. THEY SAID 19S07 IS FOR PROGRAMMING ONLY. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE LEAD FRAME, CONNECTOR, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FLUID, AND THE SPEED SENSOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/9/2019 - COVINGTON, LA
MOLDED LEAD FRAME AND OSS REPLACEMENT. I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE MOLDED LEAD FRAME RECALL 16N02. I EXPERIENCED THE ELECTRICAL ISSUE DESCRIBED IN THE RECALL IN MY DRIVEWAY. MY DASHBOARD LIT UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE AND WOULD ONLY DRIVE IN FIRST GEAR. I DROVE TO A MECHANIC THAT WAS CLOSER THAN THE FORD DEALER AND WAS OFF OF BACK ROADS SO I COULD DRIVE IN FIRST GEAR. I PAID FOR THE REPAIR. I RECENTLY RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE 19S07 WHICH IS FOR PROGRAMMING THE OSS SENSOR. I ASKED TO BE REIMBURSED FOR MY REPAIR AND I WAS TOLD NO BY CRESCENT FORD & TRUCKS. THEY SAID 19S07 IS FOR PROGRAMMING ONLY. I BELIEVE FORD SHOULD REIMBURSE ME FOR THE LEAD FRAME, CONNECTOR, AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION FLUID, AND THE SPEED SENSOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds