Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 546 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (125) Steering (79) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (49) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (86)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (19)
Engine (247) Fuel System Gasoline (39) Service Brakes (31) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (27) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/16/2015 - KATY, TX
2011 F-150 XLT WILL NOT GO INTO REVERSE OR OTHER TIMES WHEN YOU PUT IT IN REVERSE THE VEHICLE BEHAVES LIKE IT'S IN NEUTRAL THEN WILL SUDDENLY SHOOT BACKWARDS (DOES THIS IN DRIVE AS WELL-FORWARD). WHEN THIS OCCURS THE BACKUP LAMPS DO NOT ILLUMINATE AND THE BACKUP CAMERA DOES NOT FUNCTION AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL DOES NOT DISPLAY THE WHAT STATUS THE VEHICLE IS IN...IE DRIVE/REVERSE ETC.... I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY MECHANIC WHO IMMEDIATELY INFORMED ME THE VEHICLE WAS UNDER RECALL (NHTSA CAMPAIGN #12V190000). HE PRINTED THE SERVICE BULLETIN AND RECALL INFO. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO FORD WHERE I WAS TOLD MY VIN # DID NOT FALL UNDER THE RECALL DESPITE THE FACT IT'S THE SAME EXACT MODEL TRANSMISSION, VEHICLE, AND ISSUE TO THE LETTER. IT SHOULD BE KNOWN THAT MANY MORE VEHICLES ARE AFFECTED BEYOND THE INITIAL RECALL. THIS HAS THE POTENTIAL TO BE AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS DEFECT AS THE VEHICLE LUNGES BACKWARDS/FORWARDS WITHOUT ANY INDICATION OF THE STATUS OF THE VEHICLE AND WHILE THE VEHICLE'S SAFETY FEATURES ARE NOT WORKING PROPERLY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

1/16/2015 - MIDDLEPORT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED AS THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,562. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

1/16/2015 - MIDDLEPORT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED AS THE DEFROSTER WAS ACTIVATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,562. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/15/2015 - CARLETON, MI
MY 2011 F150 4X4 REAR END LIMITED SLIP DIFFERENTIAL APPEARS TO BE LOCKED UP. AT ABOUT 20,000 MILES MY GAS MILAGE DROPPED FROM 18.4 TO 17.1 AND A WHINING NOISE IS NOW PRESENT FROM THE REAR DIFFERENTIAL. ALSO YOU CAN HEAR THE REAR TIRES SKIP DURING SLOW TURNS AT CORNERS OR IN PARKING LOTS.

View Details

STEERING

1/7/2015 - MONROE, LA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AND THE SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MODULE AND THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,308. DJR

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

1/7/2015 - PENSACOLA , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOW DEFOGGER OVERHEATED AND CAUSED THE WIRES AND REAR SEAT RUBBER FRAME TO BURN. THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE REAR DOOR AND ONCE OPENED, CAUSING THE REAR WINDOW TO SHATTER. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED BUT A REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR WINDOW DEFOGGER SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,700.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

1/6/2015 - HENNING, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, A LOUD POPPING NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. AFTER INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE REAR GLASS SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/6/2015 - OLATHE, KS
RAIN, MISTY, WET CONDITIONS. 2011 FORD F150 ECOBOOST. WENT TO PASS ON TWO LANE STRAIGHT, FLAT HIGHWAY. ACCELERATED IN TO LEFT LANE. UPON RAPID ACCELERATION VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY DECELERATED AND LOST POWER. LET OFF OF GAS PEDAL AND TRIED TO ACCELERATE AGAIN. AFTER PAUSE VEHICLE CAME UP TO SPEED AND I WAS ABLE TO PASS SAFELY. IF SOMEONE WAS RIGHT BEHIND ME, TRYING TO PASS SLOWER VEHICLES AS WELL, THEY COULD HAVE POSSIBLYRUN IN TO ME. FORD HAS PLACED IT'S ECOBOOST OWNERS IN AN UNSAFE CONDITION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2014 - WILMINGTON, DE
THIS REPAIR WAS NOT COVERED BY FORD AND IN MY OPINION IT SHOULD BE. HERE'S MY STORY: MY HUSBAND OWNS A 2011 F150 WITH APPROXIMATELY 25,000 MILES ON IT. ON DECEMBER 27, 2014 HE TURNED ON THE REAR DEFROSTER TO CLEAR THE WINDOW. AS HE WAS DRIVING LESS THAN A MILE FROM HOME, THE TRUCK HAD BEEN RUNNING ABOUT 3 MINUTES HE SMELLED RUBBER BURNING, AT WHICH TIME THERE WAS THICK WHITE SMOKE COMING FROM THE OUTSIDE OF THE PASSENGER REAR WINDOW AND THE GLASS BEHIND MY GRANDSON'S CAR SEAR SHATTERED DUE TO A SHORT IN THE HEATING ELEMENT OF THE REAR DEFROSTER. FORTUNATELY OUR 18 MONTH OLD GRANDSON WAS NOT IN THE TRUCK AS THE SHARDS OF GLASS WERE FALLING OUT OF THE WINDOW INTO HIS SEAT. FORD WILL NOT COVER GLASS UNDER MY WARRANTY. I HAVE PICTURES OF THE DAMAGE AND I HAVE INCLUDED THE LINK BELOW WHERE YOU WILL SEE THAT THIS APPEARS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH FORD F150 TRUCKS RANGING FROM 2010 TO 2014. THE TRUCK IS GETTING REPAIRED TODAY AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES. IT'S NOT ABOUT THE MONEY, MORE OF A SAFETY CONCERN FOR REAR SEAT PASSENGERS. UNFORTUNATELY IT'S VERY UNSETTLING TO NOT KNOW IF THE PROBLEM WILL BE RESOLVED WITH THIS REPAIR. WILL IT HAPPEN AGAIN?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/23/2014 - SHAWNEE, OK
WHILE TOWING MY CAMPER AT 60 MPH UP AN INCLINE MY 5.0L F150 BEGAN TO LOSE POWER, AS I INCREASED PRESSURE ON THE ACCELERATOR THE POWER TO THE VEHICLE DECREASED EVEN MORE. THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I LIMPED UP THE HILL AT A WHOPPING 20MPH ON THE INTERSTATE. ONCE ON THE DOWNGRADE THE VEHICLE CAME BACK UP TO SPEED AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF. THE TRUCK CONTINUED TO HAVE POWER ISSUES AND A KNOCKING FROM THE MOTOR WHEN I WAS CLIMBING HILLS. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE FORD GARAGE AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WERE NO CODES TO TELL THEM WHAT WAS WRONG. THE VEHICLE STILL HAS THE APPARENT MISS AND KNOCKING SOUND AT CERTAIN RPM'S AND NOW HAS AN ISSUE STARTING FOR THE FIRST TIME OF THE DAY. I AGAIN TOOK IT TO THE FORD GARAGE WHEN THE STARTING ISSUE WAS HAPPENING AND THEY TOLD ME AGAIN THAT THE VEHICLE STILL HAD NO CODES TO EXPLAIN THIS PROBLEM. I TRIED ALL OF THE EASY FIXES BUT THE VEHICLE STILL HAS THE SAME STARTING AND POWER LOSS ISSUES AND FORD CAN NOT TELL ME WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MY VEHICLE. MY BEST GUESS IS A CATALYTIC CONVERTER ISSUE, BUT I CAN DO NOTHING ABOUT IT UNTIL I KNOW FOR SURE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds