Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2011 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1580 complaints filed for the 2011 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2011 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2011 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (3) Seat Belts (6) Steering (339) Unknown Or Other (69)
Back Over Prevention (1) Exterior Lighting (17) Seats (8) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (141)
Electrical System (160) Fuel Propulsion System (63) Service Brakes (136) Suspension (9) Visibility (56)
Electronic Stability Control (33) Fuel System Gasoline (42) Service Brakes Electric (1) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (75)
Engine (408) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (8) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Power Train (478)

Pages:  
<<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 157
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/20/2019 - MILWAUKEE, WI
REAR DOOR AJAR. SENSOR SHOWS DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR AS OPENED, WHEN IT HAS BEEN IN FACT CLOSED, CLOSED AND LOCKED, BOTH WITH AND WITHOUT CHILD LOCK ENGAGED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/20/2019 - MILWAUKEE, WI
REAR DOOR AJAR. SENSOR SHOWS DRIVER SIDE REAR DOOR AS OPENED, WHEN IT HAS BEEN IN FACT CLOSED, CLOSED AND LOCKED, BOTH WITH AND WITHOUT CHILD LOCK ENGAGED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2019 - STEELVILLE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHIFTED INTO LOW GEAR AND CAUSED THE WHEELS TO SEIZE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HUTCHESON FORD (308 N OUTER RD, ST JAMES, MO 65559) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRAME HARNESS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 124,949.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2019 - STAEN ISLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2011 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR AND THE DRIVESHAFT WAS ON THE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THE DRIVESHAFT WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A TRANSMISSION SPECIALIST TO HAVE THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN) IN MARCH OF 2019. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 104,887.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2019 - PELHAM, NH
ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 13, 2019, I WAS TRAVELING IN MY 2011 FORD F150 VIN#(XXXX) ON THE HIGHWAY. DURING THIS TIME, I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 65-70MPH. ABOUT 1 MINUTE AFTER GETTING ONTO THE HIGHWAY, I FELT A LARGE KNOCK IN THE TRANSMISSION, AND SUBSEQUENTLY THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED FROM 6TH GEAR INTO 1ST GEAR, ON ITS OWN, WITHOUT WARNING! THIS ACTION CAUSED THE REAR TIRES TO LOCK UP, AND THE TRUCK TEMPORARILY SKID OUT OF CONTROL, AND DROP SPEED TO APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MPH IN THE MIDDLE LANE ON THE HIGHWAY. THANKFULLY, I WAS ABLE TO RETAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, AND THERE WAS NOT ANYONE NEAR ME, AND I WAS ABLE TO AVOID A SERIOUS CRASH. ALSO, THANKFULLY, I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK, AND I LUCKILY DID NOT HAVE MY 5-YEAR-OLD OR 2-YEAR-OLD IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TO COMPOSE MYSELF, AND RE-EVALUATE THE SITUATION AT HAND. PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2019 - PELHAM, NH
ON WEDNESDAY, MARCH 13, 2019, I WAS TRAVELING IN MY 2011 FORD F150 VIN#(XXXX) ON THE HIGHWAY. DURING THIS TIME, I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 65-70MPH. ABOUT 1 MINUTE AFTER GETTING ONTO THE HIGHWAY, I FELT A LARGE KNOCK IN THE TRANSMISSION, AND SUBSEQUENTLY THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED FROM 6TH GEAR INTO 1ST GEAR, ON ITS OWN, WITHOUT WARNING! THIS ACTION CAUSED THE REAR TIRES TO LOCK UP, AND THE TRUCK TEMPORARILY SKID OUT OF CONTROL, AND DROP SPEED TO APPROXIMATELY 35-40 MPH IN THE MIDDLE LANE ON THE HIGHWAY. THANKFULLY, I WAS ABLE TO RETAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE, AND THERE WAS NOT ANYONE NEAR ME, AND I WAS ABLE TO AVOID A SERIOUS CRASH. ALSO, THANKFULLY, I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK, AND I LUCKILY DID NOT HAVE MY 5-YEAR-OLD OR 2-YEAR-OLD IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TO COMPOSE MYSELF, AND RE-EVALUATE THE SITUATION AT HAND. PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2019 - PEORIA, AZ
AFTER COMPLETING A REQUIRED RECALL, MY TRUCK SPEEDOMETER AND ODOMETER 'ZERO'D' OUT WHILE IN MOTION. THIS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES, MOST RECENTLY WHILE ON THE FREEWAY. WHEN IT OCCURRED ON THE FREEWAY, THE BACK WHEELS FELT LIKE THEY LOCKED UP. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO CHECK FOR FLAT TIRES, AS THAT WAS MY FIRST THOUGHT. ALL TIRES CHECK OUT OK. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON. THIS CAUSED THE SPEEDOMETER AND ODOMETER TO RETURN TO NORMAL FUNCTIONALITY. I RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AS I THOUGHT THAT THE NEW UPDATE MAY NOT HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THE SOFTWARE UPDATE PROCESS WAS SUCCESSFUL AND COULD NOT BE REDONE. I READ A COUPLE OF INTERNET BLOGS OF WHERE OTHER OWNERS HAD THE SAME TYPE OF ISSUE. IF THE UPDATE CAUSED OTHER FAULTY PARTS TO BE EXPOSED, I UNDERSTAND. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT LOCK ITS TIRES WHILE IN MOTION, ESPECIALLY AT FREEWAY SPEEDS AS THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THE PICTURE THAT IS ATTACHED IS WHEN THE ISSUE FIRST OCCURRED. THE SAME INDICATORS OCCURRED THE SECOND TIME, WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2019 - PEORIA, AZ
AFTER COMPLETING A REQUIRED RECALL, MY TRUCK SPEEDOMETER AND ODOMETER 'ZERO'D' OUT WHILE IN MOTION. THIS OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES, MOST RECENTLY WHILE ON THE FREEWAY. WHEN IT OCCURRED ON THE FREEWAY, THE BACK WHEELS FELT LIKE THEY LOCKED UP. I PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO CHECK FOR FLAT TIRES, AS THAT WAS MY FIRST THOUGHT. ALL TIRES CHECK OUT OK. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON. THIS CAUSED THE SPEEDOMETER AND ODOMETER TO RETURN TO NORMAL FUNCTIONALITY. I RETURNED THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AS I THOUGHT THAT THE NEW UPDATE MAY NOT HAVE BEEN SUCCESSFUL. THE DEALERSHIP ADVISED THAT THE SOFTWARE UPDATE PROCESS WAS SUCCESSFUL AND COULD NOT BE REDONE. I READ A COUPLE OF INTERNET BLOGS OF WHERE OTHER OWNERS HAD THE SAME TYPE OF ISSUE. IF THE UPDATE CAUSED OTHER FAULTY PARTS TO BE EXPOSED, I UNDERSTAND. HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE SHOULD NOT LOCK ITS TIRES WHILE IN MOTION, ESPECIALLY AT FREEWAY SPEEDS AS THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. THE PICTURE THAT IS ATTACHED IS WHEN THE ISSUE FIRST OCCURRED. THE SAME INDICATORS OCCURRED THE SECOND TIME, WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/18/2019 - PEARLAND, TX
2011 F150 ECOBOOST: THUD CAME FROM TRANSMISSION, SEEMS TO BE STUCK IN 5TH GEAR. SPEEDOMETER DOESN'T WORK DURING THIS TIME AND TRUCK GOES VERY SLOWLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2019 - SENECA FALLS, NY
I WAS SIDESWIPED BY ANOTHER PICK UP TRUCK. THE CONTACT SENT ME THROUGH A GUARDRAIL, DOWN AN EMBANKMENT (ROUGHLY A 20FT DROP), AND NOSE FIRST INTO A FIELD. MY 2011 F150 WAS DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS BY ALLSTATE. MY PROBLEM IS NONE OF MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THIS ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON A HIGHWAY WHERE I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 58 MPH. THANKFULLY I WASN'T INJURED BUT, MY SAFETY EQUIPMENT WAS FAULTY.

View Details
Pages:  <<  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  >>  ... 157
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds