Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1580 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (6) Steering (339) Unknown Or Other (69)
Back Over Prevention (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (8) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (141)
Electrical System (160) Fuel Propulsion System (63) Service Brakes (136) Suspension (9) Visibility (56)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (75)
Engine (408) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (478)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/8/2019 - PONDER, TX
S19S07 / NHTSA RECALL 19V-075 IS CAUSING FAILURE ON TRANSMISSION WITH NO ISSUES. I FOUND ONLINE THAT MY 2011 F150 WAS DUE FOR THE 19S07 RECALL 19V-075 OR THE INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF THE OUTPUT SPEED SENSOR (OSS). THIS RECALL HAS TO DO WITH THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION AND "AN UNINTENDED DOWNSHIFT INTO FIRST GEAR CAN CAUSE AN ABRUPT WHEEL SPEED REDUCTION, WHICH COULD CAUSE THE REAR TIRES TO SLIDE UNTIL THE VEHICLE SPEED SLOWS DOWN." I HAVE DRIVEN AND OWNED THE TRUCK SINCE BRAND NEW AND IT HAD 16 MILES ON IT. I'VE NEVER HAD A TRANSMISSION REPAIR OR PROBLEM OUT OF IT SINCE I'VE HAD IT. HOWEVER, NOT WANTING TO RISK HAVING AN ISSUE, I TOOK IT IN TO THE LOCAL DEALER FOR THIS RECALL, THEY THEN UPDATED THE POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE WITH SOFTWARE TO PREVENT THIS. I RECEIVED THE TRUCK BACK AND DROVE IT HOME. THE FOLLOWING MORNING, I STARTED THE ENGINE, PULLED THE COLUMN SHIFTER INTO REVERSE, AND THE ORANGE LIGHT FOR THE SHIFTER DIAL ON THE DASH DISAPPEARED. NOTHING HAPPENED AT FIRST AND THEN IT SUDDENLY SLAMMED INTO REVERSE. THE SHIFTER LIGHT NEVER LIT UP UNTIL I PUT IT BACK IN TO PARK AND THE ORANGE SHIFTER LIGHT REAPPEARED. I THEN PULLED THE SHIFTER LEVER DOWN IN TO DRIVE AND AGAIN, THE ORANGE SHIFTER LIGHT ON THE DASH DISAPPEARED AND THE TRANSMISSION DID NOT GO INTO GEAR FOR A MOMENT AND THEN SUDDENLY SLAMMED INTO DRIVE. AGAIN, WITH NO SIGNAL ON THE DASH THAT IT WAS EVEN IN A GEAR, DRIVE, PARK, ETC. TOOK IT BACK TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER EXPLAINING THE SITUATION AND A DAY LATER THEY CALLED TO TELL ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAS A FAULTY TRANSMISSION LEAD FRAME CONNECTOR, WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, AND WOULD COST ME CLOSE TO $1,000 TO BE REPAIRED. I REFUSED THE REPAIR THAT WAS NOW GOING TO COST ME CAUSED BY THE RECALL AND SOFTWARE UPDATE. AGAIN, THE TRUCK HAD NO ISSUES BEFORE TAKING IT IN TO BILL UTTER FORD FOR THE TRANSMISSION RECALL AND SOFTWARE UPDATE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/4/2019 - KNOXVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. LANCE CUNNINGHAM FORD (4101 EAST CLINTON HWY, KNOXVILLE, TN 37912, (866) 591-3943) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WOULD NOT BE AVAILABLE UNTIL MAY OR JUNE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2019 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE SOFTWARE TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. ANDY MOHR FORD (2713 EAST MAIN STREET, PLAINFIELD, IN) WAS CONTACTED AND CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2019 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
AS A RESULT OF THE UNWANTED TRANSMISSION SHIFTING RECALL ISSUE, MY TRUCK HAS EXPERIENCED DAMAGE CAUSING PERMANENT TRANSMISSION DAMAGE. DEALER CLAIMS THAT FORD HAS ONLY AUTHORIZED A COMPUTER UPDATE; THEIR UNWILLING TO REPAIR THE RESULTING ISSUE UNTIL FORD GIVE AUTHORIZATION TO DO SO. WHEN I CONTACTED FORD THE REPRESENTATIVE SAID FORD IS ONLY AUTHORIZING COMPUTER UPDATE, DESPITE THE FACT THAT THE FAULTY PROGRAM HAS CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/1/2019 - SEATLE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED AND SHIFTED INTO DRIVE, IT LUNGED FORWARD EVEN WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED. THE FAILURE BEGAN EVER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED THREE MONTHS AGO. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 184,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

4/1/2019 - MONTGOMERY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE STEERING FAILED. THE CONTACT PULLED THE VEHICLE OVER AND WAITED THIRTY MINUTES TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER HAD NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/29/2019 - WETUMPKA, AL
WHILE DRIVING THE TRUCK ON A CITY STREET, UPON TURNING INTO A DRIVEWAY THE POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING. THIS CAUSED A REAL PROBLEM TRYING TO CORRECT THE TURN. UPON INVESTIGATING THIS IT HAS COME TO LIGHT THAT THERE HAS BEEN A PROBLEM WITH THE ELECTRIC POWER ASSIST STEERING. NOT ONLY ON THIS 2011 F150, BUT VARIOUS OTHER FORD MODELS AND YEARS OF MANUFACTURE. THE DEALERSHIP AND FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE SAYS NO RECALLS HAVE BEEN ISSUED. I BELIEVE IT IS TIME TO ISSUE A RECALL BECAUSE THIS IS AN EXPENSIVE REPAIR AND FORD SHOULD OWN UP TO THIS PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN ONGOING FOR YEARS! WHY SHOULD THE CONSUMER BE PUT INTO THIS DANGEROUS SITUATION AND EXPENSIVE REPAIR? IT'S TIME NHTSA TO STAND UP AND TELL FORD TO FIX THIS PROBLEM! THIS VEHICLE CAN NOT BE TRUSTED ON THE ROAD ANYMORE AND IT SITS IN THE DRIVEWAY. NOW, IF THE NHTSA WANTS TO PAY $2,000 TO REPAIR THE EPAS, ALL WILL BE GOOD. THEN THE NHTSA CAN SEND THE RECEIPT TO FORD IF THEY EVER ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/27/2019 - KENNEWICK, WA
VEHICLE RUNS ROUGH AND THROWS A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. WHEN THE ENGINE IS WARM IT RUNS SMOOTHER. AFTER TROUBLE SHOOTING POSSIBLE PROBLEMS, IT WAS DETERMINED TO PROBABLY BE A STICKY VALVE. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING, THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE. I WANT TO KNOW IF THIS TRUCK WAS SERVICED AND THE ISSUE CORRECTED WHILE OWNED BY THE ORIGINAL OWNER. IF YES, IT IS BROKEN AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2019 - KENNEWICK, WA
VEHICLE RUNS ROUGH AND THROWS A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. WHEN THE ENGINE IS WARM IT RUNS SMOOTHER. AFTER TROUBLE SHOOTING POSSIBLE PROBLEMS, IT WAS DETERMINED TO PROBABLY BE A STICKY VALVE. IT IS MY UNDERSTANDING, THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS PARTICULAR ISSUE. I WANT TO KNOW IF THIS TRUCK WAS SERVICED AND THE ISSUE CORRECTED WHILE OWNED BY THE ORIGINAL OWNER. IF YES, IT IS BROKEN AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/26/2019 - ST. JOHN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 47 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUTTERED AND THE SPEEDOMETER DECREASED TO ZERO. ALSO, THE WRENCH ICON ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SHUT OFF, RESTARTED, AND DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AUTONATION FORD ORANGE PARK (7700 BLANDING BOULEVARD, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32244, 904-270-9943) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER SYSTEM. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BASED ON THE MANUFACTURER'S CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM (16N02), THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION MOLD SHOULD BE RE FRAMED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE PROGRAM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 101,280.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 157
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds